Ratings based on 419 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No windows

Posted Jan 5, 2017
Pros: The location.
Cons: It would have been nice to have windows in our room. Normal height bathroom ceilings, and shower curtains.
Location: Close to the taxi stop.
I booked this hotel for our last night in Venice since our flight departed at 6:30am the next day and we wanted to be closer to the airport. The promotional pictures for this hotel are very deceiving. They show a quadruple room nicely decorated and with windows that allowed lots of natural light in. Well, we were put in an attic room that had no windows. The room only had very small skylights that barely let some light in, so the room was dark and we felt claustrophobic. We had to go up a fly of very narrow and steep stairs to get into the room. When we arrived we were helped by a bellman to bring the luggage into the room, but when we left we had to carry our luggage down those very narrow and steep stairs. We asked the receptionist if he could move us to a different room, but he said that there were no rooms available. We only had to sleep there one night, but we felt that we were being ripped off because we paid $312 a night for a room with no windows. The beamed bathroom ceiling was so low that we kept bumping our head against it, and we are average height people. The shower had no curtains so there was water running down the floor and on the toilet. We had to use towels to clean the mess. We asked the receptionist if he could book us a taxi to the airport, and he was charging us 60 euros. We decided to walk to the taxi stop across the street from the hotel and paid only 40 euros for the taxi ride.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2017 by Serena, Hotel Management
Dear Guests, We are very sorry for not having fulfilled your expectations. Unfortunately, the quad rooms are very few and the one you have had has the peculiarity of big size ( two double connecting rooms ), compared with the standard quad. We supposed it was more comfortable for you and your party, to have this specific room instead of a classic quad. Please accept our deep apologies for providing you a room that you did not like at all and for not beeing able to offer you a different option. Thank you for your kind feedback, it has been very apreciated and possibly implemented. The Hotel Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Bathroom is small as well as the room. But location was perfect! Breakfast was great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quintet and comfortable

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Location: Close to the train and bus. A bit far from San Marco square.
The rooms are adequate for 4 people and the bathroom are upgraded. Clean and comfortable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Joseph K Review for Oct 16 Trip

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Pros: Great location, esp if one is taking a cruise from Venice; close, easy, quick access to the cruise ships. Also, a bus station, water taxi tickets/stop, and the train station are nearby. Staff, esp desk staff, are great.
Cons: Rooms were a little small, but not a problem. I can't mark them down on anything else.
Location: See above.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Make sure you're not staying in "The Annex".

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Pros: The hotel is in a very convenient location. You can quickly walk to the bus, train and it's only a 20ish minute walk to St. Mark's. The staff was friendly and willing to help with the exception of one individual that responded to a few of our questions with grunts and head nods.
Cons: We arrived at the Hotel Arlecchino and they told us "You have a room at our sister hotel, Hotel Olympia" which is just a few buildings down on the same street. No big deal, so we head down to Hotel Olympia. At Hotel Olympia, they proceed to tell us that our room is actually in their "Annex" building. After navigating a bunch of stairs, hallways and shady back staircases (that smelled like dead fish), we finally found made it to our room. The room itself was nice enough with the exception of a few things. First, the room had a bunch of mosquitos flying around in there when we first came in. Not a big deal but kind of gross. Also, the room was hot, and I mean HOT. It was in the low 60's outside while our room had to be in the 90's. There was no AC (I didn't think we'd need AC in the middle of October) so we had to open the windows. That's were the fun begins. After opening the windows, even MORE mosquitoes came in the room. We tried to kill as many as we could but it was a futile battle. So then we had to make the decision, sweat to death or get carried away by mosquitoes. So we sweated it out. The next morning my wife and I woke up completely peppered with mosquito bites. Not the ideal start to our vacation. Thankfully, we only had to spend two nights in this hotel. If it was any more we would have moved to another hotel or demanded another room.
Location: The location is very good. It's close to transit, decent restaurants and we found it to be fairly quiet.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quaint but cramped

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Pros: The staff
Cons: Rooms to cramped and not enough drawer space
Location: Excellent location and loads to do
Nice hotel, excellent staff but rooms were very small and fussy with too much furniture and not enough drawer space. No tea making facilities. The breakfasts were very good and good value for money but the room was very cramped and uncomfortable. My friend had stayed there before so she obviously liked it, but I prefer a more modern spacious room. However the staff were brilliant and extremely friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel in old part of Venice.

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Was near all kinds of transportation . Attractive furnishings and wonderful workers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Convenient, nice Italian style hotel

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Location: Hotel has great location, close to Piazzale Roma and all transportation, including cruise terminal by People Mover. Only 2 bridges to cross.
We had an early morning arrival after cruise ship docked, and hotel did it's best to accommodate us, arranging 2 rooms for us before 9AM. Staff was happy, efficient and very friendly and welcoming. Room was clean with nice view of canal. Bed comfortable. Bathroom small but ok except no shower curtain. Expected noise from canal but it was surprisingly quiet with shutters closed. Good breakfast with nice selection. Many restaurants on canal close by within short walking distance. Easy to walk all over Venice from here, about 20 minutes to San Marco. Liked the Italian feel of hotel. Small elevator if you don't want to climb the stairs. Overall, great place to stay for convenience at reasonable price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ohio

Older nice hotel

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Very clean and staff very helpful. Breakfast was wonderful with good variety to choose from. Only complaint was shower had no door or curtain so everything gets wet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto, canada

convenience location

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Pros: convenience location
Cons: to intall shower curtain not to put too many cool cut at a time for fresh notify of rooms that need to walk up stairs but cheaper tax.
Location: tour and shopping are at a reasonable convenience distance.
rooms are clean and all staff are very helpful. there is a safe available in all rooms. 3 bottles of complimentary drinking water (500ml) in each room daily very close to bus station and boat pier. convenience location for tourist- bus to airport 20 minutes, cruise ship pier 10 minutes, grand canal pier 3 mintues. drawback is shower curtain that wet the whole bathroom. some rooms is rather narrow some rooms are not reached by lift that need to walk up stairs of 2 levels but the tax are 2 dollar cheaper. breakfast food during peak season may be fresher due to turnover is quicker