Ratings based on 1,181 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Perfect location & great hotel!

Posted Jan 18, 2017
The hotel is very well presented & clean! Perfect location and everywhere is in walking distance!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Skipton

Excellent Hotel - Well situated on the Grand Canal

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Pros: Traditional style. Location near to the Rialto Bridge and overlooking the Grand Canal. Courteous and friendly staff. Easily accessible by water Taxi.
Cons: Nothing. This one of the best small hotels that I have stayed in. Not suitable for anyone who has difficulty with stairs.
Location: Situated near to the Rialto Bridge, this hotel is an excellent base for those who wish to explore the city on foot.
My husband and I have visited this hotel many times and have had an excellent holiday every time. The staff are friendly and efficient and very welcoming to return guests. The hotel is decorated in traditional Venetian style and the canal view rooms are superb. When travelling here with friends we have been confident in recommending the San Cassiano and have always been rewarded with unstinting good service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Perfect stay in Venezia.

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Charming place with beautiful balcony in the breakfast room overlooking the grand canal. Will stay again in a heartbeat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel right on the grand canal

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Ideally placed right on the grand canal with a waterbus just a couple of minutes walk away and within walking distance of all the shops and main areas. The reception staff were helpful when trying to find a nice restaurant to go to as there are many in Venice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Location: Part of the attraction of the area is exploring and there are lot of different attractions to find.
Great old Hotel. It takes a bit to find the hotel but when you get there it is well worth it. For some of we older people the stairs are a little much but it keeps us healthy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Posted Nov 16, 2016
We were given a single room with 2 single beds for he first of 4 nights. Our double bedroom for the last 3 nights was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southeastern Pennsylvania

Great hotel, great location

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Location: Rialto Bridge within 5 minutes walking. Lots of shops and restaurants.
Easy walking distance to just about whatever you would like to see in Venice. St Marks is about a 20 minute walk with numerous restaurants, shops and historic buildings in between. Negotiating the alleyways took a little getting used to, but the staff provide perfect instructions along with a map and we never got lost. Plenty of folks walking around, and the local area felt pretty safe. They have a great breakfast area, and great breakfast. Their bar is fun, with service allowing you to sit outside and enjoy the moment on the canal. The hotel could use just a little sprucing up on paint and such, but we didn't see that as a crucial issue, it certainly didn't ruin anything for us. We received an Expedia + VIP upgrade without asking to one of the 4 rooms that faced the canal, which had 2 windows that opened for a fabulous view! The room was spacious and we enjoyed our stay there very much.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stratford upon Avon

A taste of Venetian history

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Tastefully furnished in keeping with era of artist Favretto, who once lived here. Professional & friendly staff. Free wifi and room safe.
Location: About 10 min walk from San Stae. Hotel has landing for water taxi service.
Very pleasant three-night stay in this gem of an hotel on the Grand Canal. Really helpful staff with valuable local knowledge. Appreciated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Venetian decor

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: Good breakfast, which was included in the price. Location was ok. Hotel decor.
Cons: Pillows were the hardest I have ever experienced. They were unable to offer an alternative. So slept fitfully and woke up with a stiff neck.
Location: Quiet location, with a view of the Grand Canal. Not far from the Rialto Bridge
Very Good, but rock hard pillows. Good breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, friendly staff.

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Cons: My room overlooked the service canal behind the hotel and the early-morning noise from the working boats (making deliveries, etc.) was very loud.
Location: Centrally located; easy to get to the Rialto bridge and other key spots.