Ratings based on 769 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norfolk, UK

Well located, friendly & comfortable

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: Location, friendly staff, good sized clean room and bathroom, excellent breakfast, good view of canal, comfortable and relaxing atmosphere.
Cons: A bit if refurbishment possibly, but it would be a shame to loose that comfortable, relaxing and homely feel.
Location: Good for coach transfer, station, vaporetti stops, bridges, food and shopping.,
The hotel is ideally located along the Grand Canal, near the coach drop off and station, with a choice of two Vaporetti stops only minutes, plus two of the four bridges crossing the Grand Canal making getting to any area of Venice very easy. Not far to trundle the suitcase and hugely convenient for restaurants, bars and shopping. The hotel is a little shabby externally and internally, but this really didn't matter past the first impression. the staff were really friendly and helpful, breakfast was surprisingly good given that it was complementary, the room and bathroom were both good sized with a view of the Grand Canal and very clean and perfectly comfortable. Lovely glass chandeliers everywhere and material clad walls. We arrived really early and left really late and there was an expectation that we would leave our suitcases there and use the facilities as needed. all in all it was a relaxing stay,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami

Ok overall.

Posted Apr 4, 2017
No free wifi. Decent breakfast. Our room had canal view
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kharkiv, Ukraine

Excellent location

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: The best thing in this hotel - it's location!!!
Location: This hotel located just opposite the traine station Santa Lucia and Piazzale Roma (bus station and parkings). You can reach the hotel in 5 min.
The hotel staff was very helpfull, this is my second visit to this hotel. The breakfast is usual. the rooms are old but for 1-2 nights it's ok. You will not live in this hotel all your life. And compare the price if you need more... you need to pay MUCH MORE)))
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Olympia, Washington USA

A good hotel in the center of Venice

Posted Jan 16, 2017 on Orbitz
A really wonderful place to stay! The hotel is close to everything in Venice, and easy to get to from the Airport or train station. The staff were really friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was excellent! This not a fancy hotel, but I would recommend it to anyone wanting to stay at a good, central location in Venice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average hotel, good for a short stay

Posted Jan 7, 2017
Clean but very small room. Bath was only a half bath. Staff were friendly. Breakfast was good. Nice view from the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Great hotel for the price and close to the bus sto

Posted Dec 21, 2016
It was really nice that the hotel was very close to the bus only a few little bridges what steps we had to cross over thank goodness we didn't bring a lot of luggage and the proprietors were very nice they gave us a lot of information they were very kind the breakfast was excellent lots of food included the price was amazing I would totally recommend this place and although it was not The finest hotel it was so comfortable and really good for the price and the people were very nice they even printed out our tickets for the next day they were kind enough to make phone calls for us when we missed a tour they were really nice they do sell their maps for $.50 which I thought was kind of interesting but the map was pretty I liked it very much I would go again and stay there For sure highly recommend
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very convenient when arriving.

Posted Dec 20, 2016 on Hotels
This was our second trip to Venice. Part of the charm is the historic aspect of the city. So, the hotel was old and could have used some maintenance such as the awning and exterior paint job. From the outside, Hotel Canal looks really run down. The rooms were okay and was not as warm as we hoped since it was in the 30's F during our trip in December. No free wifi! That is something we come to expect traveling in hotels - so was quite disappointing to see a fee schedule for wifi. Staff was very friendly and even provided to go bags for breakfast since we left at 645am to catch our flight. That was unexpected and was great since we had two kids to feed! So, overall a nice place to stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

you get what you pay for ...dissapointing

Posted Dec 20, 2016 on Ebookers
Pros: - good location - safe
Cons: - refresh the hotel, i.e. paint walss/ceilings, replace grout and silicon around bath sinks, etc
Location: It's well located near the bus and train stops just at the Grand Canal. It's in a good location for the water transport or for the walking around.
We spend 5 night at this hotel and we are quite disappointed in overall with the hotel. The first impression was that the hotel stinks and is not looked after at all. I understand that Venice is build on islands, is surrounded with the water and there is lots of moisture, but with a bit of effort this hotel could be much better than it is. The simple and cheap things is just to paint some walls and ceiling, replace old silicon and grout around baths and sinks
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Well located hotel in Venice

Posted Dec 15, 2016 on Hotels
We were disappointed that we were not assigned the Grand Canal view quad room pictured and requested, but otherwise the hotel was well located and comfortable, as well as fairly priced. The room did have side window views of the Grand Canal and most of the staff were friendly and helpful. Since we arrived after an overnight flight, we were all quite jet-lagged and were not awake to really enjoy being in a hotel room anyway; then after a good night's sleep, we spent all our time out of the room exploring Venice. I would book to stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great value, location and staff!

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Staff, room
Cons: Hotel could use a makeover, elevator would be a big plus
Location: Super location for cruise travelers!
Was worried at the inexpensive price it would be sub standard and was pleasantly surprized! Got a quad room so was quite large overlooking a canal close to the Grand Canal. Other rooms we got were small, but sufficient. Only 2 small bridges to traverse from bus terminal and was close to cruise terminal. Paolo was super helpful, gave us great recommendations for a lovely restaurant with the best Tiramisu ever! Bathroom had a great big tub and was clean... Couldn't have had a more perfect experience for the price! Breakfast was great as well. Only drawback could be no elevator. Would definately stay again.