Ratings based on 684 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Reading, UK

Wonderful location

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: Lovely outlook from hotel and standard of decor was good. Excellent boat taxi facility on the hour to and fro.
Cons: Food in the evening very disappointing
Location: Lovely sandy beach. Access to Venice superb, so much to see and do.
Our only complaint was the food. Adequate buffet in the evening, if that was your preference. I would have expected the hot food to be better, and unfortunately no hot plates available for the hot food, by the time you returned to your table, your food was almost cold. The 'a la carte' menu was very disappointing also for a hotel of this calibrate (5 star).
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awesome hotel just minutes from Venice!

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: I loved the fact that their was a breakfast and dinner buffet and it was pretty good. Plus the hotel provides a free shuttle boat to and from Venice!
Cons: I would only add more food options to all of the menus for people who don't eat beef or portk. More chicken and turkey meat options would be great.
Location: Lies along the beach. Great neighborhood. Hotel shuttle boat to and from Venice every hour. 10min taxi ride from public transportation.
I love this hotel. The room we had faced the beach and it was amazing. The staff was so nice and accommodating. Everything about my trip was great. They had free breakfast and dinner buffets, free shuttles to and from Venice every hour and it sits in a nice quite neighborhood. Couples should visit. We are definitely coming back. The beach was a little chilly, but it was a wonderful view to wake up to every morning. The hotel is romance and beautiful. It has a nice small bar off the side of the lobby and it serves great drinks while you listen to live music. The staff was sooooo nice to us. We wanted for nothing! We were truly treated like royalty. We are definitely coming back!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2016
We had a wonderful experience at the hotel from the minute we checked in until we left. Staff, location, room accommodations and amenities are one of the best we've experienced... Bravo!!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

A hotel with a fantastic setting.

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Location: Excellent shuttle service to Venice. A good walk will take you to the shops and restaurants in the Lido.
A most beautiful hotel with lovely views! Staff are most helpful and the hotel has first class facilities. Rooms are very comfortable and bathrooms spacious with Feragammo toiletries. A glass of wine in the dining room is 12 euros and all services extremely expensive. Food in the dining room is not of 5 star hotel standard compared to other 5 star hotels in Venice. There is however a huge variety which should suit all palates, but hot food is not as hot as it should be due to the large heated containers it is presented in. The dining room is large and most attractive. The complimentary shuttle service is excellent, running on an hourly basis. I will however, despite many advantages, not return to the hotel, but instead go to other 5 star hotels in Venice in future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wales

Short stay in venice

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Location: Main waterbus stop about 20 mins walk away leading on to the main street where there is a variety of eating places, small bars and shops
Lovely hotel, friendly staff, spacious clean room,nice setting right on beach with good sun terrace and pool area. Complementary boat shuttle service hourly which stopped right by St Marks square was excellent. Buffet breakfast and dinner were fine. Only gripe was that no drinks not even water were included at dinner. Drink prices were extremely inflated 8 euros for a bottle of water, 12 euros for a glass of wine. As a result didn't use the hotel bar at all but bought a decent bottle of wine in local supermarket for 5 euros!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Altes Hotel mit Geschichte aber auch Patina

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Pros: Lage direkt am Meer, der Charme des alten Gebäudes
Cons: Zimmer renovieren, Frühstück, Abendessen, Bareinrichtung, obwohl, die war so schräg und patiniert, das hatte schon wieder was...
Location: Auf dem Lido am Meer
Das Hotel ist wie ganz Venedig: es unterliegt offensichtlich einem kontrollierten Verfall. Altes Grand Hotel neben dem Festival-Gelände für das Filmfestival auf dem Lido. Sehr charmant, aber auch etwas morbide. Wir hatten ein großes Zimmer mit Meerblick im 7. Stock, Stoffbespannung der Wände und gute Betten, grandiose Aussicht, morgens direkt vor dem Zimmer über dem Meer der Sonnenaufgang. Eine Tür zum Balkon ließ sich nicht mehr schließen, die Fensterscheibe darin war 3cm nach unten gerutscht, dadurch hatten wir immer Luftaustausch. Ablauf in einem Waschbecken und der Badewanne ließen sich gar nicht oder nur mit Trick öffnen. Die Außentemperaturen waren kühl und das Hotel auch, da es wohl keine oder keine ausreichende Heizung hat, allerdings waren die Temperaturen im Zimmer o.k. Frühstück in einem riesigen alten Saal, Auswahl mäßig, eher 3 Sterne- Niveau... Frische Säfte, Spiegeleier etc. nicht includiert und sehr teuer (Glas Orangensaft 10 Euro). Das Hotel wurde mit Halbpension angeboten, das Abendessen entpuppte sich ebenfalls als etwas schlichtes Buffet, Auswahl und Qualität auch eher 3 Sterne, warme Speisen lauwarm. Wenn man zum Essen etwas trinken möchte, kann man nur für die Getränkerechnung auch (und besser) in einem netten Restaurant in Venedig speisen!!! (einheimisches kleines Bier 11€, Wasser 10€ etc.) Halbpension lohnte sich definitiv nicht.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from niedersachsen

Hotel ist in die Jahre gekommen! Stand 70er Jahre

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: Service immer nett und aufmerksam 😄
Service ist super! Frühstück ist mittelmäßig und kalt! Halbpension ist nicht zu empfehlen denn das Essen ist zu vergleichen mit schlechtem Kantinen essen !!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Erding

Erholung Pur

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: Der Zimmerausblick nach Venedig war sensationell ( waren im 7 Stock). Der Shuttleservice war super und pünktlich.
Cons: Der Essenssaal könnte etwas wärmer sein,ansonsten kann man nichts kritisieren.
Location: Das Hotel war am Lido und man ist in ca.10 Minuten am Steg vom Lido und kann die Geschäfte anschauen.
Sehr freundlicher Empfang besonders an der Repzeption die sehr zuvorkommend und immer sehr hilfsbereit waren.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

4 days of quality and comfort

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Location: Wonderful location , big bonus was having free private boat service to St. Marks square . The hotel arranged our tickets for Basilica,avoiding queues.
Peaceful setting with views over the beach .Couldn't fault anything,it was our 2nd visit and if anything the room was even more spacious.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2016 by ExcelsiorVenezia , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, we want to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on our Hotel Exelsior and really appreciate your positive words regarding our complimentary shuttle boat, our excellent guest relations department and the spaciousness of our moorish decorated rooms. Thank you for having been our guest for the second time. With best wishes from Venice Lido, The Management
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel très calme et service irréprochable

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Location: Ile du Lido, rien de spécial a faire à proximité, mais a 15mns de Venise par la navette bateau de l'hotel et proche d'une station de Vaporeto.
Chambre spacieuse et Literie de très bonne qualité. Personnel de l'hôtel très attentionné, diner au buffet compris dans la réservation, des produits proposés variés et de grande qualité.