Ratings based on 277 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Algonquin, IL

Great location

Posted Dec 21, 2016
The location is amazing, breakfast is good, and the staff was pretty friendly. The main thing I didn't like was that once you're there, everything has to be paid cash (room tax, luggage storage, late checkout, etc). Also we stayed in a 3 single bed room and the beds were very very uncomfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Horsham, sussex

....next to Rialto Bridge

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: .....the Economy room had 2 windows onto walls!! Not enough plug sockets...... very small! The proprietors seemed surprised we had chosen it...
Cons: ........more plug sockets, this trip was for my 70th Birthday! Room not accurately advertised Expedia please note!!
Location: ....Rialto Bridge, 10 mins to St. Marks, Street Market, Academia art works, all the vaparettos, the best part of Venice!!!....super gondolas....!!!
.......surprised to find we had 'chosen' the economy' room when the one we picked was the only one shown!! Pull your socks up Expedia!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good visit

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Cons: They advertised free wifi but wanted to charge until I complained. The wifi was only available in the lobby/meeting areas unless u pay extra.
We enjoyed our visit to Venice and the hotel. It was close to numerous shops and restaurants. The hotel is dated but well maintained. It's clean and comfortable. Little disappointed how they nickel and dime you. They wanted to charge for wifi until I complained and they also charge to hold bags in the lobby.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Bitten by bugs, open drain in room.

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Pros: Received very red bug bites during stay on face, torso, arm, and foot , open drain in room, bug on wall of bathroom. The hotel would not refund two nights in the horrible room I had prepaid. Can you imagine placing two ladies in a room that has an open drain. When I reported and showed the bug bites to the staff (who called the owners) I was told I had an allergic reaction and it wasn't their fault. Adding insult to injury, the owners told me to go to a hospital at my own expense to 'prove' that it was from being bitten in their hotel. I am in the healthcare field, practice exceptional hygiene, and am familiar with bug bites (spider & insect) versus allergic reactions. Adding to this unacceptable response to a patron's complaint was the owner trying to grab my phone from me as I was video taping their responses although they have a sign in lobby that the hotel video tapes at will. After this treatment, my colleague and I were actually debating the safety of complaining to the site we had booked through. I was travelling with a fellow R.N. on a 27 day holiday throughout Europe. By far this was the worst experience of my life. Do not be deceived by the photos. The entrance is on a side alley that is kind of creepy too. Wifi is only in the dining room and kind of iffy at that. BTW sometimes they close the lights off in dining room & you must track down the staff to get the lights turned back on.
Cons: The bugs, the rudeness of the owners, the lack of security. Never pre-pay at this hotel. If by chance they change the name, use their address to identify this awful, low class, and dirty place: Calle del Sturion 677/A, Venice, VE, 30125 Italy. Also you must turn your keys (room and in room safe keys) to the front desk each time you leave the hotel. The front desk is unattended at times leaving the room & safe keys within sight and reach of anyone.
Location: This hotel is located near a restaurant and the Rialto Bridge but really there are so many other options considering the open drain and bugs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent!

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Very clean room, helpful staff, and great view of canal. Great 3 day stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Lauderdale, FL

Location. location, location and that view!

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Location: Rialto market, local pub with great food, tons of restaurants and close to the Rialto Vaporetto.
This is a great hotel right in the heart of the action in Venice/Rialto. The hotel is right on the water close to the market, restaurants and public transportation plus the views you will get from the balconies are amazing. We sat out on those balconies almost every night and enjoyed the view with a lovely glass of wine. Upon arrival we were shown the economy room and a nicer room which we could upgrade for 30 euro in cash. We took the upgraded room which was a bit more spacious and light. It is an older hotel but with great charm. We would definitely come back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Venice in October

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Pros: Location, Location, Location
Cons: Most rooms decor was tired and faced onto an alleyway which reduced any light to the room
The hotel has perfect location fronting the Grand Canal and less than 1 minute from Rialto bridge. The property has 2 floors with steep stairs but has the added advantage of a lift serving both floors. The hotel is very clean and rooms are serviced daily. The décor is somewhat tired and because most rooms overlook an alleyway, lack sufficient light. There are 4 rooms at the front of the property which have outstanding views of the Grand canal. I imagine these have to be pre-booked at a premium. This is a small hotel with 16 rooms which are adequate in size with on-suite bathroom. Small TV and mini-bar (contents chargeable but ideal to store your water) There is a Wardrobe and dressing table. The bathroom is adequate and has a built-in hairdryer. There are no in room coffee-making facilities so take your own kettle. To the front of the property are the breakfast room and lounge area. The latter has a balcony and chairs that look directly onto the canal and below, the waterside cafes. To your left you have a perfect view of Rialto bridge and all the hussle and bussle of Venice life going by on the water. The buffet style Breakfast is adequate and is continental style (nothing cooked and no fruit) The coffee is excellent and plentiful. Being a small hotel there is less likelihood of queuing for anything. The reception area is pleasant and the service OK. Very much depends who is on reception, but the Lady you may encounter on reception is excellent and very helpful. There is W
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good for price

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Good price for getting a hotel that is right by the water. Tough to find at first from the train station. But once you find it, it's not a bad hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LONDON

VERY FRIENDLY CLEN HOTEL

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: FRIENDLY STAFF .VERY HELPFUL
Cons: SMALL ROOM
Location: GOOD LOCATION .CLOSE TO RIALTO BRIDGE AND RESTAURANTS AND SHOPS
HOEL SITUATED NEAR GRAND CANAL.CLOSE TO RIALTO BRIDGE AND 10 MIN WALK TO SAN MARCO SQUARE.FIRST AND SECOND FLOOR TERRACE AND BEAUTIFUL VIEW .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

an attic room.

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Pros: the old man.
Cons: everything
Location: right by the gondola rides. good restaurants and cafe on the street. boat rides station across. strategic location.
arriving late and given a room in the attic w/ a spiral staircase to get through could have been more exciting if we were'nt tired yet and had to leave early the next day. had to leave our suitcases (2) down the lobby as it would'nt fit the hallway and the stairs. it was'nt a very pleasant experience but what the heck, it's only for the night. if i'd stay longer, i'd choose another hotel or room maybe? but the old man in the front desk is very helpful and accomodating. but who would'nt be if you'll give them a room in the attic w/ sloping ceiling and only electric fan to cool down. but still nice knowing that venice is not designed for grandeur in terms of hotels. they make do w/ what's existing.