Ratings based on 512 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful garden setting

Posted May 16, 2017
This is an exceptional hotel. The location on Giudecca is ideal. The gardens are simply stunning. My only quibble is the breakfast. Don't get me wrong: it is ample and high quality but more assistance would be good. The terrace is a wonderful location for breakfast but every winged species known to man including ferocious seagulls will swoop as soon as your back is turned. One more thing: in the Bauer across the water prosecco is served at breakfast, a delightful touch. I expected the same here but the arrangements are obviously quite different.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful view of Venice

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Fabulous hotel. Great staff. Amazing spa. Beautiful view of Venice with convenient access via the hotel water taxi. Only complaint was we were unable to unpack as there was only a wardrobe with 4 hangers and no shelves.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from t

Just a superb hotel & wonderful staff.

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: Stunning room, staff are fantastic & service is excellent
Cons: Nothing it was perfect from top to bottom it was excellent
Location: Church's, walks, bars, good food
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Check the hotel's own website before booking!

Posted Oct 14, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was great, but we were a little disappointed because the Hotels.com information and pictures of room choices were not accurate. Be sure to check out the hotel's own website before choosing a room. We booked a deluxe double because of the pictures on Hotels.com of a classic, old fashioned looking room (we didn't want to feel like we were in the US in a modern hotel). As it turned out, the hotel doesn't have deluxe doubles that are not MODERN in décor and they are even in a separate building!! So we ended up DOWNGRADING to a regular double (even though we paid for a deluxe, quite a bit more money) to get into the old building with classical décor. It was okay, but expensive for what we ended up with. Hotels.com needs to update or correct their pictures and room descriptions!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Okay but very very boring....

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: Very very quite.
Cons: Mis represented as 5 star but more like a 3 star.
Location: Nothing to do nearby as everything you can do is only accesible by public water bus or private water taxi.
Its overall OKAY. Not the great and fantastic but if you just want a room to sleep in and thats all then this is the place if you have money to burn. Overall they stick to single matresses to make a king size bed and the middles are buldgey which hurt your back. Nice paint artist design on walls and ceilings. Lighting in room is very poor. Washrooms are okay no issues their. This hotel is very difficult to get to unless you pay €100 to a water taxi as its not on the main Venice island. The hotel does have a water shuttle but it is only to take you not luggage or suitcases. This hotel is a old church converted into a hotel. Very dark and not alot of possitive energy from the place at all. Breakfast was awfull enough to to put something in your belly but no variety.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel on the water in Venice

Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
Loved the hotel. Beautiful old world character. Great staff. Gorgeous setting for breakfast in the garden. Only problem is the step down between the bedroom and the entrance way and the step up to the bathroom. The drop off is not very visible during the day so you have to pay attention not to trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Somerset

Very quiet with easy access to Venice.

Posted Sep 26, 2016
A beautiful hotel with attentive staff. A private launch whisks you over to Venice. All in all a very special experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Irvine, CA

A Hidden Gem

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Pros: Tranquil atmosphere, helpful staff, the free water taxi to St Marks Square.
Cons: Nothing really. Mosquitos are a fact of life, sadly and being by a lagoon in the summer means you need to take precautions.
Location: Plenty of restaurants and bars and a few minutes ride away from the center of Venice. We ate by the hotel every evening.
Staying across the water from "the action" was a concern and we didn't know if this was a good move or not. We were pleasantly surprised. An old convent converted to a hotel with the most stunning view of the water and with the most tranquil environment. Helpful, friendly staff, great facilities and an oasis away from the madness of St Marks Square, plus to have a free water taxi transfer from in front of the hotel was an added plus. I would certainly stay here again. A-plus.
3 out of 5
by Lisa from Portsmouth

Great Location, slightly disappointing for the £

Posted Jul 19, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed 3 days in a Deluxe Suite with Lagoon Views. Overpriced for what it is. No Tea & Coffee facilities in room Breakfast was disappointing
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bauer Palladio - Great way to relax in Venice

Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels
Great location to relax and get away from the crowds in San Marco. The hotel shuttle is available throughout the day. No better place to enjoy a relaxing few days.