Ratings based on 1,224 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to St Marks

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: Location
Excellent location for the centre. Rooms were a little spartan but clean and roomy enough. Would be good to have a BBC channel on the TV. Breakfast was a little hectic as the room was too small for the number of guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Brilliant location

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Ironing facilities
Location: Gondola ride just outside. Right next to Piaza San Marco. Make sure you try the pasta to go in the lanes. Dining in the piaza is expensive so eat outs
This hotel is in a fantastic location close to everything. The room we were in was very small and there were three of us. Bring a travel iron if you are fussy about your clothes looking ironed as they do not have one. In fact I would recommend that for all of Italy. The decor at this hotel is very old but the location of it beats all of that. It is opposite the Hard Rock Cafe. The staff were friendly. The breakfast was ok but nothing like you would get at home. All in all just enjoy the adventure and remember location location location.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from TBilisi,Georgia

not bad!

Posted May 4, 2017
We had a problem with a room. It was not clean and also to small. They gave us better room,much bigger,but with no view in the "new" building. The staff was very helpful. The Hotel generally is very old. Nothing is renovated. It's enough clean, not really noisy. The staff is ok. It's ok for a short stay?location is amazing. Right nex to Piazza san Marco. Really close to everything.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible room condition

Posted Apr 27, 2017
not sure whether all hotels in venice are in similar condition or not, it is pretty shabby old room and I couldn't go to sleep the whole night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ft Worth

Old and tired

Posted Apr 26, 2017
While the location is excellent, the room is old and tired. It's small, but I expected that. What I didn't expect was the shower enclosure to be so very tiny and there to be carpeting on the wall. It waz also really noisy (room on 2nd floor). The bed was comfortable, but the comforter had seen better days.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Great location!

Posted Apr 23, 2017
This hotel was in a great location ! The staff were helpful and accommodating. We received excellent restaurant suggestions, arrangement of private water taxi, etc. The hotel really needs to be updated in the interior rooms--very outdated. Excellent breakfast!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to St marcs square and central

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: Location and Staff
Cons: Beds Old carpet should be cleaned or replaced. Pictures of rooms are not really representative
The staff are friendly and helpful. Booked superior double room. Arrived very late but the room was not as expected and was dank with an old carpet. Complained and was moved next day to a better room with a wooden floor- no dankness. No double bed Even if you have booked and have confirmed a superior double room you will not get a double bed, just two single mattresses pressed together and you will sink in between. Uncomfortable and lumpy. The canal view is not worth paying the extra for, very limited view. Breakfast- No fresh coffee just a machine, free buffet just ok, have had better free buffets.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming hotel great location.

Posted Apr 18, 2017
We loved the location of this hotel, walking distance to St. Mark's Square. Friendly and helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent central location

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Hotel location was great, staff were polite and friendly.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Excellent location 60's hotel.

Posted Apr 1, 2017
The location is the best. Behind San marcos square. Only 3 minute walk from the water taxi pier.. The staff is friendly, polite, helpfull, respectfull. Like last century noble houses's staff. Excellent. Unfortunately, that's how old the rooms are as well. I had to get out of the bathroom to be able to towel dry. Kissed the sink to sit on the toilet. My bed commanded that I stood up in military attention in front of its end, arms tagged in, and fall backwards. And not move unless I wanted to fall off. I could hear the next room guy flashing the toilet and...... leave it.! Had to move the desk to open the refrigerator!!!! Whoever gave this hotel the extra 3 stars of what it is was drunk on Aperol spritser, the best drink in Venice. The 4 stars are an evasive grotesque label regarding the condition and spaciousness of the rooms. What a shame.