Ratings based on 1,248 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location was great.

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: Parking
The location is great - right on the beach. The room is rather Spartan but comfortable. Considering how old the building is the room was up to date. No AC needed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Beach

Posted Sep 1, 2017
If you want to be close to the beach, then this is the spot. But the carpet was disgusting throughout the entire building. And we killed some bugs in our carpet upon arrival. EWWW! Made me feel uncomfortable staying there.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: The fact that it was extremely close to the beach.
Cons: Cleaning the carpets though the entire place would be a plus.
Location: The boardwalk is entertaining.
The hotel itself is ok, however, the carpets are so incredibly dirty it is almost unbearable. I had to put towels down on the floor to just to walk on them. requested a different room however there process is not manageable. the process is to check out pf your room they will hold your bags until another room is available and then you can check that room to see if it is ok then there is no guarantee it will be any better or it may be a single bed. The homeless surrounding this hotel is scary. A walk in the morning means that you will be walking over bodies sleeping on the sidewalks.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the beach.

Posted Aug 25, 2017
The downside was that the room had a non working a.c. The shower drain was clogged and the T.V had no sound.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Amazing roof top chill out ,laid back beach hotel

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Impeccably clean rooms, and a great roof top . ocean view . lay in bed with the window open listening to the street musicians . great breezy rooms .
Cons: scratchy top blanket cover, and the annoyance of room key deactivating all the time ,
Location: Fig tree cafe for breakfast is half price before 9am
Chilled out on the roof top sun loungers ,away from the boardwalk below ,homeless brigades,and artists by the beach,listening to all the street musicians from up top with the seagulls . ,scratchy top blanket cover, but inside is soft . The location is super .. a few days is enough . luckily the rooms have wooden floors because the corridor carpet is filthy . The towels are fresh fluffy white but the breakfast for a rip off $20 gives you a stodgy peanut butter bagel and a coffee in a paper cup ... although take it up to the roof and enjoy in the sun and its 5 star ! . i would return and highly recommend .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ann Arbor

location 5 stars, the rest a miss

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: Close to beach, less rowdy part of boardwalk. Parking lot right next door. Restaurants nearby better than average. 30 minute walk to Santa Monica Pier
Cons: Mandatory daily $20 'boutique fee.
Location: Santa Monica Pier, Venice boardwalk, surf lessons
The location is unbeatable. It's right at one end of the boardwalk in a less rowdy part of Venice. Small parking lot is right next to hotel. However: The mandatory 'boutique fee' for breakfast for two people consists of store package croissants, cereals, bread, bananas (they ran out first day), apples, oranges. For such a meager spread I'd expect it to be optional; or, for the $10 per person put out better variety of food. Hotel is refurbished with nice touches but old parts clearly still showing. I would recommend the hotel were it not for the $20 boutique fee and $25 parking, with little staff presence in return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location, Location,Location

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Great location, in the centre of everything. Walking distance to beach, restaurants and more. Our room was clean, the view was beautiful and the rooftop had an amazing view. Staff was very friendly and helpful, overall a great experience!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Hotel close to the beach

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Hotel bed is comfortable, but sheets and towels have stains. Badly stained carpet needs an upgrade. Bathroom is big. Staff are friendly and helpful. The hotel is close to Santa Monica beach, pier and downtown mall for shoppings spree. There are homeless people living at the beach area near the hotel. Overall we still had a great time in Venice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

OK Hotel centre of Venice Beach

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Pros: The Staff were friendly and helpful.
Cons: A jug and tea making facilities in the room but I think that's an American thing that they don't provide this in many places.
Location: You have to hire a bike or skates and ride the pathway from Venice Beach to Santa Monica Pier up and down, it's fun. And of course people watch!!
The hotel was ok considering the area which was a bit of a shock, I had no idea what to expect! Its not what I would call a pretty place but one you have to visit and make your own judgement. Santa Monica is about a 15 min walk along the pathway from Venice beach, also a must see place in contrast to Venice.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Antonio, Tx

Horrible and Fradualant

Posted Jul 29, 2017
None of pictures are accurate for this hotel. Rooms have no AC, windows open but area full of homeless people. The filth and stench surrounding this hotel was totally mind-boggling, considering that all caliber types of people were checking in. Also, extremely over-priced considering that the hotel is unkempt, crawling with homeless people and in need of repair. I will never subject my daughters and family to this hotel again.