Ratings based on 630 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jackson Hole, WYO.

Great location

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Pros: location, food, facilities
Location: Straegically close to the major museums
The Hotel American-Dinesen is a jewel. It is conveniently located between the Peggy Guggenheim Museum and the Gallerie Accademia (near the Accademia Bridge). The staff was inordinately helpful. The breakfast was superb. Our room was excellent. The restaurant recommendations were "right on". The water taxi service comes to the dock right outside the front door. The WIFI was dependable. We recommend Hotel American-Dinesen highly.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 20, 2016 on Hotels
Fantastic. The breakfast was also really good
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Location: Two minutes from Peggy Guggenheim and the Accademia. Lots of good restaurants nearby.
Perfect location away from the mass tourist area in quiet canal just off the Grand Canal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from devon england

Excellent hotel

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Location: Well located just to the south of Venice centre, with a Vaporetto stop 5 minutes walk away. St Marks square was a 15 minute stroll.
We had a lovely 1st floor room overlooking the canal - which ran just off the grand canal. Staff were excellent and helpful. Had a few minor problems with the bathroom plumbing but these were attended to promptly. Breakfast was varied and plentiful and we felt well looked after.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location.

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: staff at desk could be a little friendlier and helpful to visitors
Good location and good breakfast for the money. We had to stay in the annex room because that was all you had. It wasn't bad but I wouldn't ask to stay there again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quiet excellent place to stay

Posted Sep 28, 2016 on Hotels
Nice neighborhood with great little restaurant along the smaller less busy canal
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Ideal position close to Accademia Bridge, great

Posted Sep 21, 2016
This is a great position close to the Accademia bridge , between the Accademia and Peggy Guggenheim, convenient for vaporetto and an easy walk to the cruise port. It has its own water gate so very easy for airport transfer. Exceptionally helpful and welcoming staff. Nice room, very good breakfast. Will definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Good location, staff were friendly and we had a comfortable stay. Thank you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Very modern, nice hotel. Balcony view on the canal was a plus!
5 out of 5
by Jill from Philadelphia, PA

Perfection in Venice

Posted Aug 13, 2016 on Hotels
This is the perfect Venice hotel. It's located in the Dorsoduro near the Accademia and the Guggenheim. Most of the things you want to do are walkable, but it's also near many water bus stops. It's gorgeous. The service is impeccable. The breakfast is good. It's worth it to splurge for a canal view room--so lovely. Our 5-day stay was perfect.