Ratings based on 263 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Away from the centre but close enough to walk.

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Pros: Location and ambience
Cons: Tea and coffee in rooms
Location: 200 yards from water bus stop
Very hot in the middle of July so avoid if possible. Also, very busy at this time. Venice is very interesting and easy to walk and travel around
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok hotel

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Little far away from the main locations. A little bit pricy. Extra tax has to be charged for Venice hotel stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible and expensive hotel

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: The hotel really needs renovation. The staff also need to respect privacy and lacks common sense.
Location: Not exactly the best location, although there are a few nice restaurants.
We were looking forward our trip to Venice, and decided to stay at the San Sebastiano Garden Hotel. Despite being rated as a 4 star hotel, and costing more than most hotels around there, the hotel was a total disappointment. A few comments : 1) The room was ugly and dirty. There were smashed spiders on the wall and our view was absolutely terrible. 2) The electrical current was not working for half of the room (including the TV). 3) On our second day, we left the hotel and put the ''Do not disturb sign'' on the door. To our great surprise, the room had still been done! When we came back, later, we also saw our door wide open, with no employee in the room!!! Anyone could have just walked in and grabbed our stuff. We waited for a few minutes, then finally an electrician showed up. He had to do work in our room, which meant us moving all our stuff. 4) The breakfast, at least, was a nice touch. In any case, this hotel was a real joke.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Nicely located at walKing distance from the car / train terminal. Very quiet area away from tourist crowd but close to a vaporetto station. Staff was nice and helpful. Room are relatively small but very decent for Venice standard. Breakfast was exellent. Overall good value hotel for a weekend !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from colchester england

Nice hotel close to transport routes

Posted Jun 10, 2016
The hotel was so lovely to stay in, it was clean, spacious and had lovely communal areas including a garden. The staff were amazing especially with our 18 month old. We really couldn't recommend this hotel enough.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 7, 2016
Very comfortable and convenient. Staff very welcoming and accommodating regarding making arrangements for departure to airport. Lovely garden in back. Excellent breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Sussex

Nice hotel in quiet area of Venice

Posted Mar 17, 2016
Pros: The staff, lovely beds and bedding, really good shower.
Cons: Only criticism can be that it is a little faded in some areas, particularly the reception area. However, remember this is a very old building!
Location: Quiet location but within easy reach of everything either on foot or by vaporetto. Large choice of places to eat inexpensively within a short walk.
Lovely staff, friendly and helpful. Rooms vary from v. small and modern to large and beautiful suite with painted decoration on walls and ceiling facing the garden, which looks as though it would be lovely in summer. Beds and bedding very good quality, generous number of lovely towels. Breakfast very good choice of hard boiled eggs, proscuitto, yogurts, rolls, croissants, pains chocolat, cake, cereals, fresh fruit and fresh fruit salad, cheese, cold meats. Hotel wi-fi good. Very clean everywhere. There is a lift, which we did not realise from the website. Plenty going on in and around San Barnaba and Piazza Margherita, cafes and bars etc., also on the fondamenta 3 minutes walk away, where you can watch the world go by and admire the Grand canal views.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet hotel half hour walk from San Marco square

Posted Mar 16, 2016
I stayed for 3 nights with my mum in March. The hotel was nice, very old as expected, lots of antique furniture. The beds were comfortable and everything worked fine. I did get some bites and on the last day noticed lots of ants around but I know it's hard to get rid of ants in old buildings. Worth keeping clothes hung up rather than on chairs. The area around the hotel was nice, lots of nice places to eat within 10mins. It was about half an hour walk to San Marco square/ the Basilica (if you don't get lost!) and about half an hour walk to Rialto. I would personally always prefer to stay in a hotel further away from the main tourist areas as you find the restaurants and cafés are more expensive and not as nice near these main spots. 16 € for a cappuccino in San Marco square if the band is playing!! Or 2 € near our hotel! Lovely stay. Would stay there again. Continental breakfast but very sufficient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from rochester , uk

Lovely hotel ideal location

Posted Feb 24, 2016
Had a five night break here , great hotel fabulous location away from the busy Venice . Cheap restaurants near by . Hotel staff can not do enough for you . Can't wait to return:)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near to all areas

Posted Nov 30, 2015
Good all round experience at this lovely hotel.............................