Ratings based on 906 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Ideal location

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: Location, cleanliness, character, friendliness of the staff. Our room over looked a canal which was fantastic hearing gondolas being serenaded.
Location: Location is ideal. Gondola stops 2 mins away, Grand Canal 1 min away, St marks square 5 mins. Designer shops 3 mins walk away.
Hotel Ala is a lovely hotel. Fantastic location, 1 mins walk away from the grand canal, 5 mins walk from St Marks square. The hotel itself is clean, the rooms spotless and comfy. The staff are friendly and helpful. Couldn't recomend the hotel enough, would defiantly go back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Schönebeck

Klein und fein

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: schönes kleines Hotel in altem Palazzo. Frühstücksbüfett war sehr gut. Viel frisches Obst. Klimaanlage war hilfreich.
Cons: Der Service am Flugplatz ist nicht gut. Man muß sich schon auskennen und durchkämpfen. Obwohl noch im Bau wohl jetzt schon zu klein.
Location: Das Hotel befindet sich ca. 7 Minuten vom Marcusplatz entfernt. Alle Sehenswürdigkeiten sind fußläufig oder per Vaporetto schnell zu erreichen.
4 Tage in diesem Hotel unweit des Marcusplatzes (7 Minuten)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location and comfortable hotel

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Wifi could be stronger
Comfortable beds, good air con, fridge and kettle in room, great breakfast spread, lovely staff, convenient for all central areas of Venice
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Blacksburg, VA

Great Hotel in Venice

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Everything was absolutely perfect with this hotel! Highly recommend as a great option for a hotel in Venice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2016 by Stefano, reception, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for sharing your experience at our Hotel ALA!! Best regards
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jerusalem

Excellent location, excellent hotel.

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: Location, location, cleanness, the quality of the rooms and the breakfast food
Cons: The reception staff to be more friendly, not that they were not professional.
Location: Just a short walk to the Piazza san marco, Academia bridge and the gran canal
The hotel is very well located a short walk from the St. Marco Piazza. easy to approach with the vaporeto . It is a very clean facility, the rooms very cozy and the breakfast is very reach, nicely presented. I would say that this is a boutique hotel and highly recommend it. The bar is very special and even if you don't drink, I suggest to visit it. The reception people were very polite and politically correct, I expected a more friendly staff there like the hotel we stayed in Rome. I will always suggest this hotel for a nice stay in Venice at an affordable price on a beautiful and unusual facility.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2016 by Stefano, reception, Hotel Management
Buongiorno! Thank you for your nice review! It's very important for us! Best regards
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Charming hotel in a very convenient location. Easy access to sites and vaparetto. Breakfast buffet was very good. Staff were friendly and very helpful. Our only issue was the size of our room. We booked 2 twin beds. The room was so small that the beds were head to head on 1 wall with hardly enough room to pass each other. The room was very clean and the beds were quite comfortable. Bathroom was not too small at all. Just the room itself. I don't think this was a typical room so maybe just avoid room 240.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2016 by Stefano, reception, Hotel Management
Buongirono Carol! Thank you very much for your review, it's important for us to emprove our services! Best regards
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mississauga, Ontario

Très calme et bien situé

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Pros: Cet hôtel est bien situé. Il offre un bon petit déjeuner. Notre chambre était confortable.
Cons: De l'eau fraîche et fruitée est offerte à la réception. Il aurait été agréable qu'il y ait aussi du café.
Location: La Place St-Marc est à proximité, une vingtaine de minutes de marche par de jolies petites rues.
Arrivés après un vol de nuit, notre chambre était prête. Très facile d'accès à partir du quai Giglio, l'hôtel est situé sur une petite place, ce qui permet de sortir prendre l'air sans se faire bousculer. A ce sujet, quelques bancs auraient été agréable. Très bien situé, on peu se rendre rapidement à la Place St-Marc à pied ou en bateau. Petit déjeuner varié et à l'horaire prolongé ce qui est parfait pour les lève-tôt et tout autant pour les flâneurs! Notre chambre, la 275 avait une vue sur le canal et elle était très confortable avec son grand lit, sa table et deux chaises ainsi qu'un fauteuil une place. Attention à la marche pour les WC! Climatisation efficace après une journée de marche!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2016 by Stefano, reception, Hotel Management
Buongiorno Merci beaucuop pour partager votre experience ici dans notre Hotel Ala! Salutation!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from kent England

Very well located

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Lovely hotel close to the Square and other attractions water bus just 50mtr from Hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful breakfast was lovely and plenty of it .
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2016 by Stefano, reception, Hotel Management
Buongiorno! Thank you for the kind words and for sharing your experience here at our Hotel Ala! Best regards
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey, England

IDEAL LOCATION 4 ST MARKS SQUARE

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Pros: CLEAN, IDEAL LOCATION FOR TOURIST ATTRACTIONS
Cons: NOTHING REALLY, IT DID WHAT IS SAID ON THE TIN!!!
Location: St Marks Square literally 5 minute walk away. ticket for Doges Palace also includes Museum Correr.
STAFF WERE PLEASANT. BUFFET BREAKFAST HAD GOOD CHOICE INCLUDING SCRAMBLED EGGS, PANCAKES, FRESH FRUIT, CROISSANTS AND CAKES. ROOM WAS VERY CLEAN. SHOWER WAS GOOD. HAD ROOM SAFE, NO CHARGE WHICH WAS NICE. VIEW WAS NOT GOOD, OVERLOOKING CANAL, ROOM MADE DARK BY OTHER BUILDINGS BUT THIS IS HIGHLY LIKELY ANYWHERE IN VENICE AS SO TIGHTLY COMPACT. I THOUGHT IT WAS OVERCAST WHEN I WOKE UP FIRST DAY BUT WHEN I WENT OUTSIDE IT WAS BRILLIANT SUN SHINE!!!!!!!!! THERE WAS COLD WATER IN THE LOBBY WITH ORANGE OR LEMON SLICES WHICH WAS VERY WELCOME WHEN COMING BACK EACH DAY. HOTEL GAVE US 10% DISCOUNT FOR LOCAL RESTAURANT, FOOD WAS NICE BUT EXPENSIVE WITH 12.5% SERVICE CHARGE AND 6 EURO TABLE CHARGE WHICH WAS ANNOYING. LOADS OF LOCAL RESTAURANTS MUCH CHEAPER WITH LOVELY MEALS...DON'T GET CAUGHT OUT. OUR FLIGHT HAD BEEN DELAYED AND WE WERE EXHAUSTED SO WE JUST ATE THERE BUT IF I'D BEEN MORE AWAKE I WOULD HAVE LOOKED AT OTHER PLACES.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2016 by Jury , Hotel Management
Thank you for rating our hotel – we appreciate your feedback.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cambridgeshire

Hidden Gem

Posted Jul 2, 2016
Pros: everything, how quaint it was, the roof top terrace, huge bedroom overlooking a small canal.
Cons: Don't change anything
Location: Very close to water bus stop, only a 2 minute walk from the boat to the hotel. Easy access to main locations.
Great location, so close to everything you want to see. staff friendly, helpful throughout the hotel,.Breakfast excellent choice, fresh cakes, pastries, fruit and delicious cold meat and fish selection. Pancake machine a nice touch. Quaint dining room which made the experience even more memorable. Hotel arranged on behalf of my husband, flowers, champagne, fruit basket, rose petals on bed to make my 60th Birthday a most amazing stay in Venice. highly recommend you stay at this lovely hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2016 by Jury , Hotel Management
Thank you for rating our hotel – we appreciate your feedback.