Ratings based on 260 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

5 minutes away from St. Mark's Square

Posted Nov 2, 2016
It is extremely conveniently located, being 5 minutes from St. Mark's Square. As we were out the whole day, the main priority was safety and comfort - both of which this hotel has met. It is also located close to a lot of cafes and restaurants so if you were not keen on hotel food, you don't have to worry about going hungry. If you are expecting a lot of space, this may not be the place for you. The rooms are small, but not cramp.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Pleasant hotel with friendly staff.

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: There was a musty smell each time we initially entered the room. This went within a few minutes of having the window open.
Location: Easy walking distance to St Mark's Basillica, Doges Palace, Grand Canal and Rialto bridge.
Excellent location, just off St Mark's square. Easy access to all main tourist attractions. Breakfast was included in our deal and was well provided, even towards the end of the sitting.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SK

Great location. Staff not very friendly.

Posted Oct 3, 2016
We found Italy to be very friendly, except in Venice. Staff at this hotel did not even greet you when you entered the hotel and seemed to be annoyed when you asked them questions. Room floor was on an angle and the windows rattled with every step. Great locations!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Great Location OK Hotel

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: Location was great
Cons: Staff was not extremely helpful or accommodating, breakfast was not very good, rooms are very cramped
Location: Everything in Venice is walk-able from here. I would recommend a water taxi if going to/from the train station.
Hotel San Marco is in a great location 2 minutes from St. Mark's square in Venice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Best location

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Smell in room
Location: Lots of good restaurants, gondola rides outside the door.
With no ground transportation you are hauling luggage a ways but the location is great. The room had a funny smell but we wanted to be by St Marks square so expected it to be ok'd. For the price it was a good deal
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great location, average facilities

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Central location and easy to find.
Cons: The breakfasts! Fresh coffee, tea and fresh juices, fresh bread/pastries daily, fresh fruit salad.
Location: The hotel was just off San Marco Piazza so there is the Basilica of Saint Marks, the Doges Palace and the Campanile within a few minutes to walk.
Hotel San Marco is directly off the Piazza San Marco over a small bridge. The location could not be more central for the cost. The staff are polite and well informed and the hotel was busy. The room was small but kept clean daily by charming house-keepers. Everything worked such as the TV, shower, lamps, air conditioning etc. My main bug bear was the breakfasts. The rolls and pastries were on the stale side and the coffee was from a vending machine which was disappointing in Italy, the home of coffee. There was a limited choice of food and no fresh orange juice! We had breakfast the first morning and then went elsewhere. The breakfast was included in the cost, though bottle water was not and there were no tea or coffee facilities in the room as promised on the hotel description. When we booked there was a list of possible extra charges and fees which made it confusing. All in all I cannot be too hard on the hotel as it is a three star and it was pleasant, though the breakfast fayre was too disappointing to ignore.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location but the noisy

Posted Jun 29, 2016
The room was pleasant and clean. All staff were friendly and helpful. The location is perfect, just of St Marks square and a short walk to the main waterbus station. The only downside was the noise at night from the bars below which seemed to continue indefinitely most nights.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful ocean view and great breakfast!

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Pros: Location
Location: Closed to Shops and local resto
Love it here, I would recommend this place to anyone. The view of the marina is priceless.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible Hotel

Posted May 29, 2016
They gave us a room where you need to take the upstairs to the 4th floor. Staff guy at the front desk, was not too helpful and the room looks like a motel in the middle of nowhere. Do not go to this place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Very convenient hotel, close to St Marks Square

Posted Mar 16, 2016
Pros: Situation, warmth and cleanliness
Cons: Decor and the bed
Location: Everything you might want to see in Venice
Pleasant hotel, could do with a make over,decor rather faded But warm, clean and good breakfasts