Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Monterey CA

Real "Old Italy" Sumptuous

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Nice staff. Lots of surprises to include afternoon tea and happy hours in the evening.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ky

Out of the way

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Pros: Courtyard and staff.
Cons: Dated furniture.
Location: Not the best location.
OK. Nice courtyard for breakfast. Old dated furniture. Very small room, too far from St. Marks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Perfect location. Special hotel

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Located in a quiet part of Venice, hotel is convenient to everything but not in a big tourist area. Friendly staff. Gorgeous rooms. Free breakfast, afternoon tea, and wifi. Private garden. Would definitely stay there again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

wonderful hotel

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: It is not too crowded and everything is nearby, including the boat from the grand canal and the boat dock for the island tours. Even a supermarket is
Opulent hotel, beautiful courtyard, best breakfast of any hotel, including fresh everything, comfortable room, perfect location - close to anything but not in a terribly crowded area of Rome, gracious, kind and helpful staff. Couldn't have found a better place to stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful historic palace in Venice

Posted Jul 11, 2016
We loved our stay at Palazzo Abadessa. The hotel is absolutely beautiful and it is very apparent that it was an old palace at one time. Historical beauty. Our bedroom was a decent size, and the bed was great. Bathroom was wonderful and a good size as well. One of the best parts about the place is the lovely garden courtyard outside when you enter. We spent a good deal of time out there in the mornings, evenings, and in between exploring the city. Extremely quiet for its central location. Only about a 10-15 min walk to St. Mark's Square. Breakfast was included, which was a great way to start each day with ease by simply walking a few feet to get food and coffee. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Perfect, quiet location

Posted Jun 22, 2016
Pros: Everything!
Location: Only a 30 second walk from the main tourist path of Venice.
This hotel has the absolute best staff I have ever experienced. They bend over backwards to help you and really enjoy what they are doing. Quiet location with their own dock, making it perfect when you opt for a private water taxi from the airport (no lugging your luggage around the streets). Beautiful garden to sit in for breakfast and afternoon tea/drinks. Individual rooms are secluded from each other, giving a very quiet feeling.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, AL

Quaint Venetian Hotel with great location

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Just returned from a trip throughout Italy. We began our stay at Hotel Palazzo Abadessa and everything about it was perfect. We arrived late and the hotel staff was accommodating with helping us set up a private water taxi. We were dropped right at the water entrance and immediately welcomed by the staff. Our room was clean, charming, and totally Venetian. The breakfast each day is quite the spread with fruits, meats and cheese, pastries, cereals, yogurts, and the kitchen staff will make you any egg dish as you request. The hotel is tucked back away from all the noise but a quick walk to Rialto and St. Mark's. The staff help you navigate the winding roads and any of your needs. We will certainly return and I wouldn't think of staying anywhere else!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel

Posted May 29, 2016
Pros: location, gorgeous old building, great staff
Cons: nothing
Location: the old jewish ghetto area is very close and fascinating to wander around for an afternoon
Gorgeous hotel in a great location. Down a winding alley so its quiet but only a 2 minute walk to the main street and vaporetto stop. The main street has quite a few great restaurants and is a little quieter than the San Marco area, so we were really glad we were staying in Cannaregio. Fantastic service from the staff who were polite and helpful at all times and not at all intrusive. Eating breakfast in the beautiful garden was the perfect start to the day. And it was a great breakfast! Definitely recommend staying here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego, CA

Very nice palazzo

Posted May 11, 2016
Very nice palazzo, delicious breakfast, tucked away from the crowds, helpul staff, especially Michele at the front desk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely hotel with beautiful garden.

Posted Apr 11, 2016
Beautiful hotel in great location. Easy walk to all sights of Venice. 10 min walk to St Marks /Doges Palace, 5 min walk to Rialto bridge and waterbus to Murano. Tucked away on little sidestreet of Venice- feels like a hidden gem. Beautiful rooms, lovely staff.