Ratings based on 62 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Davie, FL, USA

Charming and convenient

Posted May 29, 2013
Pros: Balcony, quiet dead end street, close to rail station
Very nice hotel, close to train and bus station, clean friendly staff. I would book them again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Good break

Posted May 29, 2013
Location: Excellent
Staff very helpful, room and bathroom a good size. Room a tad cold at times but extra blankets are provided. Breakfast good but limited, and got a bit boring by day three.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Shanaka from Singapore

Hotel Caprera & Venice

Posted Apr 3, 2013
Pros: 5 mins walk from train station (Santa Lucia) and Grand Canal. There are many shops and restaurants nearby.
Cons: No elevator. The breakfast was not that good.
Location: A romantic city. Must go to Murano to see the workmanship.
The hotel was close (5mins walk) to train station (Santa Lucia) and Grand Canal. It is very easy to find several good restaurants and shops to buy souvenirs near the hotel. Mostly, the room was clean and comfortable for a budget hotel. And the staff was friendly. The breakfast was not that good. Finally, we must say that Venice is a romantic city. There are many things to see in this city. Anyone who goes to Venice should see Murano (awesome art pieces), Grand Canal and San Marco square.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by Gene from Santa Barbara, California, USA

Well worth the stay.

Posted Dec 4, 2012
Pros: More of a true experience of Venice than I would have gotten in other parts of the city.
Location: Great location near everything that you could want in visiting Venice.
This was my first trip to Venice and after having read about the high prices of the town I was unsure of what I might find in the hotel I chose since it was one of the least expensive. But I was very happy with it and would recommend it to others if you are staying in Venice. It is about a 6 minute walk to the train station which is a big plus if you are traveling onto other destinations or taking side trips from Venice. It is also close to one of the main water transportation hubs making getting around Venice very easy. The staff was very friendly and helpful and went out of its way to make my stay a pleasant one. The neighborhood in which the hotel is located isn't as overrun with tourists like some of the other parts of Venice making it seem more like a part of Italy than an amusement park. The old Jewish Ghetto is nearby and the restaurants and delis in this area are quite good. Should I return to Venice, I would stay again at this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by DK from Chicago, IL, USA

Great location close to train station

Posted Nov 12, 2012
The room was somewhat plain. However the location was excellent.The staff was very friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Like the reviews have said....look for the @ sign.

Posted Sep 11, 2012
Easy walk to and from the train station, clean room, quiet because it's off the main street, very helpful with recommendations. Would stay here with my family again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice little place

Posted May 21, 2012
I would definately return. All around very decent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Great location and good value

Posted Oct 12, 2011
The staff were very helpful although the hotel was small and quite old it was very clean and the staff did a great job with the resources they had. It was good value for Venice
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Carolyn from Leverett, MA

Excellent budget hotel in Venice

Posted Sep 13, 2011
In expensive Venice, especially during the Film Festival, the Caprera is an inexpensive, clean, convenient choice. Although there's no lift, the staff are helpful. An important perk is free internet access at the internet point next door to the hotel entrance. Look for the @ sign to know where to turn. Close to the train station, but quiet, since the hotel is in a calle. The Guglio vaporetto stop is about the same distance and the Ferrovia (train station) stop, but much less crowded.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Athens, Ga

Great Hotel

Posted Mar 13, 2011
excellent location within walking distance from train station, not too far to pull our rolling luggage. was very quiet location for sleeping. very helpful staff and the breakfast was more than adequate. convenient to water taxi service for tour of the grand canal and trip to St Marks