Ratings based on 74 Verified Reviews

1.9 out of 5
25% of guests recommend
2.4 Room cleanliness
1.7 Service & staff
2.0 Room comfort
2.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great Location / Truly Disappointing

Posted Jun 23, 2017
The hotel is located in a beautiful section of Venice with quick access to transportation around the city. The hotel was disappointing from the initial phone call to set up check in time up and until check out. When we arrived the owner was not present but only a friend who assists the owner. She told us the owner "thought" we cancelled our reservation, which we did not, and only after a phone call was able to ensure we had a room. The female assistant was very helpful and truly empathetic. We were told at check in that we had to pay in cash and they didn't accept credit cards. The owner, over the phone, told me an e-mail is sent before you check in indicating the hotel doesn't accept credit card. We never received this e-mail! The room was small and not comfortable. The bathroom was old and uncomfortable. The food was very basic and unsubstantial. An overall very disappointing experience!
2 out of 5
by Valerie from Renfrewshire

Won't use this one again!

Posted Oct 27, 2015 on Hotels
Three night stay, hotel in good location however very noisy at night. Room basic but lacked tea/coffee making facilities which would have made up for poor breakfast (packet biscuits/toasts).Shared bathroom was a disgrace - missing floor tiles covered up with bath towels, shower cubicle small and very worn and dirty at bottom,door key regularly stuck. Bitten alive with mosquitos during the night.Hotel possibly acceptable for young travellers however those seeking a bit more comfort and cleanliness might want to give this one a miss. Owner available by phone however apparently does not stay in Venice and key was given to us by a lady who met us at hotel door - no staff on sight.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Venice 2015

Posted Jul 27, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel was in a great location, the room was very basic and couldn,t tune in the tv, there was no change of bedding during our stay but the location made up for it.
4 out of 5
by James Sanford

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 20, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Daniel from San Francisco

Good location, with technical difficulties

Posted Jun 24, 2015 on Hotels
My stay at the B&B Ancient Venice was pretty good, but had several technical issues. The location is convenient, about 10 minutes walk from the train and bus station, and just 100 yards from the Ca' Rezzonico boat-bus stop. It's easier to find coming in from the airport on the Orange line, stopping at Ca Rezzonico. Once you are settled, you can follow the signs to the train station (Ferrovia) for day trips. The room was big enough for two, and you can access the breakfast room at other times of the day for an espresso or a snack. The issues I had were with the wifi and the TV. The wifi was spotty, and would shut off suddenly, saying I had reached the maximum, even if I had been out all day. It resets after midnight, but can be a problem, as when I was trying to connect with friends, and needed to use email. Also, the TV never worked in 6 days. Paolo, the owner, who is not on site, said it was an antenna problem, but it didn't seem like it was being fixed. The bathroom is not private, as advertised, and could be a problem when there were others using it. Also, there is no A/C, (understandable in an older building). There is a fan to use which helps, but you want to keep he windows closed at night, since mosquitoes come in. So, this is a good spot, but have a back-up plan for using the Internet if you need it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hull, UK

Good location

Posted May 29, 2015
This is a good location. Right next to a nice square full of bars and eateries, it is about 20 mins walk from St Marco's and Dodges Palace. This is a very old building so don't expect the place to look jaz. Breakfast consists of tea and biscuits. The fridge in our room didn't work. There is not slot of space in the room, we kept walking into the corner of the bed. A little over pricey for what you get.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vermont

Great location no amenities

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Breakfast and attitude clean shower offer a towel not a bath mat
Location: Right on a canal by a square that has everything from a pharmacy to veggie shop. Near transportation.
Very difficult to be let in if you don't have a phone the shop across the way is put up to call someone, Let in by a man who do not want to be there, we were on our own! Shower was moldy,floors clean. breakfast was crap prewrapped things on a plastic table cloth. The towel was a bath mat that did not dry out for four days ,on the third day when the owner finally showed he only shrugged his shoulders when I asked for another towel. I can see why they ask for cash in advance. This is not a bnb these are rooms in a unoccupied house rented out. For making over 700$aday there could be a little effort put in
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok B&B on a noisy piazza!

Posted May 26, 2014
Pros: The location in the city, in Dorsoduro, between the train station and piazza San Marco.
Cons: Insulated double pane windows that cut noise!
Location: In front of Campo San Barnaba, there is a church hosting a Leonardo da Vinci machines exhibition. Not far is the magnificent chiesa dei Frari.
The b&b is well situated. The room was comfy, but the bathroom at the end of the corridor was not. In the evening and at night, the piazza his noisy, young people in boat with music blaring out disturbed our sleep. Next time, I'll choose a B&B on a via away from a rio or piazza!!
1 out of 5
by BC from UK

Uncomfortable stay

Posted Jun 4, 2013
Pros: There is nothing I like about this B & B.
Cons: Poor facilities and quality. Not worth of money.
Location: Dorsodura is quiet place to stay and have some restaurant around.
It is a terrible mistake to book this room. First we need to call the owner to open door for us, text only sent to us 1 hr before check-in time. If phone don't have Italian reception, no one in the B & B to answer the bell. The room is very basic with doggy door that hard to open wide. No hanger in wardrobe. Television don't have signal at all (it is only for display i guess). Only limited internet service, which only allow one person access at one time. No manual on how to use coffee machine. Lack of choice for breakfast (self service biscuit and dry bread only, no cooked breakfast available). There is no audio guide as promise in the booking.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

grealt location but very poor B and B -do not go!

Posted Apr 22, 2013
Pros: Location.
Cons: No service at all
Location: By a square and canal
Great location.But no service at all ,saw no one after first meeting and payment to be given in cash ,not by card as your site led me to expect.Breakfast a joke,no instructions about coffee machine or how to get hot water if tea required.Packets of biscuits and very processed pastries dumped on one table. Room adequate -good size but cheap bed and mattress,no chair or chest of drawers.Towels very small and thin but clean.Only changed when I phoned.cannot recommed .