Ratings based on 406 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good, quiet location close to Grand Canal.

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Overall we had a very good experience of the hotel. The bathroom was a bit dated but adequate. The room was nice with polished plaster ceiling and walls and the bed was big. Overall the facilities were very good and the location is excellent. You need to walk through small alleyways to reach the hotel but Venice is very safe with plenty of tourists walking about... overall very positive stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nashville Tn

Small for a short stay.

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Room was small but for only one night ok. Located close to people mover good for cruise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne, Australia

Nice hotel close to the ferry and station

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Location: great location
Breakfast is very good, staff are friendly and location is excellent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Location

Posted Jun 29, 2017
We stayed in room 306, the shower was so small you could not bend down to pick up soap if it was dropped.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

A hidden gem

Posted May 27, 2017
Great staff, all friendly,informative and helpful. Lovely room. We had a double with a balcony on the high floor. Delightful view of roof tops and laneways- a local feel, which is what we wanted. Room was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was a buffet with a very good range. Location is great if your coming in by train, simply over the bridge and short walk. Google a map and you won't have difficulty turning into the lane beside the Hotel Carlton . Easy access to vaporettos. We walked everywhere from here but not everyone wants to do that! Very good eateries in this area too. Great value for Venice ! You won't be disappointed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Venice Gateaway

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: Clean room, Convenient location and walking distant to everything.
Cons: None
Location: A few step away from the Venezia Sta. Lucia train station which I found it very convenient. Walking distant to everything.
Hotel is located in the back of Grand Carlton Hotel, very quite and clean hotel. Room is decent in size, comfortable bed and good size bathroom. Breakfast is what you expected and very good. Very good location just a few step away from the Venezia Sta Lucia train station which is very convenient. Everything is walking distant, walk around and get lost in the maze of street. I definitely coming back her again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Disappointed

Posted May 14, 2017
Good location. Breakfast was good. Room facilities: with air conditioning but was restricted to no access. No exhaust fan in bathroom. The only way to ease the stuffy room is to open the windows and welcome the mosquitoes. No sockets at the bedside. Ask for an extension if you need it. This hotel is overpriced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. 5 mins walk from the bus station

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness and location
Cons: Nothing
Location: Easy to get to. Handy for bus, train or water buses. Lots of lovely small places to eat nearby without having to endure the crowds.
Lovely hotel, rooms spotless. Great location. Lots of lovely places to eat nearby without having to go into the touristy areas.
5 out of 5
by Judy

Excellent location

Posted Apr 12, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel is not on the Grand Canal, but very close to it as well as to the train station. Nothing fancy, but good accommodations for the price, which includes breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

quaint and charming ocean view hotel

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Pros: good value; clean. charming
Cons: be prepared to climb many stairs to get in and out of the hotel; no elevators
Location: great place to take pictures, there are sightseeing boats leaving from the harbor; many places to eat and shop
i arrived late at night and it was very difficult to locate the hotel by car. after many fruitless GPS events i finally figured out that you cannot drive to the hotel. you must park in the town square near the train station and then walk the quarter mile to the hotel. the staff was very warm and friendly. when i arrived my initial room had not been made up i was promptly upgraded to a top floor ocean view room. the sound of the waves is very calming. the breakfast was fine in a brightly lit room overlooking the sea, also an outdoor terrace. didnt try the hotel restaurant. many restaurants within a five minute walk on the broad promenade. Camogli is a beautiful terraced fishing village. very picturesque and with the crowds of Venice.