Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice quiet hotel to stay in

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: It was far enough to be in a quiet location but close enough to be in the hub of it all.
Cons: Clearer directions of how to find it as it was not easy to find.
Location: Was a great place to stay, in a good location. There were plenty of good value restaurants close by with a nice cafe bar just over the bridge.
From Marco Polo airport we got the bus from stand 2 to Pizziale Roma bus station. To find the hotel from the bus station look around and you'll see Hotel Arlecchino in the corner of the bus park, walk towards there and you will come across a set of steps to get out of the bus park and onto the footpath. There's a double flight of stairs to walk straight over and that takes you on to Rio Del Magazen which you can see on the wall across from the canal. Walk straight down the footpath literally until you can't walk straight anymore. There's a bridge to your left and the footpath goes to the right and on the building on the right it says Fondamenta Del Gaffaro and Ponte Marcello. Turn right there, in front of you is building number 3593, walk towards that and then turn right. ``You will see in front of you the biscuit colour hotel on the left. There are no signs outside. The room was clean and in a quiet area. The breakfast was good too. The staff were courteous and friendly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 2, 2016
It is nice and small hotel in the island. Guests are quiet, no complaints
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quaint hotel close to train station

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Styled hotel very close to train station, which is well worth it considering there are no taxis or transport in Venice so you would need to walk with your bags. Approx 30 minute walk to main square but good for exploring. Plenty of restaurants nearby also. Staff were not as friendly as we are used to in Australia, but hotel was clean and breakfast fine. Rooms were surprisingly large which was great. Would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Suffolk UK

Quiet, clean, convenient and comfortable

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Lovely little hotel in quiet square but conveniently close to rain station, Plaza Dr Roma and vaporetto network. Simple basic breakfast, comfortable clean room - in short, everything we'd hoped for
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from canada

More like a mediocre b&b .

Posted May 3, 2016
This is certainly far from a "hotel" . A few rooms on a ground level - wth a tight reception / lobby/ breakfast area all in one . Staff are unfriendly and unhelpful . We were not even greeted upon arrival - barely lifted his head from his computer . Room was okay- Clean but pretty dated . Mini bar did not work and smelled of rotting fish - Management did not even bother to come Check on it or fix it during our 3 night stay , even though we notified them upon arrival . This property is listed as non smoking but owner stands right by entrance smoking non stop so the entire lobby area as well as rooms ( ours was adjacent to lobby) all smelled like stale smoke . Overall , it was not a pleasant experience and we would not recommend .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Quiet hotel with easy access to attractions.

Posted Oct 22, 2015
Pros: Quiet, overall a decent location, good value for your € or $, friendly staff.
Cons: Might be nice to start breakfast earlier than 8:30am in case people have early departures or early tours to get to.
Location: Lots. 5-10 minute walk from P.lz Roma and the train station. 30 min walk to San Marco. Nearby restaurants that are about a 0.5km to the North.
The small hotel, the Hotel Al Malcanton, is in a quiet neighborhood/area with easy access to many of the attractions and sights. All rooms are on the first floor, there is free wifi, and a moderate continental-style breakfast (from 8:30 to 10am) is included. Other guests were a mix of Italian and foreign tourists. My spouse and I stayed at the Hotel Al Malcanton during the third week in October 2015. It was very quiet and we had no problems. The owner/manager and his two assistants are friendly enough. There is not a street-facing reception and it is actually located in the hotel, so you may need to buzz them first at the outside door in order to get in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland OR

Comfortable hotel with good service

Posted Oct 10, 2015
Pros: Room, service, food
Location: A little hard to find, but in a good location - close to the train station, vaporetto stations, Grand Canal, good restaurants
The hotel was clean, in a good location, good food for breakfast and the staff was friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ipswich UK

Quiet hotel, convenient for bus station

Posted Oct 9, 2015
Pros: Quiet, convenient situation.
Cons: We needed to be given the full address, not just the number.
Location: Good restaurants nearby
Very pleasant, basic hotel. Good breakfast and helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Nice hotel close to the train and bus station

Posted Sep 27, 2015
Pros: Clean and cozy.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Plenty of affordably restaurants nearby and close enough to water transportation.
Pietro at the front desk was nice enough. The support staff were very nice. The room was spacious enough certainly for Venice standards. Not much to do at the hotel. Then again if you're spending too much time in the hotel, you're missing the point of being in Venice. I loved the neighborhood we were in especially for a first time visit to Venice. It was an easy ten minute walk from the train. You didn't need to take water transportation. The place was clean and efficient and my daughter and I were very pleased. I would certainly recommend this hotel for the price, especially for the first time visitor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great find in Venice

Posted Jul 24, 2015
Pros: Hotel staff were very helpful .
Cons: Breakfast was basic but enough .
Good location , in amongst the canals ,but not too far in so you have to drag cases!