Ratings based on 286 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Absolutely Wonderful

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing to improve
Location: Great location with lots to do nearby
Beautiful Hotel, Lovely Room, Great Staff, Wonderful Food.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from M24

Good location

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Expensive bar. Clean hotel. Bed and pillows too hard.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mcr

Great hotel

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Spent a few days over the new year in Venice, using this hotel as our base. It has excellent rooms, good location and a cool bar. Staff are helpful and knowledgeable, also remember your name and room number. A good hotel and one I will use to bench mark others.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel

Posted Dec 5, 2016
The hotel was just as discribed on the website extreamly friendly and well run in a fantastic location next to st marks square The bar and food menu was a little too expensive for us to try as we found eating out a lot cheaper
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

Very quirky hotel. Warm, cosy, clean and friendly

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Pros: Our room was lovely, warm. Bed was extremely comfortable . Bath could have done with being a bit bigger.
Cons: Prices in the bar. Breakfast we thought was extortionate at €35
Location: Perfect location, close to everything
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok but outdated.

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Pros: Location is great. Perfect for basing yourself for exploring.
Cons: Needs some modern touches. Over attentive staff (though some might like that).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming relic, very old Venetian style.

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Pros: The staff, location, comfortable
Cons: Free bottle of water, 5 euros rather expensive, not used to paying for water at minibar rates!
Location: Brilliant location by St Marks Square, canal entrance for arrival by water taxi.
The staff could not be more helpful. Good location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing historic hotel with perfect location

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: Everything absolutely everything
Cons: There is nothing for this hotel to do.They do such a good job at acomodating their host
Location: St. Marco square and Basilica plenty of shopping and resturaunts. Gondola rides right outside
Rooms are amazing and spacious,the restarunt is of high class and taste, the bar makes good drinks, service is incredible, free bonuses such as transportation to other islands, and 3-5 minutes walking form ST. Marco square. Hotel has a drive up from canal
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Near Oxford, England.

Metropolitan Venice? No - 'Metropolean' Venice.

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: Not too small to be inadequate, not too large to be impersonal.
Cons: Could you please move the hotel nearer to Oxford, UK??
Location: Twenty paces to main vaporetto stop, 30 mins walk to the Guggenheim or Rialto or Arsenal (dependant on crowds, of course!)
We stayed for 5 days. I had concerns about being so close to big people magnets, namely the vaporetto stop (zaccaria) and St Marks square. My fears were swept away as The Hotel Metropole was an island of tranquility and calm. Occasional toots from the boats on the canal was about all we heard. No room in Venice will be massive but we were very comfortable and found the hotel to be amongst the best we have experienced. The multilingual staff were obviously very happy working there and it showed in their humour and attention to us and our needs. E.g. When asked to recommend a restaurant elsewhere in Venice- other than their own, they did so unhesitatingly and it was good value. It's modest size and old world charm suited us right down to the ground...err, canal. I would not say this was a family hotel though but I do not think overcrowded Venice is suitable for young children anyway, unless they are particularly precocious culture vultures...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Farnham, Surrey, uk

Great hotel

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Perfect location to experience Venice and exceptional service with ornate spacious (by Venice standards) rooms