Ratings based on 258 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Stay here when you go to Venice!

Posted Jun 30, 2017
This was the best hotel of our two week adventure through Italy! The room was great with a full american shower in marble and very clean! The hotel staff was so helpful and arranged a trip to Murano, our dinner reservations and our taxi's (including a one hour personal tour). The hotel is right next to a public boat service on the grand canal so it easy to use that for getting around. We walked quite a bit to see everything but it is useful when you get tired! Great location, staff and room!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The Hotel is Central but disappointing

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: The fact the hotel was central, on the main canal and close to a water stop was nice
Cons: Friendliness of the staff, controllable climate control as advertised, sound proofed room as advertised.
Location: Nice central location, close by to shops and restaurants, equal distance between the two main bridges across the main canal and close to a Water stop.
The staff on the main reception didn't make any effort to be welcoming and did the absolute minimum. When I made a complain about not being able to control the room temperature as set to 26 degrees, I was told the AC doesn't come on till May, and to open the window. When I opened the window the room filled up with smoke as there are two tables and chairs positioned in the courtyard outside the room that were used by staff and customers to smoke. Also to sleep with open windows next to the main walkway in and out of the hotel was very noisy. Unfortunately we feel we had the worst room (11) in the whole hotel and when we asked about paying to change the room we were told they were fully booked. Very upsetting.
5 out of 5
by Brian

Beautiful quiet hotel right on the water

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel on the Grand Canal, only a 5 min water taxi ride from the train station ($50). Right next to a water bus station where you go anywhere all over Venice for about $20 per day, or about $3 per ride. Very nicely appointed room with luxury finishes, but was very small. We had a premium room with a partial canal view. It was very pretty, but not amazing. Venice however is amazing and it is easy to see all of it, once getting aboard the water bus. Walking to or from main tourist areas can be done, but all streets are supper short, so many, many, many turns are required and Google Maps doesn't work well, due to tall buildings and super narrow streets. It was nice to not be in the middle of the tourist area though. Very quiet and safe location, away from the bustling crowds that are elsewhere in Venice. A very good breakfast was also included and there are a couple of reasonably priced excellent restaurants nearby in addition to the restaurant onsite. This hotel is perfect for those who want to escape the throngs of people that are by St Marks Square and the Rialto Bridge. When you wish it. you can be there in about 15 mins.
5 out of 5
by Lisa

Wonderful Stay at Palazzo Giovanelli

Posted Apr 9, 2017 on Hotels
We had a corner room overlooking the canal and water taxi. It was a treat to open the windows and watch Venice starting it's day. The staff was excellent and the breakfast was filled with great food. The location was what we wanted, away from the big touristy parts and crowds but within walking distance and the close water taxi to get there. The airport shuttle also comes right there.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 10, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

4 Nights in Venice

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Shower
Location: Nothing much close by other than one restaurant. However, very close to the vorpretto stop, San Stae.
I was satisfy with the location of the hotel. It is very easy to find. However, the bathroom shower is extremely SMALL! It's like the size of the shower on the cruise ship. We have be very careful to make sure the water does not splash out of the curtain........ I specifically address several times to make sure the shower about not splashing out the water...... Disappointed..... Breakfast is simple with great coffee. I will only recommend the hotel if the price is less than USD 125
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 22, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Location!

Posted Oct 7, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is in a great location as it's located right next to a water taxi stop and you don't have to carry your bags around Venice. It is also located far enough away from the hustle bustle as to make it feel a bit secluded. The hotel itself has a spectacular lobby and entrance garden and the view of the river from their private dock is like a post card. The hotel itself is a mix of very old and charming and kinda new and not so charming. Overall it was a good experience and I would likely stay here again, if just for the ease of location and a GREAT restaurant one street over.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent customer service! Great location.

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Pros: Location on the canal and close to vaporetto stop. Great people at reception and in the breakfast room.
Cons: Price?
Location: Hey, it's Venice--there's a world of things to do.
We arrived late the first night to the San Stae Vaporetto stop. We had a bit of trouble finding the front door of the hotel (not clearly marked that we had to enter a narrow side street). Stefano at the front desk greeted us warmly and told us that he was giving us an upgrade--Room 101--no canal view but spacious. The next morning we were "further upgraded" to 106, a smaller room but with a window on the canal. We paid $375 per night. The front desk personnel were uniformly warm and helpful--led by Stefano who worked hard to make us happy. The kitchen staff was also wonderful led by Indira. Thank you to them all. In sum, I wouldn't classify this as a 5 star hotel--more like a 4--and in my opinion, it is somewhat overpriced despite its prime location. But I would recommend it if you are looking for a spot on the Grand Canal.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 23, 2016 on Hotels