Ratings based on 80 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Canada

Excellent Hotel

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Great staff (very helpful). Very close to the Grand Canal and San Marco Square.
2 out of 5
by John from Ireland

Posted Jul 24, 2016 on Hotels
No WiFi in the room was a big disadvantage and the upstairs area was closed and didn't open during the fireworks display during the best able (3rd weekend in July) which was very disappointing apparently no one had a key. Good location and value for money.
4 out of 5
by Not Provided from London

Good sleep.

Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Hotels
Had a lovely stay at the hotel. the bed was amazingly comfortable and the room got cleaned and new towels every day. We had a lovely view of the canal from the bedroom window. It is a little difficult to find so make sure you have a good map printed out to get there your first time. The staff are very friendly and helpful.Breakfast was a nice continental buffet, don't expect to pay extra for a English breakfast. Would happily recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Venice. Only negative is no tea/coffee facilities in the room but the lady on reception was happy to turn on the machines and make us hot drinks in the evening.
4 out of 5
by Julie from Manchester

Great location, nice hotel, good for the price

Posted Feb 7, 2016 on Hotels
We came to Venice for a long weekend during the carnival. The hotel is in a great spot, easy to find and very central. As other people have said, the room wasn't big, but was clean and vibrantly decorated. It was quiet at night and the curtains blocked out the light very well. Breakfast was a cold buffet, plenty of choice and more than enough to keep you going all morning, and you can watch gondolas going past as you eat. The facilities are basic - no tea and coffee in the room, and just a small seating area downstairs, but it's right in the centre of Venice - you would pay a fortune to get something big. We stayed in winter and it was warm and comfortable. We didn't bother trying the sun terrace in the mist and rain... The staff spoke a variety of languages including good English.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, need upgrade

Posted Dec 10, 2015
The hotel location is great, right next to the Rialto Bridge and a 10 min walk from Piazza San Marco. Coming from the train station, take the water taxi if you are 5-6 people if not take the vaporetto (water bus) as it is more cost effective. The breakfast is ok, and the staff is nice. The hotel does not have an elevator, the stairs are pretty steep, and the staff does not help you take your luggage upstairs. The hotel has 4 floors so take this into consideration. The hotel is clean however the rooms needs a major upgrade. They look like Napoleon's room and the beds are need to be replaced. The bathrooms are tiny as well. We usually left the hotel around 10 am and came back around 10 pm the 3 nights we were there so it did not bother us too much. But if your plan is to go to Venice do a little walking and relax thank it is not the hotel for you.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, UK

Great location

Posted Dec 1, 2015
Pros: Fabulous location. It was two minutes from Rialto Bridge and five minutes from St. Marks' Square.
Cons: The bathrooms
Location: There are many wonderful places to eat nearby and a fantastic Gelato place between the hotel and St. Marks Square.
This hotel has a wonderful staff, a decent breakfast and pretty comfortable beds. The rooms are a bit tight, but you'd be hard pressed to find a larger room at a decent hotel in Venice (it's just the European way, and it isn't bad). However, there was an extremely foul smell from our bathroom. The toilet wasn't clogged, but terrible sewage fumes were filling up our room with a disgusting odor. Sadly, the bathroom didn't have a window, and I am sensitive to smells, so we couldn't even let the night desk person spray anything to cover it up. We had a lovely stay, except for the smell. I'm sure that other Venetian hotels have similar problems and to an extent, we can forgive it, but it was pretty bad for a few days.
4 out of 5
by doug from Canada

Posted Sep 30, 2015 on Hotels
Great Location, frendly and helpful staff 24hours,great value for Venice, only down side was no elevator and we were on the 3rd floor,be warned if you have luggage you have to carry it up.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Uk

Great location.

Posted Jul 14, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Breakfast could include nicer baked goods and eggs.
Value for money. Location great for moving around the city.
3 out of 5
by Kipp from California, USA

Good for a Budget

Posted Apr 13, 2015 on Hotels
This place is in a great location, and it was easy to find. However, there is no elevator (our room was on the 3rd floor, and luckily we packed small bags) and Internet is only available in the lobby. The rooms are tiny, tiny little places and the beds are hard. But, if you are on a budget, the breakfast is good, the staff is friendly, and the location is very convenient to all the sights.
4 out of 5
by Alex from UK

Great location

Posted Mar 9, 2015 on Hotels
Very friendly and helpful staff, great location and excellent breakfast/dining area. Rooms a little small and lack of WIFI in the rooms a bit disappointing but overall a really good place to stay, particularly the location