Ratings based on 1,784 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Historic Hotel right on the Grand Canal

Posted Oct 1, 2016
Location: On the Grand Canal in Venice Italy. Easy to catch the Vaporatto or Water Taxi to get around the city. Amazing setting and views from many locations.
The staff was welcoming and helpful and the Hotel is historic and beautiful. The location along the Grand Canal is very scenic. Breakfast from the second floor dining room offered amazing treats and views overlooking the canal. Like all of Venice you have to wind around to find the Hotel. The Grand Canal "S.Stae" Water Bus/Taxi stop is only 2 blocks away.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Great Location

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: Situation, presentation and staff
Location: Very close to the Rialto Fish market and Bridge. 10/15 minutes from Piazza San Marco,if you don't get a little lost.
The Hotel was situated in a great location 5 minutes from the Rialto Bridge. It was a typical Venetian looking hotel which was perfect for our 3 night stay. One great feature was the hotel had its own dock so the water taxi could drop us off at the "front door". Also being that it was situated on the Grand Canal it was great for sitting on the waters edge watching the different boats go by with an refreshment.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Larkspur Colorado

Great place out of the way but on the Canal!

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: Location, local feel and pleasant staff.
Cons: Fluffier pillows. That's it. Other than that, awesome place.
Location: Rialto Bridge nearby, Rialto Mercado nearby. Easy to get around from this location.
Wonderful place. On the canal, close enough to Rialto bridge to walk there, but far enough away to be quite! Beautiful hidden treasure! Not the easiest to find from street side, but signed fairly well. Within walking distance of several points of interests and many small restaurant shopping areas. The other great think is that the Water Bus stop is nearby. Very convenient location. We took a water taxi from the cruise ship directly to the front porch of the hotel and a water taxi from the front porch to the airport. It was a little pricey, but well worth it so you are not hopping the train etc and dragging your bags around the streets trying to find the hotel. The staff is extremely nice and helpful. Did I mention the breakfast was assume! It is!! Our room was filled with classic Italian decor! Murano Chandelier and authentic furniture. The bed was great, pillows a little flat, but wonderful decor, clean, up to date and plenty of room. Last but not least, great little bar to get drinks and sit on the porch along the canal!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Glad we chose San Cassiano

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Pros: The ambience, comfort, location and helpful reception staff.
Cons: A smile from the breakfast room staff would have been lovely but they did seem a bit grumpy.
Location: It's Venice - just being there and watching this fascinating city surround you is the best thing to do.
A very warm welcome met us at the hotel's reception desk and the staff here were always helpful and very pleasant. Although on the busy Grand Canal, our room was very quiet and comfortable. We were very happy with it's location near the Rialto Bridge (but not too near). The pretty dining room offered a more than adequate Continental buffet breakfast that set us up nicely for the day's exploring. We would certainly return to this hotel. Just one thing to mention though, there is no lift and there are 52 steps to the second floor but don't let this put you off unless you can't "do" stairs!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Berlin

Lage Kanale Grande, leider sehr nah am Fischmarkt

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Pros: Frühstück
Cons: Auf Grund des Alters des Hotels kaum möglich.
Location: Garnichts. Nur Aufpassen, wenn man dann schon etwas zum Essen findet, das man nicht abgezockt wird.t
dadurch Geruchsbelästigung.Im Hotel alles ein bißchen schief und krumm. Lage Hotel am Anfang schwer zu finden. Danach kann man sich durchwuseln.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Nice hotel, great location

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Had a lovely stay here. Only gripes are that the single beds are small singles, not a standard single and breakfast was crowded, they could do with improving the breakfast area. Otherwise, great hotel, great staff, clean, central and very Venice!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne OZ

Surperb quality on Grand Canal

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: Staff were fantastic, hotel location on Grand Canel
Cons: Nil
Location: As above
Highly impressed with the quality of the hotel, staff, breakfast and everything that was provided. Yes, it can be difficult walking around Venice and you will become lost however the Hotel has a number of signs as you get closer to guided you. The breakfast room may be smaller than usual however it makes for the intimacy of the city. Many restaurants close by anda only 5 min walk to Ralto bridge. You will not be disappointed with this hotel.
5 out of 5
by Kurt from Odense

roligt og smukt hotel med ideel placering

Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
Centralt placeret ud til Canal Grande i smuk gammel bygning i rolige omgivelser, og alligevel kort afstand til alting via vandbussen ( vaporetta) i nærheden. Store smukke rum.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bien situé

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: L'accueil et la disponibilité du personnel
Cons: La literie, trop dure à notre goût
Un hôtel typique, situé dans un secteur calme, loin de l'agitation et de la foule et à environ 20 minutes à pied de la place San Marco. Parfait pour découvrir Venise.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2016 on Hotels
There was hair in the bidet and after we switched rooms I got an email from hotel offering us a free mini bar although they told me I was lying. My husband even saw the hair!