Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from essex uk

easier to find in the daylight

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: the location and the friendly staff
Cons: coffee to be available in the morning
Location: everything is nearby to this hotels location
overall a good hotel location was expecting a fridge but it had apparently broken a couple of days before we arrived could also do with a shower screen or a plug for the bath
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and clean

Posted Sep 21, 2016 on Hotels
A good experience with a 5 minute walk from bus and away from noise and crowd. With a canal view
4 out of 5
by Nicole

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 21, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palo Alto

Great location

Posted Nov 14, 2015
Pros: Quite location close to all main attractions.
Cons: Check out time move to noon.
Location: Quite location and great staff.
Room small but clean and nice. Free breakfast in the room!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 18, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Greg from Atlanta

Price is not always everything

Posted Oct 4, 2015 on Hotels
The language barrier was a minor challenge. The owner was really nice and he was accommodating when we asked for something. There were a few issues that were hard to adapt to. The first night the room was hot and we could not open the windows because of the bugs. When I spoke the manager he said the other lodgers were cold so he had to cut off the air. The next two nights he cut on the air and the room was more comfortable. The bath had no shower curtain so showering was a challenge since we really didn't want to take baths. I learned from this experience to always ask on these booking sites if the room has independent HVAC controls. I would not stay here again. No shampoo.
5 out of 5
by Alex from London

Quaint and friendly.

Posted Sep 16, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely hotel in a great, non-touristy, area of Venice. Very helpful and friendly staff. Easy to get around the rest of the city from there. Lots of nice restuarants right around the corner.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

OK Place to stay in Venice

Posted Aug 1, 2015
Pros: Quieter area, not far from Ocean walk, food/snack stores. Not too many bridges to water bus stops. Clean. Note: Be aware of the city tax (everyone pay
Cons: Breakfast Air Conditioning (check it works before accepting the room. Recommend for cooler months where AC may not be so important!!!) TV
Location: Great location, away from the crowds but walking distance to everything. Only 2 bridges to the AirPort water shuttle ports. Not far to the Bus station
We stayed in mid July (high 30s most days and very humid (Note: high humidity is normal in Venice, not normally much above 30) Pros: - Hotel is clean, beds are comfortable. - Owner has a lot of good stories and great recommendations. - Location is in a quieter area, a bit of a walk but we thought it was good. Cons: Facilities are a dated - No WiFi (Note: most places in Venice are stingy with WiFI passwords. While there is WIFI ieverywhere, its not free or easily accessed. You have to eat at the place there to get the WiFi pw. Not having WiFi in the hotel was a real pain.) - Air conditioning is poor but just enough to get by. It was extremely hot and stopped altogether in both our party's rooms on our 3rd night which was unbearable, no sleep. - Breakfast included in the room. You actually take it in your room. Can't get it until 8:30 which was too late in our minds. Its ok but .minimal though. (White buns, 1 jam each, 1 butter for the two, cup of black tea each, hot milk and and 1 cup of juice for the two of you. Some pre-packaged toast and mini cake.) - TV didn't work and was probably 20 years old (Yes, you are not there for TV but we generally came back for an afternoon break since to rest for a few hours and change since it was so hot. TV would have been nice. There is no lobby or anything were you can go and hangout at the hotel). - No phone in room (most people have cell phones, so get an Italian SIM card before coming, so it doesn't matter
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the bus and taxi loop

Posted Jul 31, 2015
Alla corte Rossa was about 5 minute walk from the bus and taxi loop. It was far enough away from the main tourist stuff that it was very quiet and peaceful, but easy to walk around everywhere. It was closest to the student square which was nice as a young person. The afternoon front desk guy was very nice and helpful and full of charisma. The morning gentleman was also nice. I would stay here again, although they need to get wifi!
3 out of 5
by John from London

Friendly owner makes this a memorable stay

Posted Jul 1, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel owner is this hotels' best asset, he made us feel so welcome and really went out of his way to make our time in Venice (a place he clearly adores) the best it could possibly be. From providing us with a map and some local tips on the best spots in town to showing us where the local restaurants are after our late arrival. It's easy walking distance to the University area (where lots of restaurants and bars can be found) and also the bus terminal (each about 10-15 min walk). The rooms are ok, a very decent size, if a little dated in decor (I got the impression this is common in Venice). The air-con was lovely to come back to after a really hot day walking around and the mini-bar prices were low. The breakfast is an array of biscuits and little packaged things in your room and after filling out a sheet the night before, cold/hot drinks and some bread are brought up to your room at a designated time. I found this unusual but in a way I liked it (more time in bed :P ).