Ratings based on 77 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salem, OR

Good Hotel in Quite Area

Posted Mar 6, 2015
Pros: Quite, Very helpful staff, clean
Hotel was great! The staff was very helpful scheduling Airport transfer. Free shuttle service to the center of Venice (the Plazza) Location was great because it was about 20 minutes away from all the tourist attractions. Nice and quiet. The room was decent size.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Herts

Set in a perfect location

Posted Sep 16, 2014
The hotel is in a lovely residential area with good bars and restaurants which are not touristy. You can experience the real Venice here and yet you are close enough to get to the centre.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N Ireland

hotel with garden

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: location and garden
Cons: could not find electrical socket suitable for adaptor
upgraded to a garden room which was lovely, breakfast was extra but worth it
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Amazing truly 5* hotel

Posted Aug 12, 2014
This hotel delivered in every respect. It was beautifully decorated, superb location and beautiful gardens. Breakfast offered everything you could wish. The free water taxi boats were something out of a James Bond movie! I would recommend this hotel to anyone.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Massive disappointment and won't recommend

Posted Jul 22, 2014
We stayed at the hotel some years ago and decided to go back this summer. What a disappointment!! One of our two rooms has no air conditioning in July and when spoken with the staff, we were told that it was fixed. Another customer was also complaining no air conditioning in her room too. We moved rooms that were a bit better. Breakfast time with limited number of staff resulted in dirty plates lying around on tables and pigeons were sitting on uncleared tables eating left over food! Flies in opened jars of jam....Hotel staff are ok but just seem to be not enough of them to cater the number of customers (big cruise trips sending customers there and the hotel had lost its original warmth and service level). Feel sad for the magnificent building.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Oasis

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Great hotel away from the hustle of St Marks but easy to walk to. Wonderful place from which to explore and great restaurants and bars nearby. Calm gardens and fab staff with wonderful food.
2 out of 5
by Miriam from Washington, DC

Just an amazing settings...

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: The gardens are amazing
Cons: service!
Location: It is a little isolated, the hotel has a shuttle twice in the morning (10am and 11:30 am) but you have to make a reservation
…everything else is disappointing. We have booked two rooms, one of our rooms had a really small shower, I am 5'4 and I barely fit there. We have also booked a taxi service through the hotel. I did it so we wouldn’t have to lift our four bags from the boat and get some help; you would think that hotel would be expecting you… wrong. When we arrived I get inside, - no reaction from the 2 people at the reception desk, not until I got loud I’ve got their attention and subsequently some help. After we arrived we've decided to eat at the hotel’s restaurant, even though we saw a sign that the wedding will be held at the garden, we asked if the restaurant will be open. We were assured it will, we made reservation and dine there. Terrible experience! The service, the quality of the food (we barely touched it) was really bad. The waiter acted as if we impose on the job there were doing serving the wedding, and the food they served us I am sure was from the box. Nobody asked us why we returned our plates pretty much untouched. I hope guest at the wedding had a better service and quality of the food. We didn’t get any service during breakfast next morning either, the plates were piled up in the table, I had to find a waiter to order coffee. For the 5 stars (over $400/night) hotel all these are unacceptable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great shuttle service to San Marco Square

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Our junior suite was a bit tired and the bathroom could definitely do with an upgrade, but the view directly above a canal wwas the best I have ever had in Venice. Also, the breakfast was served in a beautiful garden.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Colin from Epping Essex UK

`Great position for a quieter area of Venice

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: The courtesy water taxi to the heart of St Marks Square. Top Arriving!
Cons: Not a lot except of course the hotel drinks prices. Like most hotels a bit stiff.
Location: Little restaurants & bars near by (5 min walk) churches canals bridges galore, shops not far, Water Bus station 5 mins away. Go you will love it.
Beautiful hotel & Gardens backing onto the Lagoon. Staff excellent, food & service very good. Hotel captures the essence of Venice. Lovely walk to St Marks Square & surrounding areas. Within a 5 min walk to small restaurants & late night canal side bars, a bit like Hoxton/Shoreditch area of London. We had our elderly parents with us which meant a bit of a long walk for them to the main areas so not recommended unless you take the water taxi.(See below) But if fit & enjoy walking over narrow bridges alley ways & canals...fabo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anna from London

Fantastic hotel:-)

Posted May 8, 2014
Hotel is perfectly situated : close to the airport and close to center of Venice. It's in nice quiet area but hustle and busle of restaurants it's 5min. walk. Has amazing garden at the back of the restaurant. Rooms are very confortable. Staff very friendly. Lovely place to stay if you want to relax.