Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Awesome location. As far as atmosphere goes you can't beat this place. Pretty cool to be staying in a place that was built in the 1400's. The room was very clean and the staff were excellent.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 26, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel is actually an old palace. Pros: Huge room, and decent size bathroom. Great window view from our room. Excellent customer service. Decent breakfast spread. Hotel desk was always staffed and all staff were incredibly nice. Cons: Could feel every spring in the ancient mattress we slept on. Heater would not turn on in the room. Hotel feels very old and outdated.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

October 2015 - Weekend break to Venice

Posted Oct 24, 2015 on Hotels
Our stay was lovely just for a weekend break. The hotel was fine and in the best place for everything, you did not have to spend any money travelling as everything was at your door step, i would recommend if anyone going to venice where we stayed was a good location for eating, shopping and sightseening.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room was too small

Posted Sep 15, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Contact the hotel before booking and just make sure you do not get this room. The hotel was hard to find (but apparently everything is).
Location: It is in the Castello - close to San Marco and the Rialto bridge.
The location was great but our room was just too small and cramped. The view was a brick wall. If you are over 5 feet 10 inches you will not be able to stand in the shower
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful except for a few small things

Posted Aug 18, 2015 on Hotels
The staff, lobby and breakfast were all wonderful and the hotel is in a great location. However, the room is very small, especially the bathroom. Also, the bathroom emits a bit of a strange smell.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Superb hotel and amazing location!!

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Fantastic location with short walks to St Mark's Square, Rialto Bridge, and the Grand Canal. Hotel staff were very polite friendly and welcoming. Room was amazing we have absolutely no complaints at all and will definitely be staying here when we return to Venice!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice one within the price range

Posted Jul 5, 2015
It's next to a plaza and a smaller canal, but the owner has two properties obviously so we were assigned to a room in another building without any canal nor plaza view. Since we were only going to stay for one night, we didn't argue for changing a room. The breakfast was very good, which seems pretty standard in Italy. There is no elevator so you need to be prepared to bring the luggage with you through stairs.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mexico

gave me a room with a shared bathrom,

Posted Jul 15, 2011 on Hotels
called I was coming in 20 minutes from the station and had to wait 35 minutes knocking at the door with all my suitcases outside at 5 in the afternoon. Then thanks to some guests coming out I was able to come in and climb 3, 4 to 5 mts high stories to the reception, where I complained for this situation and that I was going to put a complaint in the tourism department, then he person in charge in a very anoying way told me that he didnt have my reservation, to go to an other hotel and I had to convince him I wasent going to put the complaint, so he will let me stay. then I found out that I wasent staying in the Ca Malipiero but trough a door took me up an other floor to a Residence with a diferent name of lower class with my bathroom shared with others. When I saw the pictures you can see that it looks like a Palazo and was willing to accept coming up and down the steps, but not what I went trough. totaly outregous, I tried to find another hotel near by, with out luck and ended having to sleep there. I want my money back, no excuses. The next morning It took the other persons in the other room 40 minutes to do their toilett and left the bathroom in disgrace, to the extent that I had to go to another floor to the bathroom of guest that had just left. By the way I got confused going to the toilet at night, to find that my key was like any other key because I entered another room by mistake. It was imposible to loock the room from the inside The next day I got my standard room as reserved and eveything was ok. But the bad time and waste of time on my two day trip to Venice is unreplacable. one more thing to add, I had to stay another night to finalize the reason for my trip with all the time I losted knocking and discussing, in the next door hotel de la Piave,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Whitney, Texas

Posted Jun 2, 2011 on Hotels
The hotel was originally the residence of a Duke of Venice and was built in1484. It has been somewhat renovated but could stand improvement as would be expected with a structure of such age. Its location was convenient and certainly within walking distance to St. Mark's Square. In addition, it was one of the more reasonably priced hotels in Venice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Hotel Ca'Malipiero - Has Some Serious Issues.

Posted Jan 20, 2011 on Hotels
Though the overall experience was adequate, I would not return to this hotel. 1) I was given a room directly behind the reception table (my thin door was 3 metres from the reception desk - my bed was 3.5 metres away from reception desk). This meant that I heard every word of every conversation at reception even with the door closed. Reception seemed not to care when I motioned to them to quiet down their chatty personal phone calls while I was trying to relax in room. Basically I don't have respect for a hotel that does not realize the inherent problem of having a guest room so close to the reception desk. The reception room was so huge that the desk could be relocated elsewhere. 2) I learned that they have NO SECURITY or regard to the importance of guests' passports. My passport was left completely unattended for an hour on a table in the reception hall (placed half-way under a computer keyboard on a table and completely accessible to anyone who entered the mostly emply room). This was done even after I told them twice that they should be securing my passport carefully while waiting for their photocopier to work (I had noticed their lax approach). I demanded my passport back as I did not trust their safekeeping of it. 3) bathroom was clean, sleeping area carpet was not very clean. 4) Poor English. Rather than indicating lack of English skills (which is fine) check-in staff kept saying "Yes, understand" to everything and gave irrelevant answers when he clearly did not understand what I was asking.