Ratings based on 891 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Coventry

A lovely hotel and excellent staff

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: Excellent staff, lovely rooms, fantastic breakfast and great, peaceful location.
Cons: Nothing needs improving
Location: Close to the station, right on the Grand Canal, some nice eateries nearby, a good base to explore the city
This boutique hotel is located in an 'off the beaten track' location right on the Grand Canal and within 5 minutes walk of the railway station. I personally would always choose the Santa Croce district to stay as it peaceful and relaxing, far from the tourist madness that is St Marks Square. Also close to some excellent restaurants and eateries. We arrived by shared taxi and were welcomed at the hotel's own dock with assistance provided with our luggage. Check in was easy and the maitre'd was very helpful. The room was tastefully decorated - late 18th Century Rocco style but with all the mod cons necessary to make the stay comfortable. The included breakfast buffet was incredible - an excellent selection of fruits, cereals, cold meats & cheeses, loads of delicious home-made cakes and, unusually, a small selection of bacon, sausage and scrambled eggs, all washed down with bottomless cups of cappuccino or latte (or tea). The staff were always very friendly and helpful, providing ideas on what to do and where to go. They can also arrange trips or make restaurant reservations if needed. As we were celebrating a milestone birthday, the staff saw the birthday cards in our room and placed a lovely chocolate cake in our room on our return that day. Very thoughtful. Location-wise, the hotel is a 30 minute walk from the tourist centre but when wandering through beautiful little lanes and crossing a multitude of canals, the walk is part of the attraction.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Perfecto

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Absolutely lovely hotel, excellent location. All the staff so helpful and welcoming especially Chiara on reception. Can't wait to pay a return visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chelmsford, Essex

Our favourite hotel in the World

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: Everything but especially the staff and the beautiful rooms
Cons: Maybe some English speaking television channels.. but this is not a big deal as you're so tired after exploring the city you're fast asleep in minutes
Location: Perfect for transport - trains, buses etc everything is within walking distance in Venice when you have the time.
We have just arrived back home after spending a romantic weekend at our 2nd home!! This is how the staff make us feel.... they always make us feel so special. We have been lucky enough to have stayed here 4 times now and when our 10th Weddnig Anniversary was on the horizon there was only one place in the World we wanted to go to celebrate this special occasion. We have stayed to 4 different rooms all of which have been beautiful. The staff are amazing and could not do enough for everyone. The breakfast is the perfect way to start the day with a wide range to meet every taste. It's in the perfect location also near the transport links into Venice...... and everything is within walking distance in Venice. This will definitely not be our last stay and we're already looking forward to staying again. Grazie Mille Hotel Canal Grande for making our Anniversary so special!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect in every way

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, excellent breakfast, complimentary drinks, and they noticed we had a birthday and delivered a wonderful chocolate cake to our room.
Location: If you can get a canal view it is well worth it. Hotel has a small garden and a small terrace overlooking the canal.Great for a pre-dinner drink
Wonderful small hotel overlooking the Grand Canal and a small square,away from the noise but close to restaurants and transport. Easy walk from the bus station. Staff helpful without being pushy.Stunning rooms ( Canaletto ) with an attached lounge to enjoy the view. We would happily return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Southport, England

Well situated for various places of interest

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Pros: We particularly liked the decor.
Cons: No idea.
Location: Everything was very convenient.
The staff were delightful, nothing was any trouble, and having taught Hotel Reception courses in England I am usually aware of any lack of attention to detail.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from norwich

Grande canal junior suite

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Great rooms decorated to very high standard would go back again. Best breakfast ever.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from rhode islander

Great location. Great staff

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Beautiful hotel with amazing staff. Fabulous breakfast. Near train station. Lots of great restaurants nearby. Highly recommend
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portsmouth, England

Unexpected private terrace

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Fantastic hotel on the grand canal with a first class buffet breakfast and friendly helpful staff. It was my husbands birthday and when we returned to our room after a lovely day out in St Marks square the manager had left a birthday cake and a card wishing him a happy birthday- nice touch. The room although a little smaller than expected was beautifully decorated and had a private terrace attached that had clear views of the canal. It was called the 'Canova' room on the top floor and as we had glorious weather even in February this was a welcome extra. In all probably the best hotel City hotel I have stayed in and would return back to the Hotel Canal Grande in a heart beat
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, Florida

NIce & Family hotel

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: We really enjoyed the friendliness of the hotel staff team
Cons: We wish to have more vacation time to spend it there. :)
Location: Canal Grande is located in a very great place, close toTrain & Bus Stations, also 10 minutes walking distance to Saint Marcos Plaza.
Hotel Canal Grande is a must to go in Venetia. The staff is very friendly and make you feel like family. We really enjoy our stay at Canal Grande!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Fantastic Hotel

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: On the main canal in Venice near Piazzale Roma and the train station and within walking distance to all the main attractions or by valparetto
All of the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was spotless and the room very well furnished and comfortable. It was my Birthday when we were there and the manager arranged for a cake and a card to be left in our room, nice touch, thanks