Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Canada

Excellent Hotel

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Great staff (very helpful). Very close to the Grand Canal and San Marco Square.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, need upgrade

Posted Dec 10, 2015
The hotel location is great, right next to the Rialto Bridge and a 10 min walk from Piazza San Marco. Coming from the train station, take the water taxi if you are 5-6 people if not take the vaporetto (water bus) as it is more cost effective. The breakfast is ok, and the staff is nice. The hotel does not have an elevator, the stairs are pretty steep, and the staff does not help you take your luggage upstairs. The hotel has 4 floors so take this into consideration. The hotel is clean however the rooms needs a major upgrade. They look like Napoleon's room and the beds are need to be replaced. The bathrooms are tiny as well. We usually left the hotel around 10 am and came back around 10 pm the 3 nights we were there so it did not bother us too much. But if your plan is to go to Venice do a little walking and relax thank it is not the hotel for you.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, UK

Great location

Posted Dec 1, 2015
Pros: Fabulous location. It was two minutes from Rialto Bridge and five minutes from St. Marks' Square.
Cons: The bathrooms
Location: There are many wonderful places to eat nearby and a fantastic Gelato place between the hotel and St. Marks Square.
This hotel has a wonderful staff, a decent breakfast and pretty comfortable beds. The rooms are a bit tight, but you'd be hard pressed to find a larger room at a decent hotel in Venice (it's just the European way, and it isn't bad). However, there was an extremely foul smell from our bathroom. The toilet wasn't clogged, but terrible sewage fumes were filling up our room with a disgusting odor. Sadly, the bathroom didn't have a window, and I am sensitive to smells, so we couldn't even let the night desk person spray anything to cover it up. We had a lovely stay, except for the smell. I'm sure that other Venetian hotels have similar problems and to an extent, we can forgive it, but it was pretty bad for a few days.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Uk

Great location.

Posted Jul 14, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Breakfast could include nicer baked goods and eggs.
Value for money. Location great for moving around the city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location

Posted Oct 9, 2014
Great location half way between Rialto and St Marco
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nashville, TN

room small, but clean, good breakfast is good.

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: It is good for one night at vence, battle then some motel 6, or super 8 . in U S .
very good for one night travel, Close to S. make's square.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Perfect location for the St Marks area

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Having stayed here before we returned 2 weeks ago. A little gem, very friendly helpful staff. Situated right where you need to be two streets back from St Marks square and strolling distance from all the sights. Not suitable for those unable to carry heavy suitcases upstairs as the building is old so no lift. The rooms are really tiny but very adequate for a night or two, Very clean and air con. Don't open the windows as you get Mosquitos from the canal! Lovely continental breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by trevor an shars from N Ireland

Great hotel in centre of venice

Posted May 22, 2014
Stayed one nite only as a stop over before flight home. We love this little hotel an will be back later this year for a longer stay. The location was excellent an the price was great. Staff were the best an very accommodating in every respect.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester

great location but not clean

Posted Aug 22, 2006
My husband & I are quite easy going people - not overly fussy at all. We've stayed at many budget hotels through Expedia but for the first time we were unhappy with our choice. the location was fantastic - directly between Rialto & San Marco - but this was the only real positive. I can accept small. I can accept old, tatty decoration. I can accept no air conditioning & no view. Usually as long as there's a shower & somewhere comfortable to sleep, then that's ok. So the Alcyone would've just about been ok, but the one thing I can't accept is uncleanliness! there were squashed mosquitoes all over the walls & there is no excuse for not wiping them off. the floors were dirty & additionally, the room & hotel in general smelt of old cabbages. On the brighter side, we saw more sights than ever before because we were just so keen to get out of the hotel in the morning :-)
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Not Impressed

Posted Jul 24, 2006
My wife and I recently stayed in the Hotel Alcyone in Venice. All I can say is if this hotel thinks that it is a two star hotel, I would hate to see a one star hotel. Tiny rooms in a poor state of repair (the door knob was falling off, and there was a huge broken section of our door), a bathroom that is so small you can barely stand in it without tripping on something. The sheets did not even fit the bed in the room. I would NOT recommend this hotel, and would never stay there again.