Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, ME

Lovely, Clean B and B with Great Host

Posted Oct 9, 2015
Pros: The price was good. The rooms were clean and spacious and sunny. The host was exceedingly friendly.
Cons: It is what it should be.
Location: It is very near San Marco (but outside of the chaos of that area). But it is very good if you are going to Venice explicitly for the Biennale.
We were pleasantly surprised with this B and B. It was one of the few places we could find near the Biennale. The rooms were very clean with great light, our private bathroom was separate from the room but big and lovely and the host Nicola was extremely helpful and friendly. Also there was a very comfortable common room with great views of the water. I have stayed in Venice several times in the last couple years. And this place was the best value for money. This hotel was half the price of my last place in San Marco and twice as nice. I plan to always to stay here in the future (if it is available).
5 out of 5
by lynn from northampton

soggy venice

Posted May 14, 2015 on Hotels
excellent location,comfortable room,very helpful management.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

Fabulous views from the hotel lounge balcony!

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Pros: The views from the lounge balcony were fabulous and the proprietor was very helpful with his restaurant recommendations.
Cons: Air conditioning in the rooms would be appreciated.
Location: 10 minutes walk from San Marco Square and if you turn left into Via Garibaldi, there were some lovely restaurants away from the hordes of tourists.
We stayed for two nights in mid April. We were kindly met off the Vaparetto at Arenale, by the proprietor and taken to the B&B but the man walked far too fast and I struggled to keep up with him. The room didn't have air conditioning so I opened the windows on the second night - big mistake! We were soon awoken by the buzzing sound of mosquitoes and we both got bitten several times. Needless to say, we had a very poorly nights sleep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice and homely B&B at excellent location

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Pros: Homely place
Cons: Interent connectivity can be extended to rooms
Stayed at Al Tramonto Dorato for 4 nights during last week of February. Simple and clean B&B, felt homely. Could not have asked for better location. Nicola is very helpful and made my stay comfortable. He came to pick me up at Arsenale waterbus stop and was very hospitable. Was able to use refrigerator in the living room and this was very convenient. Only slight low point I would say was that internet connectivity was limited to living room (no internet in the room). I would happily recommend this B&B to anyone looking for a simple, homely stay. I would again stay when next time I am in Venice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You may need a hotel

Posted Nov 22, 2014 on Hotels
It was the best location ..beautiful view off the canal but only from the common area...your room is plain and less than basic....and no view........but it is B&b and kind of scary at night because no one is there ever there except for the breakfast ..which is basically bread......if you want a hotel..then this may not be the place for you......if you want service or even to be able to reach owner...not for you...but if you are ok to be alone and just need a good location....then it is ok for you....and make sure you don't lose the key..or have some way of getting in touch with the owner...if you lose key or need something...you won't be able to reach anyone.......otherwise place itself is nice and can't beat the view from the windows in the main living area..where breakfast is served......which is just bread and more bread.....but a nice coffee or latte....it depends what you want really......
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I Love Venice

Posted Nov 14, 2014 on Hotels
An amazing hotel, Nicola is a great host who is giving you the best places where to go, he is waiting for you at the vaporeto station, he is a great helper. Thank you!!!!
4 out of 5
by Manoj from New Delhi

A "Golden Sunset" could end with a cold night

Posted Nov 6, 2014 on Hotels
Excellent location. Great views from sunrise to sunset For Biennale visitors it was unbeatable. great to have cruise-liner tourists gawk at us instead of the other way round. Beautiful apartment, lovingly maintained. Well appointed room, third bed could have a headboard. No fridge or pantry access, so no chance of glass of wine in the balcony, what a waste of golden sunsets! The private bath down the hall needs getting used to. Nicola, is amiable but absent. No reception seems like a Venetian par-for-the-course. Guests can be in trouble if they arrive outside the appointed time or the masterkey electronics doesn't work. Our co-guest, Darryl from Hawaii, was quite in tears after exactly such a "lock-out". The heating works on a timer and one of the nights the timer konked off, got fixed over lot of messaging and calling Nicola. Luckily, Michele at the Angio Pub downstairs is a gem of a person and helps out in all such emergencies. His food is excellent too. Disappointing breakfast, an insult to the place. Pre-packed toast, just imagine! Overall, not recommended for families or older guests who need care. Probably great for honeymooning couples who have no concern for anything except each other, or loners who like to be left alone.
3 out of 5
by J Cornwell from Venice

Nice place

Posted Sep 20, 2014 on Hotels
We were rso excited to find a place with view if canal. Bath down the hall was a bit of inconvenience and bed was a bit soft. Breakfast was wonderfully served and view out living room windows was very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Preston UK

BRILLIANT LOCATION, PERHAPS THE BEST VIEW IN VENIC

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: The view and location.
Cons: It is a period property it would wrong to change it.
Location: Best location in Veice.
Great location, used the waterbus from the airport which took us almost to the door. 5 minute stroll to San Marks square but away from the crowds. Awesome panoramic view from the lounge / balcony. Very helpful host. We would book again.
4 out of 5
by Mary C from NewJersey

quiet, clean, fantastic location

Posted Jul 28, 2014 on Hotels
This lovely B&B is away from the crowds, yet in a great location. It is a 10 minute walk to San Marco at stop Arsenale on the number 4.1 waterbus. Owner Nicola is very welcoming and helpful with directions and recommendations for dinner. This B&B is a wonderful break from overcrowded central Venice. Room was quite large and clean. Only complaint from my husband was no AC and we were there in July. We had a room fan so ok for me.