Ratings based on 264 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London UK

A nice hotel in a good location

Posted Jan 5, 2017
Pros: A lovely clean hotel
Location: Close to the water taxis, shops, restaurants and the beach.
This was our first time visit to Venice, which was very impressive. I certainly would recommend staying at the Grande Ausonia & Hungarian Hotel. All the staff were very helpful and polite.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from SF

Nice hotel, felt upscale

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Pros: Space, cleanliness, service
Location: A bit away from Venice San Marco. About four stops,
Good hotel on Lido. Spacious accommodation for a family of four. Helpful staff. Felt like old charmful hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester UK

Very helpful staff and excellent food.

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Pros: Good food and friendly service. Easy walk from the vaporetto.
Cons: Directions for getting there were not clear and we found ourselves on the "wrong" water bus on arrival.
Location: Beautiful town centre within easy walk to transport. Also lovely restaurants. The frequent water bus takes one to most of Venice. Did not try the spa.
Had a good long weekend break and enjoyed the frequent links to Venice, including St Marks Square and the Piazza la Roma for much sightseeing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel amazing staff fantastic breakfast

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Really great hotel Staff were so lovely and nothing was too much effort for them
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good hotel

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Location: expensive to get to Venice, some local places to eat and drink
A fair to good hotel, very hard bed, rather tired now - staff friendly and helpful, rather limited breakfast. Expensive to get to the main part of Venice
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from aylesbury, bucks

A wonderful stay in a wonderful city

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Pros: We booked a suite as we were travelling with our thirteen and eight year old daughters, so need a little more space than your basic family room. The suite was gorgeous and perfectly laid out fir our needs - two proper single beds in the living area rather than the usual sofa bed and a large bed for us in the bedroom area. The room was spotlessly clean every day. The bathroom was wonderful with a brilliant shower and lots of towels (we always struggle for enough towels usually!) There was even fruit, water bottles, robes and slippers waiting for us on arrival. Breakfast everyday was simply amazing -everything you could think of and plenty of it. A wonderful hotel in a wonderful city.
Cons: Nothing. It was great. I have nothing to say here. Mmmmmm mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm
Location: Easy access to the city via the vaporetto. We bought a pass in advance so it was super simple.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sheffield uk

Just a nice hotel

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Lovely place to stay, even if only for a one night stay after a cruise.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent, England

Nice Hotel and Good Location

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Generally a nice hotel in a great location away from the hustle and bustle of central Venice. Good value for money however would expect to be able to use the pool without paying an additional 20 euros every day.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible Beds

Posted Aug 29, 2016
The Hotel is in a great position and has real potential but the 'comfort' room upgrade option lets it down firstly. There are two types, one that looks really tasteful and sizeable with purple drapes and oak beds, and the others that are small and have yellow and blue striped walls. Typically we had the lesser option, so they need to sort out there room class system. The other issue (and the main issue) was the beds. Not unlike sleeping on the floor, they were like concrete. When I made my complaint to ask to change rooms or get a different mattress, they said all the beds in the hotel were the same no matter what class of room and there was nothing they could do. I wasn't pleased but didn't feel I could do much else other than kick off, which I don't want to do on holiday. However, I'm definitely going to need a few Physio sessions to sort out my back, so definitely don't recommend this hotel if you have back problems. Furthermore, I probably should have checked, but hotel users should surely be able to use the spa for free. It's €20pp.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Amsterdam

Excellent

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Lots of style. Lovely staff. Good location. Great breakfast!