Ratings based on 871 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washington, dc

Nice hotel which is really close to Saint Marks.

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Staff was really pleasant and I was able to check in very early. The location is perfect. Rooms are beautiful. Walking distance to St. marks. Lots of high-end shops all around the hotel. Gondola rides available right outside of the hotel. The breakfast is very good too. Room service is a bit expensive so if that's a concern I would recommend eating outside of the hotel. Getting to the hotel requires a private gondola which takes you directly to the hotel or a water taxi to st. Marks. The private gondola is very expensive 60-70 euros one way. Water taxi is 7.50 euros but you do have to ride with many people and make many stops before arriving at the station. expedia says you will have a room with a view. I had a view of a wall. The tv was not working properly, and they don't have movies on the tv. You can ask for a DVD player if you have children. Overall, a beautiful hotel but I was very disappointed about the view as that was the only reason I chose this hotel over others.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel but rooms were cold.

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Cons: Waive the cover charge for residents for sitting in the bar
The hotel was beautiful but we found the bedrooms to be a little chilly. Our main complaint was the charge of €9 per person for sitting in the bar,so for 1 glass of wine and a small beer it cost us €50,which is extortionate even for St Marks square,as residents of the hotel I would expect that the €9 cover charge should be waived.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY NY

Beautiful hotel

Posted Dec 16, 2016
Pros: Nice staff, clean room
Cons: Nothing
Location: Great central location
The staff was great and the hotel is beautiful and right at San Marco Piazza. I had a great stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not up to the rave reviews

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Have tv's that work
My wife and I just finished two weeks in Italy at 4 hotels. We stayed at hotels with a lesser rating but better all around service. The location however is superb. Good but not great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey

smart and stylish hotel

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Location: Fabulous! Gondolas and Grand Canal waterfront to hotel. 5 min walk to San Marco piazza. St Mark's Basilica is breathtaking! Do pay to go upstairs too.
Initially disappointed our 'room with a view' was distant view of campanile over neighbouring rooftops, however realised that some internal rooms may have only looked out onto a wall? I guess you get what you pay for, and the suites overlooking the canal were probably a great deal pricier. The Hotel décor was really smart, especially the 1940's-style grand staircase and reception areas. Housekeeping was excellent - towels replaced twice a day, mood lighting and TV switched on to greet us upon evening return. Staff were very friendly, courteous, and helpful. Food and drink at the hotel were of an excellent quality (we enjoyed the traditional Venetian 4-course dinner menu - the highlight being salt-baked sea bass being filleted at the table for us) but rather expensive, so we only ate in the restaurant once. The outdoor terrace right on the Grand Canal wasn't being used (end of Oct) but we enjoyed a lovely salad lunch on the outdoor bar terrace on the corner of the Grand and a side canal, and an evening glass of wine there - and had it nearly to ourselves on both occasions. Seemed sad that so few guests were making use of the glorious location and spectacular views - maybe the prices were off-putting? The breakfast buffet, included in our tariff, provided an exceptionally wide choice of delicious foods - everything you could think of, and were continually topped up. The location of this Hotel was fabulous. Would definitely stay there again if Expedia rates were offered again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

wonderful stay

Posted Oct 27, 2016 on Hotels
best breakfast ever next to canal packed with gondolas a minute to Piazza San Marco a minute to Harry's Bar surrounded by elegant shops
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 21, 2016 on Hotels
The palazzo was incredibly old world beautiful. The service was exceptional; Roberto was welcoming and so helpful in arranging tours, etc. A great experience
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Fantastic. Would go back.

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Rooms, staff and Breakfast.
Cons: Shower very small for a suite, overall spacious and comfortable.
Location: You have everything within walking distance, very clean.
Superior suite well appointed. Shower very tight and view from small canal good. Breakfast excellent selection. Staff always pleasant and cheerful. Minutes from San Marco Square and all shops and restaurants. Will return and recommend to everyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location and great room!

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Perfect location and friendly staff with a perfect room overlooking the Grand Canal with a balcony! Great stay in Venice!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from seoul

The worst hotel of the 5 stars hotel!!

Posted Oct 14, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Only one, location
Cons: Everything except location
Location: San marco
The worst hotel of the 5 stars hotel. I totally regret to have booked this hotel. Most of the staff is arrogant especially concierge is haughty. They treat everyhing (including me) roughly. The experience of this hotel during 3 days was nightmare.