Ratings based on 879 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel on the canal

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Pros: location and cleanliness
Cons: king beg was two twins separated by 2 inches
Location: great shopping, food, piazza San Marco
Nice room, comfortable, clean. Staff was excellent and the concierge outstanding
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Fantastic Hotel, Fantastic Location.

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Pros: Staff, Breakfast, Location
Cons: Reduce the bar prices
Location: A couple of minutes stroll to St. Mark’s Square, 10 minutes to Rialto Bridge and Accademia. Gondola trips leave from hotel entrance.
We had a lovely stay at the Bauer Palazzo. The hotel has a fantastic location, backing onto the Grand Canal and only a couple of minutes stroll to St. Mark’s Square. Gondola trips leave from right beside the hotel entrance (and this is a must-do when you are here). The staff were very pleasant and helpful and even left a bottle of bubbly for my wife’s birthday, which was lovely surprise as we hadn’t informed them so they must have realised from the passport or perhaps the birthday cards in the room. The breakfast was very good, lots of fresh fruits as well as the usual cooked breakfast and the chef’s cakes were an added bonus. The breakfast room looks out onto the Grand Canal – a fantastic setting. The toiletries in the room were all organic, made by women prisoners as part of their rehabilitation. One small criticism is the hotel bar is very expensive, but then Venice is an expensive place overall, but you can find good value restaurants in the streets around St. Mark’s Square. I would certainly recommend the Bauer Palazzo Hotel to anyone and would stay here again if we ever return to Venice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good location

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Pros: Staff helpful,friendly and approachable
Cons: Tea and coffee facilites in the room
Location: Clse to St Marks Square and the water bus
Went to Venice to celebrate my friend's birthday. Had a lovely time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Very friendly and welcoming, went out of there way to help. Will go back to the same hotel . Our room was clean like the rest of the hotel. Very central location making it very easy to get about
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new malden

Perfect setting overlooking the Grand Canal.

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Helpful staff. Good breakfast buffet. Excellent position near St Mark' Square.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lima

Amazing location and beautiful historic hotel

Posted Feb 27, 2017
The hotel is really amazing. The staff was very nice and the views to the plaza and the canal where incredible. Just make sure you are not given one of the inner court rooms. Also. Make sure you have breakfast at the dinning room looking the canal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washington, dc

Nice hotel which is really close to Saint Marks.

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Staff was really pleasant and I was able to check in very early. The location is perfect. Rooms are beautiful. Walking distance to St. marks. Lots of high-end shops all around the hotel. Gondola rides available right outside of the hotel. The breakfast is very good too. Room service is a bit expensive so if that's a concern I would recommend eating outside of the hotel. Getting to the hotel requires a private gondola which takes you directly to the hotel or a water taxi to st. Marks. The private gondola is very expensive 60-70 euros one way. Water taxi is 7.50 euros but you do have to ride with many people and make many stops before arriving at the station. expedia says you will have a room with a view. I had a view of a wall. The tv was not working properly, and they don't have movies on the tv. You can ask for a DVD player if you have children. Overall, a beautiful hotel but I was very disappointed about the view as that was the only reason I chose this hotel over others.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel but rooms were cold.

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Cons: Waive the cover charge for residents for sitting in the bar
The hotel was beautiful but we found the bedrooms to be a little chilly. Our main complaint was the charge of €9 per person for sitting in the bar,so for 1 glass of wine and a small beer it cost us €50,which is extortionate even for St Marks square,as residents of the hotel I would expect that the €9 cover charge should be waived.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY NY

Beautiful hotel

Posted Dec 16, 2016
Pros: Nice staff, clean room
Cons: Nothing
Location: Great central location
The staff was great and the hotel is beautiful and right at San Marco Piazza. I had a great stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not up to the rave reviews

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Have tv's that work
My wife and I just finished two weeks in Italy at 4 hotels. We stayed at hotels with a lesser rating but better all around service. The location however is superb. Good but not great.