Ratings based on 500 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Close to St Mark's Square

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: The staff and location.
Cons: Cheaper drinks in the bar!!
Location: St Mark's Square, Arsenale, Naval Museum
A very nice hotel with charming, helpful staff. First thoughts were that the room was on the small side, but your're in Venice - how much time are you going to spend in your room. Room was very clean and bed very comfortable. Buffet breakfast was extensive - beware of the pigeons in the garden area they are very keen to help themselves to anything on your plate. Location was great - close to St Mark's Square and convenient for Vapperetto stop. Would definitely recommend.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Quaint but not luxury

Posted May 25, 2017
Very noisy, we had three diferent rooms over a three night stay. Rooms were comfortable but we didn't sleep much due to chandelier shaking everytime someone walked down the hall, street noise was the problem in second room and small single beds in third room(we booked a double). No tea or coffee making facilities, not even a complimentary bottle of water! Staff professional and very helpful. But I would not say particularly friendly. Shower/bathrooms a bit tired.This hotel is not as good as the Baglioni where I have stayed before. Venice is very expensive these days and certainly not value for your money, visit Birmingham in the UK instead :) it has more canals than venice and your more likely to find a decent Italian restaurant to dine in there :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel close to St Marks Square.

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: The location, quality and service.
Cons: Everything was of the highest quality.
Location: Central location close to St Marks Square and water buses for visiting all the sights.
Excellent service and unique hotel experience in a fabulous location.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Pleasant enough hotel, but 5 star? Maybe 3

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros: It has a certain charm and it was quaint and the outside terrace/bar area was lovely.
Location: Venice itself is stunningly beautiful and is almost magical and mystical BUT it is ridiculously expensive and is at bursting point with tourists.
The hotel itself is pleasant but as my title suggests I wouldn't call it 5 star, certainly not by London standards. I would call this a good 3 star. The bedroom was quaint and had a certain charm and the bed comfortable but the room was very small and the bath tub was minute, with just a hand shower that's wasn't great. NO coffee or tea maker to be seen! No complimentary water either! What you will find about Venice is that's its exceptionally expensive! And everybody but everybody including this hotel are only interested in making as much money as they can and they do that by overcharging for everything! We asked reception for a dinner recommendation on the first day we arrived and they "highly recommended" a particular restaurant! You needed a mortgage for the bill! Soups were €35 euros and the bill came to €300 for two people and the food was very disappointing and tiny portions! When I asked why there wasn't any coffee or tea making facilities in the room I was brusquely told that the "Breakfast in the hotel is very good where coffee and tea are served!" I'm sure it is very good for €35 euros per person! Look Venice itself is stunningly beautiful and almost magical and mystical even, BUT everyone, the shops, the hotels, the restaurants, are all trying their absolute best to rip you off by overcharging massively! I'm sure it's one price for the locals and another for the tourists! I have travelled all over the world and this has to be the most expensive place ever!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Don't want to thanks everything very satisfactory.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Really Charming!

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Pros: The atmosphere and staff.
Cons: Not much!
Location: Brilliantly located near to St Marks, the Doges Palace and the Arsenale. A great base while in Venice.
The Metropole hotel is a treasure and so interesting. The owners private collections placed around the hotel are really interesting and give the place an amazing old world feel. The rooms are beautiful with old furniture but all mod cons. Staff are really friendly. Just one word of warning - we were really disappointed in the recommendations made by the Concierge for dinner.
5 out of 5
by Massimo

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Absolutely Wonderful

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing to improve
Location: Great location with lots to do nearby
Beautiful Hotel, Lovely Room, Great Staff, Wonderful Food.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from M24

Good location

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Expensive bar. Clean hotel. Bed and pillows too hard.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mcr

Great hotel

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Spent a few days over the new year in Venice, using this hotel as our base. It has excellent rooms, good location and a cool bar. Staff are helpful and knowledgeable, also remember your name and room number. A good hotel and one I will use to bench mark others.