Ratings based on 357 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Friendly staff, steps from Piazza San Marco, good for the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great location! Reasonable hotel

Posted Nov 17, 2016
We loved the location and the kindness of the staff. Excellent breakfast! Did not like the wall paper in my room Should it be white walls the rooms would be much cleaner and ample. Too much stairs but worth the investment! Photos on web shows more than reality
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Central, convenient and clean.

Posted Nov 10, 2016 on Hotels
Room was small but comfortable. Front desk staff was very helpful. Good wifi signal. Very walkable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Glenn Dale, United States of America

Not so much comfortable

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Location: Close by piazza San Marco, restaurants, gondola service, shopping, laundrymat. Rialto. Easy to get to airport.
My room was very small size to fit 3 of us and very hot. We asked about to air conditioning and they told us was turned off since Oct 15th since they need a hit on due to the weather change. That was a deal breaker to me, since air condition is the first thing I look up when I am looking for a hotel room and that hotel says they have an air conditioning. We had to sleep with the windows open everyday and we had a lot of mosquito in our room. Just the bathroom towels was changed every day, but the bathroom itself didn't have a daily clean. Breakfast wasn't good but good enough to feed until lunch time. Other than that, location was great, just across the Piazza San Marco and close to everything else. Staff was very nice and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto Canada

Close to every things.

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Close to the St. Mark's Square, Doge Palace and Churches and water taxi stops etcs.
Cons: if the rooms are bigger would be nice. and a lift would be nice.
Location: Many things to do around and you won't get bored.
We like the front desk staff, they were very friendly and helpful. Most of it is on the day we check out, he came out from the counter to help my wife take the luggage down the stairs without any question. I do very appreciated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Convienient and good price for how close!

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Location: Historical sites, lots of places to shop and eat.
Convienient to the major plaza, nice hotel staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Kindness and convenience

Posted Oct 5, 2016 on Hotels
Service was efficient and extremely helpful. The room was the size of a postage stamp which is my only complaint.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from fergus ontario csnada

Nice close to San Paulo square

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Little pricy but it's Venice. Vito was great and breakfast was included. Left my hand bag in the lobby and they had it behind the desk. we would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bude

Good friendlyhotel close to St Marks Square

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Hotel San Gallo was ideally located to access both St Marks Square and Rialto areas of Venice. It was easy to get to from the water taxi at St Marks Square. The room was clean and comfortable and was equipped with air conditioning, satellite TV, fridge/minibar and a safe The continental breakfast offered a variety of cereals and breads along with cheese, ham and preserves. Abundant coffee, tea and fruit juice was also available. breakfast was served in a quaint roof terrace area or near reception if inclement weather was experienced. The staff were very friendly, helpful and had a good knowledge of places to visit and how to get to the numerous attractions that Venice has on offer.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Ideal location

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: The decor
Location: Many shops ,restaurants, and bars close by, right next to San Marco square
Very central location, the staff were lovely and very helpful, but there were many stairs to climb, the room we had was okay for one night, but dark and a little tired, the bathroom was nice.