Ratings based on 112 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from H

Got robbed

Posted Apr 25, 2017
I stayed there for two nights. After about 1 hour of searching (the darn place is extremely hard to find), we arrived about 11am, naturally before check in time. A young guy and a girl were laughing out loud and fooling around in the front desk area. We asked if we could leave our bags until check out, we asked if they were going to give us a receipt for our luggage but they said "naaaaa don't worry", I insisted and told me that we were leaving 2 suitcases and a backpack, but they just waved me off. We returned later that night and one of our bags was missing, there was no one at the front desk and we had to walk to the palazzo Priuli to ask for help. The gentleman there was concerned but couldn't find our missing bag. Next day I was very upset and demanded that they solve our problem, they said they couldn't do anything and that someone had probably stolen my bag, I was told to fill out a form detailing the contents of my bag, which I did, but they said they couldn't do anything because it was a holly day weekend (Easter) and they had to call the security and insurance company. I thought they would compensate me immediately and deal with the insurance later, but the manager didn't even bother to speak with us in person. That was the last I heard of them, and somehow I'm not surprised.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 20, 2016 on Hotels
For starters finding it was impossible! We arrived finally, the front desk guy came and helped us find the hotel since it was already midnight. There were two hotels one I was told was four stars, we were in the other. No elevator access. But were told we could use the "lift" when checking out due to our luggage. Breakfast was in our hotel, but not for us. It smelled wonderful but we were sent to the four star for a continental style breakfast. We felt like we were eating in the servants quarters. Upon check out, we used the "lift" but it didn't have access to the lobby only the basement, my husband was stuck in the basement. No attendant to be found for help. So we had to go back upstairs to the 4th floor and carry our luggage down. We were to catch am early morning train but needed to check out. There was no attendant to check out for about 30 minutes. The room was clean. Bed was ok. But service not so much...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norfolk ,UK

Very nice hotel in an wonderful location

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Pros: We like the atmosphere of vintage well kept furniture ,the paintings and the location.
Cons: Venice is an unique place and the hotels are different than any other part of the world so we think that this hotel is wonderful the way it is.
Location: We were very close to San Marco ,museums, very nice cafe shops and vaporetto stop so there are unlimited options all very handy.
The hotel was lovely,clean and very close to all major tourist attraction. The staff was friendly ,professional and efficient. We liked especially the lady who was in charge with the breakfast ,Wede (I hope I did not misspelled her name).She was smiling all the time,kind and professional.Also we like very much the porter who was very helpful and polite. Overall we had a lovely holiday and we definitely recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean and good location

Posted Oct 1, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent location. The hotel is only a few minutes from st. Mark's Square. The room was clean and relatively comfortable. We were given a nice room at the roof level which we loved. Breakfast was ok, and the staff very friendly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great

Posted Sep 23, 2016 on Hotels
A nice old building in the middle of action. Recommended. if you fly out, make sure you do not make the early morning flight. Since there is no cars, it takes 90 min to get there by boat. Have fun
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 22, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel and room were difficult to find, furnishings old. Breakfast was adequate
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect.

Posted Sep 20, 2016 on Hotels
Great stay, great service, no complaints.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Good hotel with Central location

Posted Sep 17, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: The location. The lift for luggage. Pleasant staff. Nice view of the canal.
Cons: Better pillows.
Location: Good location withing walking distance of attractions. Restaurants and bars very close by.
The hotel is located in quiet area but within easy walking distance of attractions such as St Marks and water bus stops. Our room had a nice view over the adjacent canal. The staff were pleasant and helpful. The Continental style breakfast was quite good with plenty of options including hard boiled eggs, meats, cheese and pastries. The bed was large and comfortable but, as often happens, the pillows were terrible, far too hard. Our room, was on the third floor and although the hotel has a lift, it was too slow for general use and best used for bringing luggage up and down which is a blessing! The free wifi was OK but weak at times.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Sep 16, 2016 on Hotels
Great Location
3 out of 5
by Linda from San Jose

This hotel has potential if it was cleaner.

Posted Aug 4, 2016 on Hotels
We arrived at 2am. A water taxi for 5 people with luggage was $90 euros from the last car garage in Venice. The hotel door was locked. I tried calling them but they didn't pick up. Nervous & tired didn't know what to do. We noticed a light at the corner hotel. I guesstill that's a partnering hotel. The 2 rooms were attacjed with a center room. As we entered this first area it smelled like a sewer. The rooms for 3 people each had blankets that were so old & dirty looking we were grossed out. The bathrooms were really nice and spacious that's the one thing we liked. The beds were horrible and the old blankets that as you pulled up dust came out of made it not an enjoyable stay. The TV didn't work. There were these flying bugs arou d the rooms. Atleast we thanked God that we could close the doors to the middle room and that stopped the sewer smell. The room was dusty especially under the beds and corners. The fridge was dirty. The only thing made it worth the stay was location and the nice people at resturante across from our room. At night we took stools out next to canal and listened to some live street musicians that played at the resturante acroos. The hotel is conveniently located next to shops, restaurantso, laundry matt and San MARCO square.