Ratings based on 508 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Small, expensive, old

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Location: As mentioned before, the location is great. A quick walk from the train station and close to restaurants, etc.
Our first room had a shower so small that a small child would have issues using it. My wife and I physically could not use it and had to ask for a room change. The next room had a slightly bigger shower which was at least usable. The walls had black mold growing in a few different spots. The TV (not that we watched a lot) was mounted high and behind a chandelier so it was impossible to see anything while lying in bed. The WIFI was absolutely horrible. I mean our dial up in the 90's was faster. Don't plan on using it if you're staying there. The breakfast had a very weak selection. Croissants, buns with cream cheese or butter and jams, cereal with milk. That's pretty much it. For the price we paid I expected more. The location was great but that's about all of the positive comments I have about this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derbyshire, UK

A friendly and convenient base for exploring

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: Convenient and quiet location, friendly staff and comfortable bed
Cons: Breakfast not served until 8.00, would have preferred a little earlier
Location: Just a few minutes walk from the rail and bus station and waterbus services, but quiet at night. Good eating places nearby.
Stayed here on a short city break. Would recommended if you plan to spend your time exploring and want a friendly and conveniently located base. Room was small and had no view to speak of so probably not an ideal choice for those intending to spend more time in their hotel. Only serves breakfast but there's a choice of restaurants within just a few metres of the front door.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely Venitian Experience

Posted Oct 14, 2016 on Hotels
We had a wonderful 3 days in Venice and our stay at Hotel Falier was among one of the reasons for this. The staff were friendly and extremely helpful, the location was great for walking and exploring, and overall the hotel and room itself were lovely. It was the perfect size for 2 people and the service was very attentive. We discovered that the city is highly walkable and loved the fact that we could easily reach Ponte de Rialto and Saint Mark's square on foot from the hotel while staying in a quieter area in the evenings. The hotel is also located close to great traditional dining options. I would highly recommend Hotel Falier to friends and family traveling to Venice and hope to have the chance to stay there myself once again in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very overpriced for dated and basic hotel

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Was disappointed with my room - it was clean but furnishings badly needed update. Mattress was sunk in the middle, bathroom fittings of yellowing plastic, some flaking plaster in bathroom. Breakfast was the most basic - French toast in a packet, really cheap bread rolls, jam, cornflakes. Wifi didn't work at all 1 day and not in my room mostly as too far from their hub in reception. I needed to check out at 7am and was told of 24 hr reception. But reception was deserted and I was locked in the hotel. I'd already paid but I couldn't even just leave cash for city tax and the key as was locked in the building. I've stayed in other places a lot cheaper in Venice that were a lot nicer, so very disappointed and felt like they were just ripping off their guests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good value small hotel in Venice

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: Location and value for money. All clean and tidy.
Cons: Bedrooms are tired and could do with updating.
Location: Near Piazzalle Roma and train station. Good access to all of Venice. Walk to St Mark's is about 35-40 minutes.
Only stayed for 1 night. Everything was fine. Nothing fancy, but good value for money and good location for walking Venice or exploring by canal.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A quiet road away from canal traffic, and tourists

Posted Oct 3, 2016
As a two star hotel, it was comfortable. A little tired, but shabby chic. Three good restaurants on its doorstep. 19 rooms and 7 tables for breakfast, but it seems to work as they have two hour breakfast serving time. Continental breakfasts buffet style, but plenty to eat. Beds were rather hard, they could do with a mattress topper. The room was a little small, but we didn't spend a lot of time there, so it didn't matter too much about the size. The trade off for our fourth floor room ( only one in this floor and accessed by a narrow staircase) was the use of a large private terrace. Lovely to see Venice from a local perspective, over roof tops and gardens! No lifts so ask for a ground floor room if stairs are a problem. No porter service either so if carrying your case upstairs is a problem, ask for a ground floor room. No tea, coffee making facilities, and no water provided in the room. This would make a big difference. There was a garden for guest use but we didn't see it so I can't comment. No bar so literally a bed and breakfast place. No where is far away in Venice, so long as walking is something you can do with ease. Take your time and take mental notes of street names and landmarks. Be prepared to get lost and to retrace your steps, being pleasantly surprised at discovering you are near to a landmark! A red glass fish in a shop window, a street pizza take away in a square, a quirky bridge, or bridge intersection. All ways of finding your way around.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient as it is very close to train and bus.

Posted Sep 27, 2016 on Hotels
Overall was a great hotel. Hey could do more with breakfast though. There's only Kellogg's cornflakes and bread available for breakfast and boiled eggs one morning. Need to improve on this. Wifi connection great . Friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value hotel in a handy location

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Room was very small, sound-proofing leaves something to be desired, and ground level rooms have a foot-path right outside the window, but if you're not planning on spending much time in the hotel (I certainly didn't!) then it's a perfectly decent roof over your head at a good price for Venice. Only 5min walk from the bus station, and only two bridges to lug that suitcase over. St Mark's Square is only 25min walk away once you've learned the route, with plenty of other sights along the way. Breakfast was only the usual "continental" affair (not what an Englishman really wants!) but the staff are friendly and helpful and speak good English. Luggage can be stored in a safe place (in a cupboard behind the reception desk) on your last day. There was no tea/coffee (or anything else) in the room, and the bathroom had only a shower (no bathtub), but neither was a problem for me. The free WiFi worked well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very clean hotel in a great location

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Cons: Breakfast! Recommend some protein be added as well as some fruit would be great!
We had a wonderful experience with Hotel Falier! They were extremely nice--especially Sheryl at the front desk! The room was great and extremely clean.The bed was very firm which we were not used to. It is in a great location with only a five minute walk to the train station but very quiet and peaceful for sleeping. Several great restaurants, bakeries and a bar nearby. I recommend to all my friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent service from front desk

Posted Sep 10, 2016 on Wotif
V get front desk help with tracing lost bag and giving other good advice. Smallish well appointed room. Good location.