Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, Mo

Wonderful!

Posted May 29, 2016
Although we went in the heart of the peak season, Hotel Fontana was reasonably pricing and in a great location! The staff was beyond helpful, including making us dinner reservations! It was the perfect first stop for our trip to Italy.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from preston lancashire england uk

Great location, lovely hotel

Posted Mar 30, 2016
We stayed here three nights last week on our first trip to Venice, although rated three star it certainly surpassed itself. This is a typical Venetian hotel only 16 rooms. The room we had was spacious and very clean, with self controlled heating. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff very friendly and extremely helpful. It's in a very good location for st marks square and st zaccaria water bus stop only five to ten mins walk to both without being on the Main Throughfare. The hotel also has a lift to rooms which not many central hotels have, due to the old style buildings. The area around and in fact everywhere we went is very safe to wander around at night. We will definitely use this hotel next time we visit Venice. A big thankyou to all the staff.
4 out of 5
by anirban

Great Breakfast

Posted Jan 18, 2016 on Hotels
Wish the bathroom was bigger. But the breakfast was amazing, best breakfast we had on our trip to Italy. Very close to San Marco Piazza. Little Trattoria near the bridge by the hotel was amazing.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toluca, MX

Beautiful Hotel near San Marco Piazza

Posted Dec 17, 2015
Pros: Service and the whole experience.
Cons: little to improve, maybe the coffee offered for breakfast.
Location: San Marco Piazza is a few steps from the hotel, and so is other museums and points of interest.
It was pleasant, and the staff were magnificent! - San Marco Piazza is a few steps from the hotel, and so is other museums and points of interest.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable, very friendly staff

Posted Sep 9, 2015 on Hotels
Made a last minute booking on arrival in Venice. Guy at reception couldn't find booking but was nice and I still got a room. Room was tiny and next day on check out another guy on reception apologised for the booking error and explained I had been given a cheaper room so charged me less than expected. Honesty was great, stay was fine, area was great, location fantastic for St marks square. Room I had was tiny but clean, still a bit much given th size however I was there at peak season so not much else cheaper around.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 17, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from stockholm

Mycket trevlig personal ( ägare ) utmärkt läge

Posted Aug 13, 2015
Hotellet ligger utmärkt nära alla de viktigaste båtlinjerna. Trevligt, personligt bemötande.
4 out of 5
by Janice

Location is the key!

Posted Aug 11, 2015 on Hotels
The room was sufficient; like many European beds there is no box spring therefore comfort is diminished. Gabrielle is excellent with assisting with any questions. Location is very good. Our tub had strange varied levels bathtub which made It difficult to stand safely for shower. Son's was fine.
4 out of 5
by Janice from Long Island ny

Sunny service

Posted Aug 8, 2015 on Hotels
We were in Hitel Fontana for 2 nights in the hottest weather!!Gabrielle was quite helpful with any questions! The location is very good- near the water bus stop( Zaccaria) in a lovely square which seemed quiet even though it was not far from San Marco!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good price, great location

Posted Jul 21, 2015 on Hotels
Friendly, helpdul staff, and central location. All the hot spots are within walking distance. We booked a double room and got upgraded to the quadruple room for free. Bit of an older hotel but beds are comfortable and good air conditioning (so important in July). Good value for Venicr. Only feedback...they need better pillows.