Ratings based on 142 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Jose R

Venetian classic.

Posted Mar 22, 2016 on Hotels
The Bauer Il Palazzo is now just the Bauer. It is no longer a separate hotel, except for breakfast. The issues arose when contacting the Concierge, and the front desk because they were for all hotel guests, not just those of Il Pakaxzo
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey, UK

So close to Piazza San Marco

Posted Jan 20, 2016
Pros: Pretty much everything
Cons: Just two very small niggles with the room which were brought to the attention of the hotel staff and which didn't adversely affect our stay
Location: Spot on location, just a short walk to Piazza San Marco and an even shorter walk to the Vaporetto stop and gondola station; so much to see and do here
An absolutely brilliant four-night stay here to celebrate a special birthday.
4 out of 5
by john from London

Italian dream

Posted Nov 11, 2015 on Hotels
Really incredible location and great historic hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Skipton

Fab u lous

Posted Nov 2, 2015
Pros: History and the luxury, the attention to detail is fabulous. The location is fantastic also.
Cons: Wouldn't change a thing
Location: Everything on the doorstep, location couldn't be better.
Had 2 nights here before joining the Orient Express. From being greeted on arrival by water taxi, to our departure, everything was first class. The service is superb. Marco suggested and arranged a wonderful visit to Murano for us, also a water taxi for our transfer to the station. The breakfast staff were delightful and did their utmost to deal with the additional unwelcome guests (pigeons!). Would highly recommmend this hotel and hope to visit again.
5 out of 5
by marcus from London

Excellent Holiday

Posted Oct 29, 2015 on Hotels
We had a suite overlooking the Grand Canal. The hotel has a great location for sightseeing and walking around Venice. Breakfast excellent and the Concierge could not have been more helpful. We would definitely go back!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 24, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

One of the best hotel's in Venice

Posted Oct 12, 2015 on Hotels
Fantastic hotel in the perfect position overlooking the lagoon and the Grand Canal. Fabulous roof terrace for breakfast with stunning views. Service wonderful. Would definitely stay again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 4, 2015
Enjoyable stay. Great location. Staff friendly and helpful. Great view from the. Breakfast area.
5 out of 5
by rachel from Dublin

Total heavenly hotel

Posted Sep 21, 2015 on Hotels
This is probably the best hotel I've ever stayed in. The whole place is completely 5 start luxury but with a personal friendly atmosphere that is often uncommon in 5 star hotels. We will definitely come back as the view from the breakfast terrace is one of the most incredible places to eat breakfast in the world!
3 out of 5
by William from Florida

Our stay in Venice

Posted Sep 12, 2015 on Hotels
We generally had a good time at the hotel but there were some inconveniences and annoyances during the stay. The Il Palazzo side of the hotel appeared to be a bit tired looking (carpets, hallways, lobby). We had to pay 5 euros for ice (hadn't had that experience anywhere else on our trip) and there was no coffee available in the room and no lounge to get some during the day. The breakfast was good and plentiful but the deck at that level was not open later in the day to enjoy the view.