Ratings based on 62 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great location

Posted Oct 23, 2016
This hotel is well placed for you to settle as soon as you arrive to venice and it provides the basic needs. The shower is extremely small though and forget about the breakfast
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Value, Quiet and Accessibe

Posted Oct 11, 2016 on Hotels
Modest but very elegant small hotel very accessible to train station and Pze. Roma bus terminus. Property very quiet inside and out. Clean and well maintained. Breakfast modest but perfectly adequate. Wifi difficult to access, due to temperamental log in, but fast once connected. Excellent value, and recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Hotel good for purpose. Breakfast was basic

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Hotel was good for purpose, close to where we needed to be. Staff were helpful. The only disappointment was the breakfast, limited choice, no fruit or cooked breakfast, no fresh juice for those who don't drink hot drinks. Had to ask for croissants and pastries which were hidden behind and rationed to where I had to ask for more than one.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Clean and comfortable, but no irons available . Nice friendly staff. Avoid rooms 1-3!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location Nice decor

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Although it says air conditioning, our room was hotter than the 28 degrees outside. We opened windows in hopes of a cross breeze. We asked to have the a/c turned up and were told it worked and not to open the windows. The lady was nice enough to come check. She said it would be ok when we came back in the evening...it was better but not cool. Made for a sleepless night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very Nice Hotel for Single Traveler

Posted Apr 26, 2016
Location: Lots of delicious restaurants and gelato shops near by.
Close to train station about a 2 min walk and a beautiful 10 min walk to St. Mark's Square. Single room came with double bed and shower in room. Not too small, very comfortable and relatively quiet. Would book again
5 out of 5
by Galina from Los Angeles and New York

Simply EXCELLENT

Posted Apr 11, 2016 on Hotels
Very attentive and friendly staff. Everything was working (not usual for the old city of Venice) The shower has hydro massage, very nice perk. The water does not overflow while you are in shower (again, very unusual fro Venice) Comfortable beds, nice heating (!!) very quiet. The reception staff reminds guests who have to leave very early and start talking in general area that other guests are still sleeping. Very thoughtful of them to do so. I travel a lot and in all hotels cleaning talks very loudly and nobody cares. They are doing an excellent job and on my next visit to Venice I will definitely come back to Caretoni (if they do not increase their price significantly.) It was my 11th visit to Venice and I never returned to any of the hotels because none was excellent. So far, Caretoni IS. Keep doing such an excellent job. I traveled with two friends - one friend was in Caretoni, we occupied two separate single rooms and the other lady stayed nearby in other hotel. So we could compare one more time. Even though they do not advertise it, Wifi worked more or less OK in the room (they only tell you they have it in the reception area.) We had more than we expected.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location but old fashioned

Posted Oct 14, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Shower that worked and they need to put proper hairdryers in the room
The location was great, a few seconds walk from the train station which is what I wanted. Nice vibe and restaurants around the area. The hotel was basic, the room clean but old fashioned. The bathroom was tiny and the door to the loo right next to the bed. The shower jets did not work and you could not use the hairdryer, it was like a hose that mildly blew out warm air, not possible to dry your hair. Quite a basic requirement for a hotel is to have a hairdryer that works. No tea making facilities, just a basic room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Heartbeat of Home

Very enjoyable break

Posted Sep 10, 2013 on Ebookers
Very clean accommodation. Friendly helpful staff. Excellent location near train station and bus terminal. Breakfast very basic and dining area quite small.
2 out of 5
by Adlyn

Disappointment

Posted Nov 6, 2012 on HotelClub
The only strength of this hotel is its location to the rail terminal station. Though the ic claimed to provide full breakfast, the spread was miserable - only bread, jam and coffee / tea. When it flooded in Venice, others had platforms to link up to the 'bridge' in the middle of the path while the lady at the counter simply gave you that 'can't help you' kind of look and asked you to walk bare-footed across. Given so many hotels in the same area, I would say their service is really POOR and one can definitely get a better hotel of similar pricing with staff who can lend a helping hand in situation like this.