Ratings based on 1,117 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from w

Dreadful reception

Posted Apr 6, 2017
I was kept waiting over an our at reception they had lost my booking. The receptionist was rude said must have cancelled it. I ask for the manager and he kept saying another. 5 mini its. My mother is 83 and an invalid it ruined it for her we ended up giving m credit card as security and was given a tiny room with 4 beds at the back of the hotel down a narrow flight of stair. My mother is blind and almost immobile She was unwell as a result I tried to phone Expedia could get through tried again in the morning and you phoned them. When I went to reception I was told the booking had been found our room was changed it must have been free the night before as this was at 7am. The manager was abrupt when I told her I wasn't happy she said we made a mistake let's move on. All the other staff were nice the breakfast was ok. But it spoiled our holiday and I want compensated
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 31, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North west England

I liked this hotel despite a few drawbacks

Posted Nov 27, 2016
This hotel, like much of Venice, gives the impression that it has seen better days. And yet, I had a good stay here. The staff were helpful and efficient, the hotel was clean and quiet, and the location was supremely convenient being about seven minutes from both the railway station and the airport water-bus stop at Guglie wharf. Downsides were that there were mosquitoes in the room, even in late November. There are over 30 steps to reception, after which there is a lift. And our air conditioner seemed to work for heating only, so the room was quite warm even in late autumn. I would not want to have this same room in the middle of summer. The breakfast range seemed a bit limited at first (the only hot food was boiled eggs) but actually there was lots of good food including an excellent fresh fruit salad. The shower was hot, the WiFi was strong and fast, and the bed was comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Good Hotel

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Location: Excellent location, close to bus and train station, 20 minutes to St Marks Square, plenty of restaurants nearby
Room slightly basic (no fridge, kettle or chairs), but good value, comfortable and clean. Nice bathroom. Very helpful staff
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap, well-placed and OK for the price

Posted Sep 24, 2016 on Hotels
Really handy for station and bus station. Reception on first floor up long flight of stairs. Staff at front desk very helpful and friendly. Tiny lift (max 2 passengers). Room perfectly OK apart from very low level lighting and intermittent Wi-Fi. Nice opening window with side view over rooftops, but had to close it at night because of noisy street musicians. Breakfast OK, but cheap ersatz orange juice and ultra-sugary bread and pastries.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very convenient to train station.

Posted Sep 21, 2016 on Hotels
Room was very small, but enjoyed the location.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 28, 2016 on Hotels
The room was smelly. The internet very unstable. The shower and toilet space is very tiny. The breakfast was awful! I would not recommend it!
5 out of 5
by Cynthia from KY

great location and service

Posted Aug 5, 2016 on Hotels
I spent alot of time on this website looking for affordable hotels in Venice for three people. I found several that would require a water taxi and/or lugging bags over bridges and that had limited reception desk hours, so I was happy to find Hotel Nazionale, which is two blocks from the train station, has 24 hour desk, is affordable, clean and met our needs perfectly. The desk staff were very knowledgeable, spoke English well, and made real effort to be helpful. The breakfast was adequate, with the typical breads, cereals, fruit, yogurt, meat, boiled eggs, coffee & juice. The room (1 double, 1 twin) was plenty big for all of our luggage and the a/c worked well. Minor complaints/notes: The wifi did not work well in the breakfast area, but was fine in the room and in the lobby. The lobby is up a flight of stairs; the hotel has a porter who can help with bags. The shower is the typical Italian size (about 2' x 2'); the bathroom was otherwise spacious and included a bidet. For the price, this hotel is excellent. Watching others lug their bags through crowded streets and over bridges to their hotels from the train station, I was even happier with my hotel choice. I would definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Inconvenience

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Close to train station, but inconvenient for suitcases to be carried to the room as long stairs from entrance to reception. Breakfast is awful.
4 out of 5
by David from stanthorpe Australia

Posted Jun 27, 2016 on Hotels
No complaints very good hotel and the servicewas great