Ratings based on 85 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location. Great staff. Great breakfast.

Posted Nov 6, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel is convenient to the railroad and vus stations. Water bus stop is also nearby. Prime tourist spots are about a 20 minute walk. The room was compact but fully functional. Bathroom likewise was on the small side but had a good shower. A very complete set of bath amenities are provided. Room had both a fridge and a safe. Ample closet and storage space. Breakfast is served on the top floor with nice views. The breakfast foods were very fresh with a sufficient variety. The highlight is the great service and your choice of excellent Italian coffee drinks. The front desk staff is very helpful with very good English language skills. Would definitely pick them again as my hotel in Venice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2017 by sansimeon, Hotel Management
Many thanks for Kind Review Best Regards Manuela Hotel Ai Due Fanali
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 4, 2016 on Hotels
Отличное соотношение цены и качества - очень чисто и тепло, качественное посиельное белье, вкусные обильные завтраки.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2017 by sansimeon, Hotel Management
Many thanks for Kind Reviw Best Regards Manuela Hotel Ai Due Fanali
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from US

Location, Comfort And Service All Rolled Into One

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Location: You walk everywhere. We found a "Free Walking Tour" that avoids the tourist stuff. There is a 24 hour "boat pass" to see the city from the canals.
The Hotel Ai Due Fanali was the best hotel of our trip. It was just a short 10 minute walk from the train station just across the canal. Our greeting at the front desk was warm and friendly and we were given great suggestions for our stay. We were given three restaurants to try out and ended up visiting two which were very nice. The room we were given on the first floor (second floor in the US) was spacious and nice. It also had the most comfortable bed on our trip even though it was two single beds joined together. We also appreciated the updated bathroom with towel warmer and unrestricted hot water available. As I said, the hotel staff was very helpful with our questions and requests. We had a glitch in our flight arrangements for our travel back to the California. Our voucher had us leaving at 10 a.m. from Venice (we had arranged a water taxi to take us to the airport) however the airline had us flying out of Florence, Italy at 10 a.m.. We discovered this we were booking our seats the day before departure. Fortunately the staff at the hotel (one very nice lady) was helped us find a train that would get us from Venice to Florence where we could catch a cab to the airport to make our flight. All we had to do was catch a 5 a.m. train in Venice which was made easier because of our hotel's location. We are very happy with our stay at the Hotel Ai Due Fanali and would stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2017 by Manuela , Hotel Management
Dear Gary we hope to help you again in the future Best Regards Manuela
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent but Overpriced for what you get

Posted Oct 27, 2016 on Hotels
Pros: right off the ferry and close to the train station. Free wifi and the breakfast was good. The waitress serving the breakfast was really great and made the best cappuccinos. Cons: really disappointed with the room. Extremely time with dead bugs on the ceiling. Out of all the places I visited in Italy, this hotel cost more than all of them and it was barely a three star. Room was also extremely outdated. No water or coffee in the room or lobby. The area turns into ghost town after 7 so not much to do. During the day we took the water taxis and went to the main tourist attraction areas.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very close to train station

Posted Oct 23, 2016 on Hotels
Overall experience was very good, stayed 3 nights. Generally I wouldn't pay 125 Euros a night for a hotel but as Venice is expensive, went ahead with it. Best part was it was walking distance from train station and in a nice quiet area which was v. convenient. We walked around whole of Venice and didn't need to use expensive water taxis at all. The services and breakfast was good and the staff was friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2017 by sansimeon, Hotel Management
Dear Mohit Mnay thanks for your review Kind Regards Manuela Hotel Ai Due Fanali
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location but not for couples.

Posted Oct 9, 2016 on Hotels
Room was too small. I think this hotel is overpriced. The continental breakfast was good and Roberto at the front desk was also very nice and helpful. However I will give this hotel a very low rating because of the lack of comfort in the room as well as lack of space. I believe the pics were a bit deceiving.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great for Honeymooners

Posted Sep 23, 2016 on Hotels
We truly enjoyed our stay at Hotel Ai Due Fanali! The location was great, not too loud but still close to everything, and the staff were very friendly. The view from the rooftop terrace for breakfast was beautiful!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kelowna

Friendly staff can't compensate for bug bites

Posted Sep 9, 2016 on Hotels
Friendly staff, walkable, nice outdoor breakfast. Other than that nothing to recommend this hotel from our stay. Mosquito guts on the ceiling should have been our first clue. We would think we got rid of them but they have a hiding spot in the room because there were always more the next night. Perhaps bed bugs also because our last night we both left with clusters of bites, between us at least 30. We'd have asked for a new room if staying longer. Were given the "Mansard" room, being told it was romantic. I'm 5'3 and kept hitting my head on the sloping ceiling. Anyone overweight could not use the tub as it is very narrow. It's not possible to shower instead as the ceiling is no more than 4' high over the tub and there is no door or barrier of any kind to keep the water off the floor. No ironing permitted and it was 8 euros each to have shirts done. All in all, our most expensive, least attractive and only bug infested Italian hotel room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
Easy to get to from the train station. Free wifi in the hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff. Simple but delicious breakfast. A/C was great on a hot visit to Venice. No complaints from us.
4 out of 5
by Wayne from Lancaster, CA

Hotel Ai Due Fanali-Nice Price

Posted Jun 21, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is located in a nice place along the canal close to the train station. The rooms are small, but then again, it is Venice, and being an old european city, I expected as much before hand. If you are looking for and expecting big spacious rooms, this is not the hotel for you. If you are looking for a nice clean hotel, with friendly staff, then I recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2016 by sansimeon, Hotel Management
Dear Wayne Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at the Ca' Nigra Hotel, your comments relating to our staff are greatly appreciated . I was sorry to read that your room fell below your expectations, however several of them are small due to the limited floor space available,it's an ancient palace. Should you decide to return I might suggest that you may prefer to book one of the superior rooms instead ,which are more spacious.. Once again, many thanks for your feedback and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel in the very near future. Kindest regards Robert E.Orsillo Customer Care Dept.