Ratings based on 134 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Certosa Hotel = Beautiful

Posted Sep 21, 2015
Pros: I loved the location, the staff, and the rooms were unique. Didn't try the breakfast since it was extra but they gave us coffee one morning.
I loved this little hotel that was tucked away in Certosa. It was a great value for what we got, comfortable, beautiful to wake up at, and the staff was very nice. At first we were a little taken aback by the need for the water taxis and how long it took, but when we look back on it now it was part of the adventure and really made our first visit to Venice that much more special. (Walking from the water taxi into Venice for the first time with the music, and the view was one of our favourite moments from our trip.) They even have a free shuttle service available for those who stay out in venice passed midnight (easier to do than we thought!).
5 out of 5
by Mihai Viorel from Montreal

Posted Aug 15, 2015 on Hotels
We love it.
1 out of 5
by Robert from UK

Extremely expensive youth hostel, not a hotel.

Posted Nov 2, 2014 on Hotels
We were disappointed to find out that the Certosa Hotel was actually more akin to a youth hostel. The staff were very friendly however the room was extremely basic. When you are paying ~110 euro a night excluding breakfast, you expect much more. Moreover, the park where the hostel is situated is being completely refurbished so the retreat like qualities of the location are void. This was not advertised on the website. Overall we feel like we were miss-sold.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Remote location but nice break from city

Posted Apr 7, 2014 on Hotels
On a neighboring island from the city, but not so difficult to get to. Free boat offered by the hotel all night after public transit boat stops running. Very friendly staff. Bed not so comfortable for my taste. I would stay there again.
4 out of 5
by Harris from Hong Kong

Nice hotel, friendly staff, and reasonable price

Posted Mar 21, 2014 on Hotels
Nice hotel, friendly staff, and reasonable price.
5 out of 5
by Susan G. from Canada

Enjoyed my second stay at the Hotel Certosa!

Posted Mar 7, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel is spotlessly clean, reasonably priced, very comfortable, and located on a quiet island with a marina very close to Venice. It is just a wee bit tricky getting on and off the island as you have to turn on a light (and the right one!) to flag a vaporetto during the day, and phone for the hotel's shuttle boat after 9 PM. The hotel staff members are wonderful, speak many languages and are very helpful. I was a little disappointed that they have redecorated the formerly artistic/poetic rooms since last summer, and that they have traded the beautiful wooden motor launch for a more prosaic shuttle boat. Nonetheless, it's a great place to stay in Venice!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

4.1/ 4.2 vaporetto is a request stop for Certosa.

Posted Sep 22, 2013 on Hotels
My stay was very good. The hotel and its extensive grounds are very quiet and somewhat isolated from Venice. There is a 10 minute walk from the vaporetto stop to the hotel. The staff are friendly and the hotel is clean. Good and plentiful buffet breakfast.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 25, 2013 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Susan from Canada

This is a wonderful, quiet place to stay in Venice

Posted Jul 24, 2013 on Hotels
The Certosa is on the Isola della Certosa, one of the islands that makes up Venice. Other than the hotel (with its bar and restaurant) there is just a sailors' marina, sailing school and a park under construction. The whole island is quiet and peaceful, and it's lovely to have breakfast out on the patio with the birds singing. The design of the Certosa is beautiful -- clean lines, nice splashes of colour, lots of art in each room, simple, functional and lovely. My room was not big but had everything I needed and felt spacious. The people at the hotel were very friendly and helpful, and the call-up service for the hotel's shuttle boat worked fine (since I had a cell phone with an Italian sim card). The first time it was a little scary walking to the boat doc at the Stadio Santa Elena, but after I'd done it once it was easy. It's great to have a quiet country retreat to go to after a busy day in the crowds in Venice and the Biennale, and it's only a 5 minute boat ride away from the centre of town. Highly recommended!
3 out of 5
by dennis from london

Good except WIFI didn't work

Posted Jul 19, 2013 on Hotels
Everything was good (even the remote location) but WIFI somehow didn't work in my room (no.25). I had to use the public pc on the 1st floor .