Ratings based on 167 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Location: It is a little far away from Venice, but it is relatively easy to get in using the bus.
The hotel was very nice for the price and the people who run it were very helpful. While it is a little far from Venice I think it was totally worth it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 26, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, simple hotel

Posted Sep 10, 2016
We enjoyed our stay at hotel Amba Alagi. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The hotel is close to a busstop making it easy to get to Venice. Around the corner you can find a very nice Italian restaurant.
4 out of 5
by Adam

Posted Aug 16, 2016 on Hotels
A smaller hotel, the owners were really friendly and helpful. Very close to a bus stop that goes to Venice
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel closed on arrival - no room for the night.

Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Hotels
The stay was completely spoiled before we even arrived. Our flight into Venice was delayed so we informed the hotel that we'd be arriving late and gave them the time that we would get there. We turn up at 12.30 to find the hotel locked up with no one there. We tried calling but no one answered even though we could hear the phone ringing from outside. We were forced to look for somewhere else to sleep at 1am in a country we've never been to before and pay for a night in another hotel. We finally got into the hotel the following day, the room was ok but the cleaners start hoovering all of the rooms and hall everyday around 9.30. This goes on until around 11. We contacted hotels.com after our visit to discuss the possibility of a refund for the night that we couldn't stay in the hotel, the hotel insisted that they stayed up until 2am waiting for us but we didn't arrive. When I presented evidence that we'd arrived at 12.30 the hotel didn't respond to queries. It's been two months and we still haven't heard back from them.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 19, 2016
Outside Venice, but very easy to get there by bus. Hotel is simple, but nice enough.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Wonderful family run hotel.

Posted May 15, 2016
Pros: Squeaky Clean Facility
Cons: Add free coffee for visitors, or at least sell cups of coffee. In Venice at ACTV ticket off, buy 1, 2, or 3 day, water Bus pass. Easy to learn how
Location: 20 Min from Venice. Shopping, parks, fountains nearby.
This hotel exceeded our expectations. Beautiful neighborhood, lots of trees. Hotel has shiny beautiful marble floors, squeaky clean. Owner carried luggage to room. A good place to see Venice for a few days. Transportation is very close to hotel, maybe 100 yds. Takes about 20 minutes to get to downtown Venice. Buses very reliable. We took cab from cruise terminal, straight to hotel. Thank goodness we stayed in Mestre, later during stay we witnessed hundreds of travelors dragging suitcases thru the sidewalks of Venice (no easy task). AND we didn't have to put up with noise or crime. Mestre very nice town. We got to know the real Italians here, there are two sidewalk cafes near, and a Pharmacy, and a neighborhood Grocery for snacks. In Venice City food is outrageously priced. So are hotel rooms. Mestry is a great alternative, quiet at night, no pickpockets, etc. Only recommentation: Need morning Coffee/Tea for westerners. We had to go to coffee bar, 5 min walk, to get our morning coffee. I would definately stay here again. Saved $1000 U.S. very little inconvenience.
5 out of 5
by Magdalena from Macedonia

Great staff, comfortable and suitable priced hotel

Posted May 4, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is located 20 min. away with bus to Venice. The hotel staff was the best ever. Very polite, friendly and always kindly responding to any questions. The room was suitable. The bed was comfortable. It was very clean. They cleaned the room every day. The furniture inside is not modern, but its well kept. The neighborhood is peaceful, although there are many migrants around. I highly recommend it for people that like to rest well during their visit to Venice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Feb 10, 2016
Although it is not in Venice, it is only a 15min ride by tram + bus. The rooms are good with good service at a good price. I recommend this place
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

PROS Vs CONS

Posted Oct 26, 2015
PROS nice staff clean not far from the tram stop ok for the price CONS a tram and a bus into Venice itself paper thin walls meant we were kept up by another guest snoring we had a leaking boiler in the bathroom very basic no kettle only one shop near by no option to get a drink or food in the hotel if you can definitely stay in Venice itself