Ratings based on 911 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wilmington, NC

Pleasing Grand Canal property with cafe and deck

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: The staff and location (near the train station) are at the top of the list. The staff was very friendly to us. Very nice furnishings.
Cons: I can't think of any improvements as the property is stylish and balanced for its purpose and location.
Location: Very close to the train station (and they have a porter service for 5 euros a bag), close to a nice restaurant, two pizzerias and a vaporetto stop.
The staff was very helpful and pleasant. No complaints at all with them. Our room was 170 square feet. That is NOT a lot of room. Very little space in the bathroom. The shower was a decent size but remember to bring your own face flannels (wash cloths) as these are considered a personal item in many areas of the EU. It was described as "small but romantic" by the front desk clerk. That was stretching things a bit. Small, yes - romantic, maybe for folks in their 20's or 30's. We're in our mid-60's. The bed was too soft for me but the furnishings were very new and typical of a the grand hotel style. The room had a safe. The room layouts are unusual. We entered our room through an external door off of a small square, like a motel, but there were three floors of rooms. There are other rooms accessible from the lobby proper. The morning breakfast was continental but a very high quality continental, with glass and china not plastic and Styrofoam. The bar was well stocked and there are three tables on a deck right on the grand canal. The pigeons were a bit of a nuisance on the deck as they hop onto your table looking for food. However, the hotel provided a broom to discourage them. There is no place like Venice so the properties are unique. There are more opulent hotels in Venice but this one is a safe bet for a few days'stay. It was annoying that they did not serve lunch or breakfast but there are many fine restaurants at all service levels within easy walking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cornwall

Lovely hotel and staff lovely too

Posted Apr 28, 2017
We have had an excellent time in Venice and it was even more special thanks to the hotel being great and staff being excellent. Can highly recommend a stay in this lovely hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Great stay with amazing staff!!

Posted Apr 17, 2017
This hotel was in an excellent location with amazing views of the canal. The breakfast was excellent with a great selection available and the staff were so helpful! Would definitely stay at this hotel again if we are ever in Venice!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the train station

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: Great staff - helpful with directions and travel tips
Cons: Better eggs at breakfast
Nice hotel close to the train station and buses. Not easy to access with heavy bags though as it requires crossing 2 bridges
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Spring Get away

Posted Apr 13, 2017
After a short flight from the UK. We decided to use the water taxi to transfer to the hotel. This I thought was a little expensive but a very pleasant experience. It dropped us directly at the hotel landing platform. The alternative was a bus to the bus terminal in Venice then drag your bags through the busy cobble streets to find your hotel. The Hotel Canal Grande is very well positioned for bus transfers only 5-10 min walk if you know where you are going. The hotel staff are very welcoming and are happy to give advice on local places to eat and visit. The room are a good size for Venice with there limited space, they were clean and very well maintained. The breakfast is very good with a very wide selection of cereals, fruit and cooked eggs and sausages as well as cold meats and cheeses, also cakes if you still have room. I would definitely stay again should we return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from b. california

nice hotel, good location. Not too crowded.

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Ramon at desk super helpful. Made great recommendations. Shower needs help. Good pressure, but very awkward no place to hook handheld device. Shower from ceiling only puts out cold water. They need a hook to hold device, water goes everywhere.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2017 by Alessandro, Hotel Management
Dear Mimi, thank you for your review, it is nice to know that you had a nice stay with us! As we do not know your real name could you please tell us in which room you have been?? We would like to check the hot water in the shower because it is not normal to have cold water. Please help us and tell us your room number. Thank you, best regards, Alessandro Fornasier Manager Hotel CAnal Grande manager@hotelcanalgrande.it
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cedar Hill, Texas USA

Lovely Gem-Quiet area off Grand Canal

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Pros: Since we have been to Venice before, we liked the quieter area of this hotel. The staff was very accommodating as well. Bathroom was excellent.
Cons: Mattresses and pillows.
Location: Although not close to San Marco etc. It is reasonable to travel by water bus ( with 24 hour pass) or water taxi to all the sites.
This is a great hotel, if you want to be in a quieter area off of the Grand Canal in Venice. If you want to be near San Marco Square this would not be the hotel to choose. We like being away from the noise and crowds. You can take a water bus and get a 24 hour pass or more depending on your stay and visit all the main attractions. The staff could not be more accommodating from checking in, to restaurant suggestions, tours etc. We upgraded to a junior suite as we were on the last leg of our holiday and wanted to have some quiet time and a larger room. It was worth the upgrade. The hotel offers breakfast with the B & B package. Lovely Italian pastries, fruit, juices, eggs, etc. are delicious as well as coffee made to order, if you do not wish to have American coffee. The view from the front of hotel offers a great view of the canal. Nice place to sit and have a cocktail before the sun sets.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful stay

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Lovely hotel, lovely staff, lovely rooms, lovely stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, accommodating staff.

Posted Apr 6, 2017
We were in the Canaletta room which us actual a lovely suite overlooking the canal. Across the canal about a 5min walk is the train station. Lastly the entire staff was pleasant & accommodating. No request was too much, they seemed delighted to assist all their guests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Be Honest with your customers

Posted Apr 2, 2017
They tried to give us a room that had two high up windows in a building a few doors down from the main hotel. We paid for an upgraded room instead. This hotel was very expensive. The staff was excellent!