Ratings based on 125 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Rustic hotel in need of maintenance.

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Pros: The view, the short walk to the wonderful Village of Vence.
Cons: See my comments above.
Location: The Village of Vence is such a charming and wonderful place to visit and enjoy.
The view and the ambience are delightful, however, the hotel could do with some serious maintenance. Our toilet sounded like a rocket blast when refilling and the bathroom door squeaked loud enough to be heard outside our room. Just inside the lobby entrance there is a potential accident waiting to happen with the step down as you enter through the door. It should be ramped instead of stepped. One other hazard that should be corrected is the door height between the breakfast area and the outside patio. There is a paper sign indicating that the height is 1.80 meters which is just under 5ft-11in. When you're 6ft-2in and focused on carrying your breakfast out to the eating area on the patio and you don't relate to metric measurements, you'll end up with a sore head like I did. Why would you have such a low head height on the only door that leads from the breakfast pick up area to the main eating area. In the USA this would be personal injury lawsuit in the making. With some good maintenance work along with some common sense business practices, this hotel could be a great place to stay at.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

okay but needs updating!

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: Close proximity to the old town of Vence. The hotel's situation. The pool. The scenery. The owner.
Cons: Air conditioning in the Summer. General update needed.
Location: visit the Old Town - plenty to do there. Drive up into the mountains, drive down to the sea (Nice, Antibes, Grasse, etc)
lovely setting, nice owner, lovely pool, NO airconditioning, needs updating. Breakfast could have been a bit better - we didn't feel that the croissant were fresh that day. Expedia failed us - I didn't receive any emails from the Hotel owner and yet, he sent a few (!) - so there was no communication between him and us. This meant that our arrival was complicated as we arrived late and there wasn't anyone at Reception. We didn't know our room number etc. A bad start to an otherwise reasonable stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Daniel Miramar, Hotel Management
Mrs Mr Thank you for your comment but I sent you a message through Expedia as I do each customer asking the time of arrival and if it was after 8 pm to notify me. You did not answer me. You arrived at 11.30 pm and I thought you would not be arriving so when that is how I can not stay all night behind the reception, and the low price you get for the room and the hotel being small it is not Possible to have a person permanently behind the reception. You would have warned me of your delay I would have been present. As for the a priori breakfast you enjoyed it with what you have eaten and everything is fresh in the morning except that we also put some toast. Miramar
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 2, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable Hotel in Convenient Location

Posted Oct 21, 2016 on Hotels
A great retro hotel with fabulous views and convenient to the central old town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Beautiful breakfast views

Posted Jun 7, 2016
Quaint, peaceful and scenic. A retreat of sorts. Not all the services of a 4-5 star or big names but enough to make it enjoyable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Everything we were looking for

Posted Jun 4, 2016
Pros: The building, the views, the hotel staff, the facilities, laid back & relaxed atmosphere
Cons: Wifi is free throughout the building but can be a bit hit & miss sometimes. I was working on the internet throughout my stay & managed ok.
Location: Handy location for Vence town centre, 5 minutes walk to all amenities that Vence has to offer. Lots of cafes. Only 15 minutes by car to Nice.
Pre-booked taxi by hotel manager was waiting for us at airport as planned, so that was very good start ! We arrived at hotel very early but room was ready & we were allowed to use it immediately. The hotel staff could not have been more helpful.Room layout was excellent with large bathroom with all usual facilities everything was nice & clean.. Four poster bed was a nice touch & very comfortable. Then there was the balcony, with views to die for . This was a big wow factor. The entire hotel interior is decorated with beautiful hand painted frescos by a local artist. The atmosphere is very laid back & you soon feel at home. Breakfast was very good with a large selection of food & drinks to choose from. You can eat inside or take it outside to the amazing large sun terrace. I must tell you the sun terrace panoramic views are breathtakingly beautiful ! There is also a decent size outdoor swimming pool too. We could not believe how lucky we were to find this hotel. If you are looking for a super modern flat pack hotel then this place is not for you. If you are looking for a typically French old style hotel with arty decor then you must come here. Our flight back to UK was not due till late at night but the hotel manager gave us the use of another room & all facilities free of charge until it was time to go. Again pre-booked taxi turned up on time so no worries getting to airport on time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

A perfect base away from the crowds.

Posted May 5, 2016
Pros: A traditional building, a friendly "family run" feel to the place. The staff helpful. Lovely garden with a pool. Delicious breakfast.
Stunning views of the sea, the mountains and the surrounding countryside, a short walk to the town centre where buses (and connections to trains and Nice airport) are inexpensive and regular so there's no need for a car.
4 out of 5
by Kathryn

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 4, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from beamsville, ontario, Canada

Beautiful older hotel, well situated.

Posted May 4, 2016
Pros: The room, the neighbourhood, the available facilities, the easy free reasonably secure parking, the staff, the decoration of rooms and public spaces,
Cons: Signage to the hotel is good but more would be better.
Location: The old city is very near and is beautiful and lively. WE ate well, attended a market,
The reservation process was straightforward. The welcome was friendly and cheerful. Our room was fine, clean, comfortable and beautiful in a faded but Art Deco way. The pool looked clean and inviting as did the terrace. The old town is a block or two away. Be sure that you have great directions, probably a GPS, as Vence is not a grid.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Vence bargain hotel

Posted Apr 22, 2016
Lovely traditional old hotel with the best view in Vence. With a sun terrace and swimming pool, there's not a lot to complain about. Only two faults we found were uncomfortable mattress and no tea/coffee making facilities in the room. Mattress was clean and looked new but was not very supportive. We always like a coffee first thing and last thing but no facilities in the room. Get these sorted out and the hotel is a 5 out of 5. Loved the area of Vence as we thought Nice was too busy and big. Vence was safe, beautiful and local buses were often and cheap. Lovely place for a few days break and our first visit to France. Add the lovely sun and it's a great place to go to.