Ratings based on 99 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Benice from Brisbane Australia

Location, Location, Location

Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Hotels
We only had 2 nights it was late evening when we tried to find it. Had to ask a few locals where it was as we didn't have a map. Once we knew where it was it was easy the next day. Close to all the canals etc... and cafes
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canton, MI

Nice location, but a bit noisy at times.

Posted Jun 1, 2016
Pros: Excellent location
Cons: Although a map was provided, it was still fairly challenging to find the hotel because of the various turns in narrow side streets.
Location: Ponte di Rialto is about a minute away. Piazza San Marco is within easy walking distance. Lots of shops and restaurants nearby the hotel.
Although this hotel is centrally located, it is a bit tricky to find. Getting to the area via Rialto Vaporatti was easy, but the hotel is not off of a main road. It takes a few turns in narrow backstreets to locate it. The hotel did provide a map after booking that certainly helped, but even then it was not trivial. Check-in went relatively smoothly. The hotel room itself is comfortable, but unfortunately we could hear a lot of chatter from the restaurants at the street level until a bit late in the evening. Similarly, in the morning we were awoken to the sounds of dishes clinking as the breakfast area was just one level down the stairs. Aside from the noise issues, we found the hotel amenities basic but acceptable. The room was well maintained and the safe was helpful to use for our passports and small laptop while we were out. Breakfast was adequate. On the day of our check-out, the hotel kept our bags as we went to a few museums before leaving Venice. They store them in a separate area not accessible to guests (i.e. it wasn't in the lobby like some other hotels we stayed at). Overall, we were satisfied with our stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff, but horrible room

Posted May 25, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel had great service. The front desk staff was friendly and nice and helped us with our luggage as the hotel doesn't have a lift. For a two star hotel, it was significantly overpriced. Most expensive for the worst quality of facilities, travelling through Europe at the moment. The shower was tiny. Kept bumping into the door and wall and shower head and I'm a small person already. The walls are thin, can hear your neighbours, people walking up and down the stairs and their tv clearly. Room was very basic, falling apart with cracks on the floor, walls. Ants were crawling in places.
3 out of 5
by GERAINT from Swansea

Basic hotel (and that s all you need) in Venice

Posted May 17, 2016 on Hotels
Central and reasonably priced hotel very near to Rialto Bridge. Initially a little confusing to find after disembarking from waterbus(hotel was down a narrow alleyway)we soon got our bearings. Staff were friendly and informative and room was basic but large and very clean though dark. Breakfast room on first floor a little small and breakfast adequate.
5 out of 5
by Vanne-Maree from Australia

Value for money

Posted Jan 6, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed 2 nights this time. This is the 4th time that we have stayed at Hotel Bartholomeo, we always stay here - it is such great value and the staff are fabulously helpful, and it is close to everything.Highly recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancashire

Central location

Posted Jan 5, 2016
Pros: The location and the staff
Cons: Nothing - it's fine as it is given that a lift would not be possible in the building.
Location: The hotel is within easy walking distance of many of the sights. The Rialto Bridge has lots of little craft and souvenir shops.
The hotel was close to the vaporetto pier at Rialto and it was reasonably easy to find following the map on the website. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The room was basic but spotlessly clean, especially the bathroom. Breakfast was plentiful with a reasonable choice. The only downside was that the room was on the 4th floor and there was no lift. Although I am in my 60s, this was not a major problem for me or my husband. If it might be an issue for you, you should request a room on a lower floor when booking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Devon UK

Good B&B in a great location,

Posted Nov 15, 2015
Pros: The location is good as it's close to the Rialto Bridge and there easy for the airport boats and easy access to San Marco and all areas of Venice.
Cons: Probably very difficult to do, or impossible, but a bigger breakfast room would be good.
Location: Very close to everything in Venice!
The hotel send us a map by email which was very useful and enabled us to find it quite easily. Good room with good en suite bathroom and good breakfast too.
4 out of 5
by Tang

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 29, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 16, 2015 on Hotels
Good value in the heart of the Rialto area. Noisy but to be expected. Good breakfast. Excellent front desk staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect Location

Posted Sep 5, 2015
Happy with our stay. Very friendly staff and the hotel couldn't have been in a more convenient location. A couple of minutes from Rialto Bridge and Vaporetto stop. Only minuses air conditioning not very effective and no lift so a long haul up 4 flights of stairs to our room. Would definitely stay again though as overall a good choice.