Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location!

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Great hotel, huge room, gorgeous bathroom, great breakfast. We would stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, UK

Nice Venetian style hotel with convenient location

Posted Jul 20, 2016
The hotel has canal view and nearby to Vaporetto stop, San Marco, shops, restaurants and even the only supermarket in the area. Breakfast is sufficient but could improve on the toaster element
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Poor hotel

Posted May 17, 2016
Pros: Listening to the singing gondoliers as they glide past our window.
Cons: everything
Location: Just ok but close to the grand canal and St Marks
Maybe a 2 or 3 star but wouldn't know since I don't stay in those rated hotels. Poor room, food and staff. Way too expensive with nothing in return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from D

Most wonderful hotel on small canal with gondolas

Posted Mar 1, 2016
We had a wonderful room with the most beautiful view of a canal with gondolas. Room was unique and historic yet updated nicely. Hotel staff were all friendly and breakfast was wonderful. Thank you for such a pleasant stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Good location

Posted Jan 1, 2016
Pros: location, includes breakfast Cons: everyone can hear everything. We could hear the conversations of our neighbors and the staff in the lobby from our room. Staff could be friendlier. Beds were hard & sqeeky. They only have american style coffee for breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel! Great location!

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Had a great time! The hotel was awesome and beautiful. Great breakfast every morning!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by harry from new jersey

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 31, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Oozes Charcter and Charm

Posted Dec 2, 2010
Great hotel, with loads of character features with many antiques. Breakfast was very good for mainland Europe standards. No British breakfast, but we didn't expect there to be! It was only a 5 minute walk from St Marks Square, less than 10 minutes to Rialto Bridge, and a Varperetto stop was less than 2 minutes away. The original features gave it great charm. The 12 foot timber beamed ceiling looked great. They even gave us a departure letter offering us, our family or friends a special rate to stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Nice enough -- great service and excellent breakfast!

Posted Sep 1, 2010
This hotel was a little difficult to find. We needed an expensive water taxi to get there and later leave for the airport. The hotel itself was nice, uniquely traditional style. Room was dark, and beds were uncomfortable, but spacious. Bathroom was nice and very large. Some noise outside our window from the canal below it. Generally, the desk and bell service was friendly and excellent. They let us print airline boarding passes and helped with the computer. The breakfast was perfect! I'd recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Not worth 4 stars

Posted Jan 21, 2010
Beware of the annexe at this hotel. If you're given room 504 be prepared for the lift to not work, the room to be above private appartments and for light to pour through the gap in the door all night. We could only stay in this room for one night but the hotel moved us when we asked without questions, so this may happen a lot with this room. Apart from this the hotel is in a great location which is a short walk from the main sights but without the bustle and noise outside the window. We took breakfast in the main hotel which is a very nice hotel with lots of quirky features you'd expect in Venice. Overall the hotel staff were friendly and helpful. If you're planning on going in winter you will probably need wellington boots as the flood prevents you from getting to St. Marks Square but you can go around the back alleys. We also reccommend the gondalier outside the hotel for his good singing voice.