Ratings based on 762 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norfolk uk

Great Location near the train station

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Very little, it's an old building!
Location: Just a few steps from the train station, near to the water taxi stops, and many places to eat and drink within a very short distance.
We had a very good couple of nights here pre cruise. Excellent location if arriving by train or bus, just a few steps from the station steps. The hotel is down a narrow street but easy to find, and we received a warm and friendly welcome. There is no elevator, so if you have heavy luggage, that could be a nice issue, but help is always at hand. The room is small, but we'll appointed, and provides all you need for a short stay. Be prepared for an early alarm call from the bells of the church nearby! Breakfast was varied and well presented buffet style, and there are numerous restaurants and cafés within a few minutes walk for an evening meal. All in all, a very pleasant experience. Thanks to the lovely staff 😀
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

warm, friendly hotel with great location

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: Quaint hotel, perfect location, very warm and helpful staff, great breakfast choices, a balcony & view of street and bell tower, updated bathrooms
Cons: Hall carpet worn in places, could be replaced.
Location: Hotel is down a nice alley 3 min from the train station with plenty of restaurants, shopping, also quiet streets and bridge nearby.
We arrived by train and it was a very convenient walk to this hotel. They happily stored our luggage from the overnight train so that we could explore Venice all day before checking back. We were convenient to a foot bridge across the Grand Canal and easily wandered the streets, making our way to landmarks and off the beaten path locations to see how a local might live as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very friendly hotel

Posted May 12, 2017
All the staff were very friendly. Excellent breakfast.They noticed from my passport that it was my 60th birthday while we were there and they gave me a free bottle of prosecco and snacks. How lovely!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Good Hotel

Posted May 8, 2017
Good hotel with excellent location. 3 mins walk from the train station. There are two good italian restaurants in the same alley.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent option near the train station

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Basic but comfortable accommodation near the train station. Very pleasant and helpful staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, California

Close to train station and Ferrovia water rides

Posted Apr 17, 2017
My only complaint and maybe I have read but forgot about it is there is no elevator so if you have heavy luggages then get ready to carry them to the second floor which is very hard and the stairs are narrow. Front staff Martina is very friendly and hospitable. Breakfats is descent. Typical European breakfast with three cold cut meat and a hard boiled eggs with bread and coffee lilke Amercino or cappuccino or latte.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from India

Old hotel at a good location

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: Hotel staff, location and coffee
Cons: Lift would have made a difference for the people on the upper floors
Location: Near Venice SMN station, Venice tourist office and waterbus stop.
The hotel is located close to the railway station, tourist information center (where you can get your VeneziaUnica pass) and the waterbus boarding point. There are several good restaurants nearby. The staff is very helpful and shared some good locations to have food, tips on where to visit and the nuances of the public transport - for e.g., which routes were faster and where to go walking etc. They allowed us to checkin early and volunteered to hold the luggage after checkout until the time to train. The location is extremely convenient as it was a couple of minutes away from the Venice SMN station. Venice is a maze of old cobbled alleyways and canals, many of which cannot be easily reached by waterbuses and watertaxis, and hence the importance of the location cannot be understated. The hotel is quite old - the lift was not working. We stayed on the 3rd floor and had to drag the suitcases up the stairs. Once again the lady at the reception was very helpful and helped us with the luggage as well. The furniture was quite old but perfectly functional and adequate. The breakfast room is quite small, but luckily was not crowded. The choices are limited, but whatever was available was very good. The coffee was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

SUPER FRIENDLY AND VERY CLEAN

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Location: excellent !!!!!
When we arrived at the hotel, the young lady sitting at the desk was super friendly and such a pleasure to deal with. She provided us with so much information around the area, gave us directions, map, etc. Very nice lady and the rooms were very clean all the time. The breakfast was also very good. I felt like I was in Italy and not Americanized. The gentleman behind the bar, made the best cappuccino and the best hot chocolate. He was also very friendly every morning. Everyone always greeted us with a smile. I highly recommend this hotel. They stay was wonderful and a pleasurable experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA, USA

Great breakfast and location, but terrible rooms

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Pros: The staff had great English skills and were friendly. Breakfast was amazing and only thing I looked forward to when I returned to the hotel each day.
Cons: The bathroom shower needs to be better designed. I could not fit inside the shower without the curtain sticking to my body, that's how small it was.
Location: The location is near the main train station, which I highly suggest you stay near because carrying your luggage through Venice is not fun.
The pictures you may see online are their best rooms. But any of the smaller and cheaper rooms are terrible. The room I stayed in must have been their worst room and had the smallest shower with flimsiest curtain where it did nothing to stop the water from spilling out. It flooded the bathroom floor, into the bedroom floor, and into the hallway. The cleanup was not fun. The bed needs replacing; it was a thin and hard mattress. The room I was given had a tiny bedroom...the queen bed took up 80% of the room and had maybe 2 feet of open space surrounding the bed where they placed a vanity table and mini fridge to make the space even smaller. Will not be returning to this hotel; better to spend a little more extra on a nicer hotel. Venice is an expensive floating island so expect to spend more than other Italian cities for hotel stay and food.
5 out of 5
by lucille

Posted Mar 26, 2017 on Hotels
Great hotel. Great value staff friendly and excellent . Incredibly clean close to the train station easy to transport luggage - great breakfast, on the lista for shops and vaporetta. Highly reccomend