Ratings based on 215 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Great hotel on the quiet side of Venice

Posted Apr 4, 2017
This hotel was excellent. I picked it out upmongst the hundreds of other pricey hotels. It was hard to decide but this one did not disappoint. It's only a 10-15 minute walk from the train station. It was also very close to row Venice which we loved as well. It was in a quiet location on a canal. Very clean and the complimentary breakfast was perfect. I would highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 25, 2017
I can't say enough good things about this hotel. First of all, it is beautifully old, and well maintained. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast had wonderful options. I will definitely stay here again when I am back in Venice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Beautiful room, great staff, fab location. Highly recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Atmospheric old hotel very near vaporetto stop

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: Friendliness of staff, excellent location near S.Stae vaporetto stop, character of building.
Cons: My bed was hard and uncomfortable.
Location: Very close to Grand Canal and vaporetto, could go all over Venice with ease.
Hotel was charming in an old building, very clean and we had a newly refurbished room decorated in Venetian style with an excellent bathroom. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, good breakfast. Only downside was the hard bed!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 27, 2017
The staff and location were great. They even gave us a breakfast to go when we had to leave the hotel earlier than the planned breakfast. Staff was super friendly. Hotel is a bit noisy but we were there during Carnival so that might have been part of the deal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 27, 2017
The hotel was very nicely located however the staff was not super helpful especially in food/restaurant recommendations. They directed us to a tourist only, super expensive restaurant where the food wasn't good. I was quite disappointed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2017 by walter, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for your nice comment We are really sorry to hear that the staff has not completely satisfied your expectations . About the restaurant experience. we want to let you know there is no connection with the restaurant we reccommend. Usually the recommendation comes from our experience and from the guest feedback so if we have a negative feedback we cancel their name from our list, we ask if is possible to know the restaurant name. Again thank you for bein our guest This is our email info@alpontemocenigo.com warm regards from Venice walter & Sandro
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel, near transport

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Beautifully decorated hotel with excellent location near water bus/taxi. Staff friendly. Breakfast was exceptional! Bed and pillows were a little stiff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location, staff and experience.

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: Location, breakfast
Cons: Tea, coffee in room.
Location: All of Venice was easily accessible on foot.
From the arrival which took 75 minutes from leaving the aircraft to walking the 30metres to the hotel front door to departing 3 days later the hotel met all of our expectations. The breakfast though not a massive choice ensured we didn't once need to have lunch during the day and the staff were all polite friendly and a credit to the hotel and Italy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire, UK

Quiet Hotel

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Pros: Quiet location, at least it was in January. We always felt as if the staff could not do enough for you, it's as if it's family owned and run.
Cons: For me, it was perfect.
Location: Very close (50 yards) to a water stop and close to Rialto bridge and markets, we were backwards and forwards over it every day
Hotel Al Montenigo was a lovely quiet little gem based to the north of Venice but bear in mind, Venice is the size of Central Park in New York, so very walkable. We arrived at the San Stae stop and you just walk forward 50yds and the entrance is on your left, NB. There are two entrances, this is the nearest. The rooms are classically decorated, which is what I wanted and very comfortable with an en suite bathroom. We also had a small table with two chairs which we made good use of. BREAKFAST is continental style with lots of small pastries in addition to the rolls and meats and cheese. The guests were from all over as well. We passed through the pretty courtyard but it was too cold to BREAKFAST out there although we were lucky to have bright blue skies in January. Very helpful and friendly staff from the receptionists to the ladies who looked after us at breakfast time, to the chambermaids. After walking or hopping on and off vaporettos, it was lovely to come back to our quiet haven. NB, restaurants are not open late in Venice (after 10pm for serving). I want to go back to Venice again and I'll stay at Al Ponte Montenigo. It was indeed a splendid hotel.
5 out of 5
by Scott

Excellent Hotel, Convenient, But Away From Crowds

Posted Dec 28, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent hotel. Great friendly staff, great service, great location-convenient to everything, but just far away enough from the crowds!