Ratings based on 159 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Amsterdam

Prettig verblijf in Italiaans hotel.

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Location: Het hotel ligt in een wirwar van straatjes gunstig t.o.v. het San Marcoplein, Rialto, Arsenaal.
De 3-persoonskamer kamer is niet ruim, maar wel praktisch ingedeeld met een groot dubbel bed en een vouwbed, beiden boxspring, De kamer is in Italiaanse stijl met kroonluchter, secretaire, minibar, en een halletje met kledingkast. De twee ramen kijken uit op een steegje. Er is een ruime badkamer. Voor 3 overnachtingen een prima adres. Het vouwbed was wel aan een nieuwe matras toe.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from b

Excellent location. Friendly staff

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Location: Very near to the centre. 5 minute walk.
This hotel is in an excellent location. Very nice hotel. Staff were very friendly could do with a paint inside the rooms though.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Hard to find hotel, not on the "beaten track".

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: See above.
Cons: See above.
Location: See above.
This hotel is difficult to find, even with GPS and help from strangers. It is not in very good condition either. Upon entering, you are met with a small, shabby lobby with a set of stairs that has carpet badly in need of replacing. Once up the stairs, the sitting room and breakfast area are quite nice, but cramped. The room was in a terrible state - chunks out of the wall and beat up furniture. The only saving grace was that the staff was very friendly and accommodating. I would definitely warn people away from this hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Doha, Qatar

Typical Hotel in this Price Range?

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: Location. If you want reasonable prices very close to Piazza San Marcos then this delivers. it was quaint, safe & quiet. Seemed clean & well-run.
Cons: I was disappointed in front desk. I had to leave early & asked if the desk would be staffed. I was assured it would but it was not. Caused me delays.
Location: The hotel is along a small canal only 300m from St. Mark's. It can be reached from S. Zaccaria without bridges. Many churches, shops & dining nearby.
This appears to be a typical hotel in this location & price range. That is to say, it is overpriced for what you get, but that seems to be the market. I'm certainly no expert on Venice hotels, but that's my opinion. The location is actually pretty darn good for the money, as it is a short walk from Piazza San Marco & some nice shopping streets, with plenty of restaurants and stores. it's a tiny place, with a small reception desk just inside the door, then a winding staircase to the 1st Floor, where all rooms are located (8?) radiating off of a lounge/business center/breakfast room. My room was to the back, through the breakfast area, which made it both difficult to navigate & a bit noisy in the morning, as I could hear the clinking & other preparations for the morning breakfast (which is included in price but is nothing exceptional). The room was a decent size, although the bathroom was cramped for someone my size, especially the shower! The double bed was large enough (not a universal experience for me in Italy) & of decent comfort. There was evidence of some damage/abuse & maybe some dampness around the walls, but it's Venice....I doubt you can avoid dampness. It did lead to a slight musty smell in the wardrobe, which was no doubt contributed to by the age of the furniture. I did like that there was a safe in the wardrobe. The A/C worked well, although due to the humidity there was some condensation forming on the soffit over the entry corridor.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Reggio Calabria

Tipica casa veneziana ristrutturata

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Pros: posizione
Cons: Pulizia e colazione
Location: Ottima posizione, centralissimo, appena usciti ci si ritrova in un campo bellissimo ( Santa Maria Formosa )
Hotel senza pretese in ottima posizione - Colazione scarsa e mediocre per un trestelle in ambiente piccolissimo ( si deve fare la fila per sedersi )
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Copenhagen, Denmark

Good location and comfortable.

Posted Sep 3, 2016 on Hotels
My wife, 4 year old daughter and I stayed at this hotel for a night. The room was spacious enough and quite comfortable. The bathroom and toilet was clean and met our expectations. There was an old-fashioned wooden wardrobe, a small table and two chairs. Free Wifi is available. The mini-bar is nothing to write about, all it has is sparkling water and the hotel charges 2 euros for a 0.5L bottle. The buffet breakfast is very minimal, no variety at all. Hotel location is good and reasonable walking distance to most places. Rialto bridge and Rialto ferry is only 10 minutes walk from the hotel, provided you dont lose your way (most likely you will!). You could also get down at the San Zaccaria ferry and walk to this hotel.
3 out of 5
by Kari Anne Aarethun

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 10, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Too close for comfort.

Posted Jun 16, 2016
We arrived and checked in. There is no real lobby to this hotel. Straight up the stairs to room 105. Walked in, there were two beds in the room. We had four suitcases since we were traveling for three weeks. There was no place to put our luggage or unpack. So we had to step over our luggage in the room. This room appeared to be modified for a handicapped person. The shower was so small you could barely move inside. The air conditioner did work. That was a plus. We stayed one night and decided to move to another hotel that was managed by the Locanda to another hotel that was managed by the Locanda Canal. This was an even bigger mistake. The room at the other hotel was bigger but the air conditioning does not work. We overlooked the this was an even bigger mistake. I would not stay here again.
4 out of 5
by Eva from Malmö

Posted Jun 9, 2016 on Hotels
Ganska litet rum och tråkig frukost. Jättetrevlig personal och nära till Markusplatsen.