Ratings based on 1,023 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Couldn't have picked a better place!!!

Posted Jun 24, 2017
From the moment we walked in, we fell in love with this hotel. The staff were so friendly and gave us a free upgrade to the best room in the hotel- it was my boyfriends birthday so it was a lovely gesture!! I had not told them this but they had seen for themselves when taking copies of our passports and on the morning of his birthday they gave a lovely little present whilst we were having our breakfast! The location is perfect- quiet area but close to everything. There are a lot of restaurants within a few minutes walk. I would definitely be coming back and will be recommending this hotel to all my friends and family back in England! Thank you ever so much ai mori d'oriente!!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Yorkshire, England

Lovely midweek break

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Pros: See above.
Location: Short walk to water bus, longer but nice walk to main tourist areas. Choice of local restaurants nearby.
Lovely stay, all staff professional and welcoming. Nice gestures such as shutting blinds, turning bed down and leaving water in rooms each evening. Good choice for breakfast, all food fresh and plenty to eat. Good nights sleep. Would stay there again. Good directions to find hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TX

Great hotel and staff.

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Pros: Clean and loaded with extras.
Location: 10 to 15 min walk from the train station. Out of the way enough to enjoy peace and quiet and close enough to walk to the main attractions.
Perfect place to stay on your wedding anniversary.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel right at a canal.

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: Clean, very nice hotel.
We enjoyed our stay so much in Venice and at the hotel. Staff were very helpful and always available. Wonderful breakfast. Hotel took us for free to island of Murano. Hotel in a good location, not a far walk from the public boat stop.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hull, United Kingdom (City of Culture 2017!)

Very nice hotel away from the crowds.

Posted May 30, 2017
Hotel is very nice and staff are very friendly. It is located near Orto vaporetto so getting around Venice is easy and is just far enough away from the crowds. The hotel organised trips for hotel guests. The best one is the free water taxi across to the murano glass factory. Rooms are very nice and clean. Breakfast was very nice too. Onsite bar is quite expensive though in comparison to other places nearby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Great Hotel, Staff, Location

Posted May 26, 2017
Pros: The staff, location and little touches i.e. bottled water and sweets left each evening.
Cons: No, can't think of anything
Location: Relaxing, chilled, authentic. Better restaurants that the Venetians themselves go to
Had a brilliant stay at this hotel. From the start to the end all of the staff were warm, welcoming and helpful. Had booked deluxe double and luckily got an upgrade to a suite. The area was quaint and relaxing. Great to be in the thick of things and even better to retreat to this area with its lovely restaurants and chilled out vibe. Would thoroughly recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Fantastic hotel, clean, staff knowledgeable.

Posted May 26, 2017
Pros: Standard of room, staff friendliness and knowledge.
Cons: Tea and coffee making faculties in room, dressing gowns would have been a bonus and breakfast.
Location: Lots of nearby restaurants to eat just a very short walk from the hotel. Nearby we found a bar where a beer and glass of wine were 5 euros!
Stayed here for 4 nights 21st - 25th May and had a great stay. Location wasn't as central as we'd hoped we were about 30 mins walk from St Mark's square (if you didn't get lost!). This in itself didn't pose a problem as we enjoyed the wander, but it may if someone had limited mobility. Local water bus stops were nearby for the airport and main attractions if you preferred this method of transport. Our room was fantastic, very clean and decor of a high standard. We had daily room service, sheets changed every day and our towels, although we didn't ask for a change these were changed everyday too. We didn't have rea or coffee making facilities in the room which I missed. Breakfast was basic continental style, a total of nine tables were located outside and these were always in high demand so we never got a table outside during our stay. The dining room was a little oppressive I felt, I would prefer somewhere more spacious and with natural light but it did the job. Bar was open until midnight. Reception staff were grea, very a welcoming and very knowledgeable, nothing was too much trouble. We had a problem with our safety deposit box and this was attended to within a couple of minutes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Great hotel in a peaceful location

Posted May 25, 2017
Pros: Peaceful but still lively location, beautiful rooms, brilliant staff, what's not to like?
Cons: Nothing much really, a free ride back from Murano perhaps? :)
Location: Orient Express and the cicchetti/pasta bar next to it a few streets away both do really good food.
This a a lovely hotel in a quieter area of the city, but still has good restaurants and bars nearby. Main tourist attractions such as Rialto bridge is about 25 mins walk, but there is lots to see along the way and the area itself is very picturesque. The hotel organises a free water taxi to a glass factory in Murano (you will need to pay for the tourist bus back, but at least one direction is free!), and they organise small boat rides down the Grand Canal (this costs 30-40 euros per person). Staff were really friendly and helpful, were happy to book tours and restaurants for us (even when the restaurant didn't answer the phone they kept trying through to the next day!). Room was clean and spacious, and they had a turn-down service which was a pleasant surprise too. The only issue was that our room faced a small alley and the noise carried up through the window (but with so many narrow streets this is probably the case in many other hotels). Breakfast was continental with some hot food, pretty good choice and well stocked. They also have a small outside courtyard area that you can eat in, but it's quite busy in the morning. We also ate and drank in the bar which was a little pricey, but the food and drink was good. All in all we really enjoyed staying at this hotel, and would definitely come back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Small Room, Great View!

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: The view! Also, it is situated in a residential area--not crowded with tourists.
Cons: Less furniture in the room.
The room was small and crowded with dark furniture, but it was immaculate. Our room overlooked the canal, which was gorgeous!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ayr Scotland

Location

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Pros: Quiet location away from crowds
Cons: Staff should be aware of difficulties in travelling back to airport via Orto
Location: Good canal side location near Jewish ghetto and easy walking distance to restaurants
Good location but do not attempt to go back to airport via Alilaguna waterbus from Orto as it is the last stop and you will be lucky to get on