Ratings based on 226 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 7, 2017
Location: Near a low price supermarket
Need to wait for waterbus to travel away from or back to the hostel, this location is fine you are not in a rush.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
This hostel takes advantage of being one of the only hostels in Venice. They charge you for a map. A bit ridiculous considering the amount of money they charge per night. There was mould in the shower and the staff dismissed my conerns when I brought it up. The 7.50 Euro water bus to get to the main island adds up quickly after a few days. Apply that money to a cheap hotel on the main island instead for better service. When I checked in, the staff was annoyed my wet jacket was dripping on the counter. The top of the walls have a window/glass between rooms which makes noise travel very easily between rooms. It can get loud. I wouldn't recommend here, they are most interested in making money off you than you enjoying your stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 4, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfy, clean hostel

Posted Oct 2, 2016 on Hotels
The breakfast was expensive for not very much choice (there are cheaper places close by). Great views of Venice from the island the hostel is on, although it does mean you have to get the expensive water bus every day. Overall a good place to stay in Venice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review. We appreciate all your comments good or bad as it gives us a great guide on how we can improve our customer service and facilities. All your comments will be shared with the relevant departments for review. We hope to welcome you back to Venice in the near future. Kind regards Venice Team
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 27, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Free and easy accomodation

Posted Sep 4, 2016 on Hotels
Flexible and comfortable, in particular, the budget level price and the convenience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Let us thank you for such a positive and detailed review about your recent stay at Generator Venice We are delighted to hear that your experience has been satisfactory and we would like to assure you that your feedback will be taken into our best consideration. Together with all staff, we do hope to welcome you back again soon at Generator Venice Kind regards Venice Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Cool hostel, tight rooms

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Being a Generator, this hostel is obviously super swanky - the lobby/bar/restaurant area is great and pretty lively at all times. It's a big hostel, so not a very home-y vibe. The receptionists weren't the friendliest bunch and my 10-person room was REALLY tight (no room for luggage - lockers are good though). Be warned - catching the Vaporetto boat to get to this island is a bit inconvenient (and pricey!). BUT, the views from the room was amazing. It was also really nice to sit by the water in front of the hostel and watch the sunset over the city. Overall, I'd recommend it for a 1-2 night stay, but not any longer than that.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2016 by Venice Team, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review. We appreciate all your comments good or bad as it gives us a great guide on how we can improve our customer service and facilities. All your comments will be shared with the relevant departments for review. We hope to welcome you back to Venice in the near future. Kind regards
4 out of 5
by Kathleen from Los Angeles,CA

Posted Jul 3, 2016 on Hotels
It's on on island- so it's worth it to get the multi-day boat ticket, I got a discount for being under 29, 2 days was €29. The rooms were very clean, however the cleaner they use must be bleach because there was always a string bleach smell. The showers were also a bit strange, it was a female bathroom 2 showers and 2 toilets, how ever the shower doors are clear- so that was a bit wierd. Customer service from the front desk was ok. One lady was always rude and always had attitude. The rest were more than helpful! Also for a map you had to pay €0.50 , most hostels give them free but whatever.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2016 by Venice Team, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for completing our survey after your recent stay. We appreciate all your comments good or bad as it gives us a great guide on how we can improve our customer service and facilities. All your comments will be shared with the relevant departments for review. We hope to welcome you back to Venice in the near future. Kind regards Venice Team
5 out of 5
by Barbara

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 3, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Lidia from Dublin

Posted Jul 3, 2016 on Hotels
hostel in a perfect location if you're planning to get a vaporetto pass, as it is not accessable by foot from any other islands. the views are stunning and the decor of the place itself is fabulos
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2016 by Venice Team, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your very positive comments after your recent stay with us. It’s really pleasing to read that we have met your expectations and that you really enjoyed your stay with us in Venice. We’d love to see you again in the future. Best Wishes Venice Team