Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Somerset, England

Fantastic location

Posted Dec 13, 2015
Fabulous little hotel close to the Rialto , perfect location to walk all of Venice. All staff helpful and friendly. Breakfast is continental and more than adequate. Room on the small size but when one is out all day how much room do you need? Bed very comfortable and ensuite functional. There are a lot of stairs as hotel occupies top floor of very old building, it's good exercise!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location and accommodations

Posted Nov 6, 2015
Pros: The apartment, breakfast and hotel location.
Nicolette kindly upgraded us to an apartment at no additional cost. The unit was huge and certainly the largest we stayed in during our entire time in Europe. The breakfast is excellent. The stairs are no big deal and if stairs concern you then you should probably not be vacationing in Venice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great location. Wonderful canal view from our room

Posted Oct 3, 2015
Pros: Location and room with a view
Cons: An elevator would be nice but probably impossible. Let guests know ahead of time that there is a steep climb to reach the Locanda
Location: A short walk to St Marks. Alilaguna airport transport stop is just over the bridge. S.Silvestro ACTV stop is to the right of Hotel
The location of Locanda Sturion is prime with easy access to all transportation facilities. Room was very Venetian 🎭 with a wonderful view of the Grand canal. Breakfast was good with healthy choices. The only caveat is the climb up 71 steps. A bit tough on old knees and a good workout.The staff was very nice and helped us up with our luggage
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent Central Location

Posted Sep 21, 2015
I booked this hotel because of its central location. It was within a few steps of the Rialto Bridge and perfectly located for the short walk to St Mark's Square and other attractions. The hotel itself is canal facing with the access tucked down a little side street between two Canal restaurants which are very pleasant for drinks and food. Upon arrival I was aware that we had a long climb up the stairs to the reception desk after reading other reviews and hotel info. This was really the only negative about the property as it is not suitable to people who are not good at walking up stairs, but arguably, you could say the same about Venice in general! However, after a long day of walking around that last climb to the comfort of your room really does finish you off! The room was typically Venetian. I read lots of reviews about all properties in Venice from people saying the rooms are too small. My response to that is you are on an island where all of the hotels in the Geand Canal area are tall narrow buildings and if you are in the room long enough to weigh up it's size then you are clearly missing the point of being there, which is all of the sights beyond your room walls. Our room in particular was clean and large enough for what we needed. The bathroom was cosy in size but perfectly serviceable. General wear and tear as you would expect to see. Breakfast is served in a dining room overlooking the Grand Canal. It is nicely presented and is a continental breakfast. Nice hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MN, USA

Nice hotel right by the Rialto

Posted Aug 27, 2015
Pros: Location, amenities, breakfast, and the view.
Cons: The bed
Location: Easy walking to the Rialto bridge, shopping, and many restaurants right in front of the property. Two vaporetto stops nearby!
From check in to check out, the staff was courteous and helpful. They helped navigate the Vaporetto schedule including trips to Murano. The room was nice and adequate in size. The bathroom functioned well. The only complaint I would offer was that the bed was quite firm, but really after a few days of walking around Venice, who cares. My wife and I were aware of the stairs to and from the hotel and this should not deter healthy able bodied visitors. As a reward you have an excellent view of the grand canal and Rialto bridge! The breakfast was nice each morning and European in nature. We left full and ready to explore each day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Calming retreat in the center of Venice

Posted Aug 26, 2015
Pros: Room decor, AC, breakfast
Location: Rialto Bridge
My husband and I adored our hotel stay in Venice. We arrived a bit early but they went ahead and checked us in with no problem (and even gave us an upgrade!). We loved the room decor, and even the floors were lovely. Nice size room, bed, and bathroom. We had a beautiful view over the alley with a nice window terrace (we used this to line dry some things we had handwashed; we had our own clothesline). Perhaps most importantly, we had air conditioning! We had been vacationing for two weeks at this point and had spent quite a long time in Germany. They were in the middle of an intense heat wave, and no place we had stayed until this point had AC, so my husband and I were so happy to have it! There is even a thermostat in the room for complete control. The staff were always quite nice and helpful, and allowed us to leave our luggage on our checkout day as our train didn't leave until early evening. We really enjoyed the breakfast! There was a large variety, and the provided croissants were delicious. They were even able to make us cappuccinos. Also, the breakfast room has a fantastic view out to the canal. Downside would be the steps and no elevator. It was up on the 4th or 5th floor (I'm not certain which), and after a long day of sightseeing fewer steps would have been nice! However, it was well worth the view! It's located really close to the famous Rialto bridge, however it's just off of the main street tucked down an alley. This was perfect, in my opinion.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london, uk

A boutique character hotel

Posted Jul 19, 2015
Fantastic central location a short walk from the Rialto water bus stop. If you can't do stairs, this might not be a great hotel reception and rooms are on the third floor.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Waynesburg PA

One of the worst hotels ever.

Posted Jul 4, 2015
Pros: The fact that I could leave.
Cons: Hire multilingual staff, add a hotel or hire a Bell Boy, and remodel.
Location: You can hire an expensive water taxi or take an expensive gondola ride. You can buy many items made in China on any corner.
In order to get to check-in you have to climb over 50 plus steps and had to carry your luggage with you. Our walls were "reupholstered" and the fabric that was used was also used to cover a broken chair, and love seat. The curtains in our hotel room were kitchen curtains. The décor/mirrors . . . in our room was made of plastic. Communication was so difficult being only one staff person spoke English. In addition to paying 400. euros a night we also had to pay a VAT tax as well as a city tax. I would never return to Venice, so over rated. It is Tijuana surrounded by water.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from surrey

A superlative view of the Rialto for the fit only!

Posted Jun 20, 2015
Pros: Among the most delightful breakfast venues: amazing Canal view, and friendly service.
Cons: You really need to know about the stairs.
Location: Easy access to centre of Venice. Vaporetto stop in plain sight. The Square about ten minutes away. Shopping, Cafés and sightseeing on the doorstep.
The location really sells this one - right in the centre of the city on the Grand Canal, but not 'grand' itself. The staff are charming and helpful, and coped with a complicated booking over the net without demur. Baggage was stored for late departure and assistance with water taxi given. Breakfast was served with panache and excellent croissants. Our room was small but comfortable and well appointed. Crisp and spotless linen. Décor traditionally venetian - plenty of damask hangings and mood lighting. A great base from which to explore. Only beware of the staircase: the reactions from first time guests on seeing an unbroken flight of sixty stairs rising before them as they turned the corner outside our room were vocal and often entertaining. They are not for anyone less than fit - please be warned!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Jun 3, 2015
Beautiful breakfast room overlooking the Grand Canal and perfectly located just down from the Ponte Rialto. We found the staff very helpful and the hotel is in a great location for popping back to during the day.