Ratings based on 339 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Hotel in Venice

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: bed mattress, bathroom cleanliness, buffet
Location: Lots of restaurants and shopping
Staff was very nice, answered and helped with directions, reservations etc. The Buffet was ok. Watching other guest handle food with bare fingers and licking their fingers was disturbing. The room was very old, which is fine except the bed was a rock, and low to the ground. Not sure other than the sheets seemed clean if the blanket and bedspread were. The bathroom smelled, and was so tight and warm. Again questioning how sanitary it was.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Nice Hotel on a small Canal & handy to train & Bus

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Located about 5 minutes walk from the train station and the bus hub and situated beside a nice quiet canal. The Hotel provide a great little breakfast each morning and had a lovely little garden courtyard. We found it to be a handy location with a few nice restaurants near by and a short stroll back to the Grand canal near station to catch vaporetto. The only downside for us was that the bed was very hard! There was a lovely little bridge right outside the Hotel too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Stroudsburg, PA

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: It's charm, beautifully decorated. Hotel staff were exceptionally pleasant and helpful with things to do, restaurants to try, good gelato and espresso
Cons: Room for luggage in the rooms and redesign the showers.
Location: Definitely a walking city. Visit Piazza San Marco, take a water taxi to Murano Glass Factory, a water taxi around the canals or a gondola ride.
A very nice hotel for a couple of days in Venice. Conveniently located for sightseeing. Close to the cruise ship terminal (if you are planning a cruise). Some of the rooms are a little small.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chelmsford, england

Close enough to to all but out of the way too

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Lovely hotel with a bar next door Gondola rides opposite Perfectly picturesque Be aware of the 'city tax' on check out... No one tells you but you will pay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: Rooms are a bit tired - but it is an old building after all.
Location: Great location, easy walk to bus and train. Plenty of bars, restaurants, shops within close proximity.
Hotel al Sole is in a great spot - really handy to bus and train but slightly off the main routes so not quite as busy as other spots. Plenty of bars, restaurants and shops in the immediate vicinity and like anywhere in Venice, everywhere is within reasonable walking distance. Valentina at reception is an absolute asset to this hotel, so helpful and friendly - if in doubt, ask her for any recommendations you need. All other staff very friendly and helpful also. Only one warning - if you're enjoying breakfast in the outside courtyard, dont leave any food unattended as the pigeons are straight into it! If theres 2+ of you, take turns going up to refill coffee, get more breakfast etc - you've been warned!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

Lovely hotel, near everything you need!

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Hotel staff were amazing and very hospitable. Bathroom was lovely and clean with the usual provided. Bed was very comfy with two pillows each. Air con worked well. View was good even though we didn't pay extra for garden or canal view. TV had a good range of channels. The only negative is that there were a lot of bug marks on the walls where other people had killed them. They just need a good wipe down.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Three star hotel that should be a two star!

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: The receptionist on the first night was apologetic and polite but couldn't address the problems.
Cons: Everything! This place needs a re-haul or needs to be downgraded to a two star at best.
From the beginning, we were given a dark, scary room in the back of the hallway. The wifi was not working, so I called the front desk and they said they could move us to another room and have someone check the wifi the next morning. We agreed and moved to the other room which faced the back of the hotel (we paid for a garden view). The wifi barely worked in the beginning but was extremely slow. The room was a bit brighter but still old and outdated. There was old blood stains on our sheets and on the dirty bed covers. The glass wall the to the shower had major cracks on it allowing water to escape onto the floor. Dead bugs and cobwebs in the corners of the room and bathroom. If we weren't in Venice for only a couple of days, I would have moved out but we put up with it. At the end, during the checkout, we were charged incorrectly for the room taxes. If I hadn't caught it, she wouldn't have fixed it. Overall, the worst hotel I've been at in Italy!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Malvern, England

Nice hotel in a quiet area!

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Lovely old style hotel in a quieter part of Venice. Handy for the train station and bus transfer to airport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very friendly, compact hotel in centre of Venice.

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff.
Cons: No bar, which was not conducive for socialising with other residents.
Location: Good location and well within walking distance of most attractions.
Overall experience was good. Well within walking distance of most attractions and public water transport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, Canafa

Great location, unique experience. Budget price.

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: It was not in a really busy touristy hub.
Cons: Room decor is a bit older, otherwise it was fine.
Location: Location was easy to walk to, nice restaurants and snacks near by. Shopping was better price than high tourist area. All amenities were available.
We had an amazing stay at Hotel Al Sole. It was realativily close to Piazza Roma, so not a lot of walking with luggage to get to it. It was clean, quiet, but not fancy. We had a bed to sleep in on a quiet street, amenities/restaurants close by, Breakfast was good, and staff friendly and helpful. English was spoken at this hotel. We would definitely stay here again.